Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > 64 bit Freeware

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13. May 2009, 10:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
rikmayell
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post OS Issue : Windows 7 Taskbar pinned applications icon corruption

The problem that existed in the Windows 7 beta, where the icons for applications pinned to the Taskbar could become corrupted, has been carried through to the release candidate. Despite claims on some sites that the corruption occurs every three days, it appears to be random in nature. The only icons that appear to be unaffected are those associated with Office 2007.

Icon cache corruption problems have been present in Windows since 95 was released. In Vista 64 I regularly encountered the problem with icons in the system tray (notification area.) Caching icons to improve performance makes sense, but I wonder why this apparently simple technical issue has been the cause of so much trouble over the years.

The simplest fix in Windows 7 is to switch the size of the icons used for pinned applications, apply the change, switch the size back again, and reapply the change. This approach forces the icon cache to be regenerated twice, temporarily resolving the problem.

I am currently testing a fix I have developed which I hope will provide a permanent solution. Once I am satisfied that the fix is indeed permanent then I will provide further details.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14. May 2009, 02:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
PsychEroc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 216
Default

The only problem I've had is that my user-pinned Start Menu icons have disappeared (also happened in betas). Interestingly, the actual folder containing the icons still has the icons, they're just not showing up in the Start Menu. So, maybe their not being registered.
PsychEroc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. May 2009, 09:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
rikmayell
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by PsychEroc View Post
The only problem I've had is that my user-pinned Start Menu icons have disappeared (also happened in betas). Interestingly, the actual folder containing the icons still has the icons, they're just not showing up in the Start Menu. So, maybe their not being registered.
Interesting. I haven't used this feature as yet, I mimic the old 'Open'/'Open All Users' method using shortcuts to the directories where the Start Menu items are stored. I'll give it a try and let you know how I get on.

Rik
  Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jun 2009, 02:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by PsychEroc View Post
The only problem I've had is that my user-pinned Start Menu icons have disappeared (also happened in betas). Interestingly, the actual folder containing the icons still has the icons, they're just not showing up in the Start Menu. So, maybe their not being registered.
To fix this prob, create a new account and transfer the Startmenu folder to this new account plus any other personal folders and files to it, then run chkdsk /x /r and thats it .
martbd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jun 2009, 03:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
rikmayell
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by martbd View Post
To fix this prob, create a new account and transfer the Startmenu folder to this new account plus any other personal folders and files to it, then run chkdsk /x /r and thats it .
Thanks for the tip, although I'd only use this as a last resort. To date I've found the easiest solution is Customise the Start Menu and change the Use large icons setting, apply this, and then change it back to the original setting and reapply.

I'm still looking for other possible solutions. They'll be posted here if I find any.
  Reply With Quote
Old 29. Sep 2009, 05:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
allheart55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 9
Default

This is an awesome freeware replacement for "Quick Launch"...anyone missing this try the Free Launch bar:

http://www.freelaunchbar.com/

It is also Windows 7 RTM and Vista 64 bit compatible. Right click the task bar and disable the "links" and

"desktop bar" and enable "Free Launch Bar"... you can add to it with icons from the desktop or drag and

drop them just as you would Quick Launch. No corruption, no worries....

I have been using it since the beta, the RC and am now using it with the RTM, 64 bit.
allheart55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Sep 2009, 08:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,809
Default

Another alternative is to use the Toolbar that comes with Win2k to Win7 to launch the programs. Don't need to download and run any other programs.

See How to Create a Program Launcher.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Sep 2009, 08:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
rikmayell
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jojoyee View Post
Another alternative is to use the Toolbar that comes with Win2k to Win7 to launch the programs. Don't need to download and run any other programs.

See How to Create a Program Launcher.
Jojoyee, what a simple yet fantastic tip. I'll link to it from the article on 64 bit freeware. Nice one.

Rik
  Reply With Quote
Old 29. Sep 2009, 08:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
rikmayell
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by allheart55 View Post
This is an awesome freeware replacement for "Quick Launch"...anyone missing this try the Free Launch bar:

http://www.freelaunchbar.com/

It is also Windows 7 RTM and Vista 64 bit compatible. Right click the task bar and disable the "links" and

"desktop bar" and enable "Free Launch Bar"... you can add to it with icons from the desktop or drag and

drop them just as you would Quick Launch. No corruption, no worries....

I have been using it since the beta, the RC and am now using it with the RTM, 64 bit.
I plan to have a look at this, it sounds interesting.

Thanks for the heads up.

Rik
  Reply With Quote
Old 15. Nov 2009, 03:12 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Default

I just noticed this kind of thing happen just this afternoon. Icons for three applications in the task bar do not render. When I right click on the task bar and uncheck show small icons check box and click either Apply or Ok two of the icons render but one of them still doesn't. When I go to the folder of the application the icons don't render there as well. When I go back and click to show small icons they revert back to not rendering. I have never had this happen and am not a tech sort of person. This is just bugging me.

StevenD
StevenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.