In a blog post, Google announced they are changing how Google Photos and Google Drive work together.
Right now, photos and videos that are stored in Google Photos are synchronized with Google Drive. If you add or delete a photo in Google Drive, it's also added or deleted from Google Photos. If you make changes to media in Google Photos, those changes are automatically applied in Google Drive. Starting July 10th, 2019 images and videos in Google Drive won't synchronize with Google Photos.
According to Google, this will make things clearer and decrease accidental deletions because it wasn't clear that images and videos were stored in both places and that deleting them in one service deleted them in the other service.
Existing photos and videos will remain in their current state, synchronized in both services. Changes will only apply to new media after July 10, 2019. After the change, if you want to add, delete or make changes to images or videos, you'll need to make the changes in both services. You'll still be able to use Google's Backup and Sync to upload photos or videos to both Google Photos and Google Drive on Windows, macOS, Android and iOS. Google is adding a feature called "Upload from Drive" to make it easier and clearer to manage media.
For more complete details on the change, see this Google article:
Upcoming changes to Google Photos & Google Drive
There are some changes to how storage will be used, items synced before July 10, 2019 will not take up extra storage space.
After the change, using Google Backup and Sync to upload photos and videos to Google Drive and Google Photos won't take up duplicate storage. If you manually upload a photo or video from Google Drive to Google Photo it will take up storage space in both places.
If you want to download your photos, videos or other data before or after the change, directions are here:
Download your data
You can find more Tech Treats here.
Please rate this article: