Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04. Aug 2019, 12:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,169
Default TROM-Jaro

The Linux world is already awash with ‘new’ distros that are little more than pimped versions of something else. This is no different but yet it is because it makes the worst IMO desktop completely usable out of the box.

‘Trade free’ apart, a lot of thought has obviously gone into the settings configurations and customizations rather than just creating something to be different for the sake of it. The result is something I had to tinker with only minimally to obtain a satisfying product.

Holding back the updates to weekly by default is also a great idea not just for a Manjaro base but any rolling release. In theory this should minimize the additional risks associated with rolling release models leading to a more stable and less frustrating user experience.

Like all new distros I wonder how long this one will be around but since they chose to set up a .com as opposed to operating from a WordPress blog or SourceForge it does seem the developers are committed to the long term. Support from the existing Manjaro base will also go a long way towards kicking this off and keeping it viable.

Overall an extremely good and inviting effort.

Screenshot 1

Screenshot 2
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Aug 2019, 05:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,046
Default

Thanks for the pertinent info. MC!
Why Manjaro instead of Debian...?

Love the philosophy behing the project!

- - - - -

Anyway, Manjaro has always been in one way or another, a big hassle for me!
And this distro is no different.

Win2diskImager i installed as per their recommendation.
It only wants an img file with no option to choose .iso

Tried with BalenaEtcher - Boot up leads to regular Manjaro initial presentation, choose english then it goes back/forth to english options without ever initiating installation.

Tried with Rufus 3.5 (DD option too) - still no go after initial screen.

Frustrated...
danielson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Aug 2019, 06:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielson View Post
Thanks for the pertinent info. MC!
Why Manjaro instead of Debian...?

Love the philosophy behing the project!

- - - - -

Anyway, Manjaro has always been in one way or another, a big hassle for me!
And this distro is no different.

Win2diskImager i installed as per their recommendation.
It only wants an img file with no option to choose .iso

Tried with BalenaEtcher - Boot up leads to regular Manjaro initial presentation, choose english then it goes back/forth to english options without ever initiating installation.

Tried with Rufus 3.5 (DD option too) - still no go after initial screen.

Frustrated...
BalenaEtcher is by far the best.

The boot sequence for the live session is standard Manjaro. Once you get past English/English options use the down arrow key to where it says Boot....and hit enter.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Aug 2019, 07:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,046
Default

Well, did re-write .iso to usb with BalenaEtcher again, and it won't go further than an error message after selecting boot (something about not able to read from the usb... tty... etc.)

It's "okay", it's not the 1st nor the last time Manjaro does something like this to me.
danielson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Aug 2019, 08:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielson View Post
Well, did re-write .iso to usb with BalenaEtcher again, and it won't go further than an error message after selecting boot (something about not able to read from the usb... tty... etc.)

It's "okay", it's not the 1st nor the last time Manjaro does something like this to me.
I booted this on three different machines with no issues although none of them have Nvidia components which might have some bearing.

Assuming the checksum matches you might find something else of relevance here.

https://forum.manjaro.org/t/cannot-b...live-usb/19193
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Aug 2019, 02:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,046
Default

Think it's a usb issue.
Still, did manage to previously install LinuxMint and Q4OS with same usb.
Manjaro, Manjaro!!
danielson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Aug 2019, 11:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,046
Default

Did appreciate your link MC!
Two of the suggestions there might of worked but not in my case (shrug).
danielson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,046
Default

@MC - well, i finally got my Sandisk usb back and was able to install via BalenaEtcher (Rufus couldn't do it).

Question!

How to auto-hide sidepanel or place it at the bottom?

- - - - -

(do hope i can install Vivaldi, Opera and Dropbox...)
danielson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 04:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielson View Post

Question!

How to auto-hide sidepanel or place it at the bottom?
I no longer have this but somewhere amongst the settings will be an item for "Dock" whereby you can change the placement. There may even be a right-click option for this from the dock launcher icon... just can't remember now!
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,046
Default

Oh... sorry to see you leave, now that i was just getting "cranked" up for it!

Anyway, your intuition was good.
Right-click on dock launcher icon did the trick!

Btw, it's nice to have an easy way to install with AUR.
That's how i got Dropbox and probably other goodies.

(any reason to give up on this lovely distro?).
danielson is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

« Linux Questions | - »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.