Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > System

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04. Jun 2017, 07:35 AM   #71 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,332
Default

Searched a bit and got this information:

https://www.tenforums.com/windows-10...st-2017-a.html
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Jun 2017, 07:46 AM   #72 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Today I noticed this failed update in the Update history:

15063.2.rs2_release_svc_d.170531-1743 (UUP-CTv2)

It is very strange kind of a name. Anyone knows what it is, or anyone else got it too?
"Microsoft warned users that if they install this build, their devices will be stuck in a reboot loop".

LOL, don't you just love it.

https://answers.microsoft.com/de-de/...c-fb1a7fefbc0f
http://windowsreport.com/windows-10-...on-insider-pc/
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Jun 2017, 01:13 PM   #73 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 555
Default

Quote:
LOL, don't you just love it.
If you've never had something like that happen to you/your company, then you've never lived on the cutting edge!

I used to be in charge of sending out letters to a quarter of a million people at a time. The main part of the letter was developed as a flash in the printer with just name and address added dynamically.
Obviously we had to test the flash, but didn't have the real numbers to put in it so I used all nines to make sure it fit. We had two laser printers and the slow one was reserverved for testing. Being as it actually cost quite a bit to produce these flashes, when the real figures came out we only applied them to the fast production printer. I stuck big labels and notes all over the place saying NOT to use the slower printer.
I stayed and checked the first batch of letters, then went home to bed.
About three o'clock the next day we started getting irate phone calls from customers wanting to know why we were putting up our prices so much. It eventually turned out that shortly after I had left the main printer broke down and some junior operator had switched all the print queues to the test printer to try to get the letters out in time for the post.
From then on it was made a sackable offence to leave flash disks in any printer after the print run had finished - whether test or production.
Burn-IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Jun 2017, 03:30 PM   #74 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burn-IT View Post
If you've never had something like that happen to you/your company, then you've never lived on the cutting edge!
Maybe I would expect more than 'cutting edge' service from a company that has just reported a quarterly profit increase of 27.8% and a net income of $4.8 billion.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jun 2017, 01:00 PM   #75 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 555
Default

You should know full well that marketting push things out before the technical people are ready.
It happens in EVERY company that I have ever worked at and there is nothing that can be done about it short of a complete collapse of the company. Even then it will be blamed on the technical people.
Burn-IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jun 2017, 06:54 PM   #76 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,336
Default

I have an 8 year old HP laptop that is huge. I use it for testing and just playing around. It's kind of slow, but it's good for testing out Linux distros.

I tried and tried to get it to upgrade to it to the Anniversary edition. I could never get that to work. I must have tried 3-4 times. I finally gave up after continuing to get error messages.

Over the weekend, I decided to try to update it to the Creator's Update. I downloaded the Windows Upgrade Assistant and ran it. I came back about an hour later and lo and behold, it upgraded! In fact, it feels faster and zippier. As of now, everything appears to be working fine.

I lost no files and lost no programs. I can't find a single glitch (yet?).

All in all, a very smooth transition/upgrade.
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Aug 2018, 06:10 AM   #77 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Anyone else noticed this "bug" in Windows? It has existed since Windows 7 I think.

When you try to find the size of a first folder or first file in a folder, by hovering the mouse over it, it just won't show. You have to hover the mouse over any other folder or file in that particular folder, and then, when you hover the mouse over the first folder or file again, the size and details will be shown.

If there is only a single file or folder in a directory, it won't work, and you have to see it by right-clicking, and then choosing Properties.
Noticed a few days ago, that this bug seems to have been fixed now. Even with a single file or folder in a directory, it now shows details when you hover the mouse over it. So, this was indeed a bug, and it was very old. Don't know how it got their attention, but it's a good thing this has been fixed.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Aug 2018, 02:03 PM   #78 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by deya View Post
Creators Update installed via WU without much hassle but, once again, the upgrade disabled System Restore on my machine. Also check your settings again if you use O&OShutUp10 or similar because it changes those settings as well.

Other than that everything is running fine.
For those who would run into such as "System restore disabled," you follow the below steps to restore it.

Open Advanced start-up.
Go to Start >
Settings >
Update & security >
Restore and click Restart now below Advanced start-up.
Start System Restore in Safe Mode.

The other steps are just normal ones.
JamesS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.