Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Security

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04. Jan 2018, 11:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

MC; that screen shot is the Intel-SA-00086 Detection Tool? I downloaded it and ran it on my laptop with the Intel processor and got the same result as you, 'This system is not vulnerable' - this was after the laptop got KB4056892 via WU this evening. I then downloaded and ran it on my system with the AMD processor (not Intel) and again got the same result. It names the processor as AMD, so I'm assuming this is correct? Just trying to clarify.

Anyway, both machines are patched now but same again, after re-starting the laptop CPU usage from .NET Runtime Optimization Service was very high and for quite some time. After it settled down I re-started the machine and everything was fine. Using it, I don't see any performance issues, at least for how I use it, I'm not a gamer or anything so it doesn't get that much hammer.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jan 2018, 01:42 AM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deya View Post
... Intel-SA-00086 Detection Tool...
^ Has nothing to do with the Meltdown or Spectre vulnerabilities, it's for an earlier Intel ME/AMT/XE vuln. one of 2-3 published last year.
satrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jan 2018, 06:40 AM   #13 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,368
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by satrow View Post
^ Has nothing to do with the Meltdown or Spectre vulnerabilities, it's for an earlier Intel ME/AMT/XE vuln. one of 2-3 published last year.
It is my understanding that the tool title remains unchanged but the version number is updated to include new threats. The version I used is from 22nd December, 2017 and it the latest available on the Intel site.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jan 2018, 09:56 AM   #14 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

Cheers guys, still some confusion then. satrow says what I was thinking, and MC says what I was hoping

The water's still too cloudy at the moment regarding this issue so it's a case of apply the updates then watch and wait.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jan 2018, 10:48 AM   #15 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
It is my understanding that the tool title remains unchanged but the version number is updated to include new threats. The version I used is from 22nd December, 2017 and it the latest available on the Intel site.
https://security-center.intel.com/ad...nguageid=en-fr

INTEL-SA-00088 Original release: Jan 03, 2018
satrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jan 2018, 06:56 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,338
Default

No updates for me on either the desktop or my old laptop.

I thought it might be due to Avast antivirus, but Avast have already released the mini-update to be compatible with the MS update.

I am wondering where is the update

The Intel tool shows my desktop as vulnerable, but gives an error when run on the laptop.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jan 2018, 11:55 PM   #17 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

Leave them powered up and keep checking manually for updates, that usually works. Failing that, there's always the update catalogue and install them that way. Surely it won't be too long until you get them if they're so important. Have you tried disabling your AV and trying that way?
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Jan 2018, 08:27 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,338
Default

Can't leave my desktop running, because of the voltage issue, otherwise it kept running all day. Nowadays I am using the laptop more, so it keeps running through the day.

Manually checked for update too... none yet.

Don't want to update manually, so will just wait and watch, when the update arrives.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Jan 2018, 02:07 PM   #19 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

Best way with updates, I'm not keen on manually updating either. Prefer to get them through the proper channel to be sure. I'm sure they'll turn up sooner rather than later
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Jan 2018, 01:49 AM   #20 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,948
Default

Already applied the latest KB4056892 (OS Build 16299.192) through Windows Update, which includes security updates to Windows Kernel, etc.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.