Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Website Design, Support and Maintenance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04. Sep 2009, 11:23 PM   #21 (permalink)
Senior Editor
 
rhiannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Land of Enchantment
Posts: 720
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall View Post
A couple questions:

1. I made the decision to change my dns settings via my network settings and not via my router. Does this impact the usefulness or speed of OpenDNS?

2. I know that there is a new software download for OpenDNS. It apparently sits in your tray and updates dynamic IP's in the background. Do I need this if I did not change my router settings?

3. Do most of you use the software, and if so, why?
1. I've set it up both ways over the years. It didn't seem to make a difference in speed.

2. I've never downloaded any software from them. I've always plugged in the DNS numbers in the proper boxes.

3. I don't use OpenDNS myself - for whatever reason it considerably slows down the connection speed and has for some years. Same result whether I configure the router or use network settings.
I started using the Comodo DNS, previous to that I was using DNS Advantage. They are both owned by the same company, and having tried both, there doesn't seem to be a difference in speed.
I use a DNS service because my ISP is usually slower and sometimes downright sluggish on the satellite internet we use.
rhiannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Sep 2009, 10:11 PM   #22 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 44
Default

Those with routers using better firmware like Tomato might want to cache dns names. Default in Tomato is only 150, Ive set mine to 4000. I transmit from Europe where they only have 2 servers, but never suffered from speed problems. I know some who have. Lookups can be 3-4 times slower than to ISP, but thanks to cache that is a minor issue.

Another advantage of Tomato is DNS server can be forced. If set up right there is no way ISP will be used no matter set up in OS. If Opendns is used as parental control this matters.

Firefox and Chrome also cache dns names, now also pre-cache them. Enter a page and they will look-ahead. Why did they bother? as someone said about speed it "adds up"

You only need ip-software if you use account at Opendns, they need to know where you are. May be possible to do in router. They have a DNS-O-Matic https://www.dnsomatic.com/service for this btw. Neat if you use more services requiring ip. Click documentation to see software/hardware support.

Why? Had to try it and like control panel. If I had kids or uncontrollable grown ups using my computer I would probably take more advantage of blocking. And I do not agree with my ISP about blocking Piratebay.org

Problem with Opendns is they might be good with blocking porn but they are useless when it comes to malware. Hardly anything is done. Has been talked about for a long long time. Browsers are doing it, some Anti-whatever are trying and WOT is superb, but Opendns can be made systemwide protection with router magic - big difference. Seems like a wasted opportunity to me. They should just dump the not working social angle, get some dedicated domain hunters aboard. Soon 1000s of sites would be blocked - such sites are not up for debate. Must be blocked so no risk of complaints. Instead they try to find "reputable" sources and safe way for community to test. Test what? Will never happen and there must be other reasons - still, very cool service.

Last edited by js960; 06. Sep 2009 at 10:15 PM.
js960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Sep 2009, 02:07 AM   #23 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,325
Default Odd Question

I have an odd question--

Does anyone know if OpenDNS would impact or forbid me from downloading a large 2 GB game file? I have tried with 3 different browsers on multiple websites to download a new demo game file/program. None of the browsers or websites worked. Can this have something to do with OpenDNS?

I have OpenDNS setup only on my PC, not via my DSL router. My son was able to download the file just fine.
__________________
<-------Just jammin to some music....
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Sep 2009, 01:33 PM   #24 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,186
Default

It's possible, but difficult to estimate without knowing how you have your OpenDNS filters set up via dashboard. You could try disabling the OpenDNS service temporarily or switching to Comodo 156.154.70.22, 156.154.71.22 to see if this works.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Sep 2009, 02:48 AM   #25 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Unhappy open dns and utorrent

I might have missed this question. But has anyone had trouble port forwarding utorrent with open dns. I cant seem to make it happen.

using a 2 wire dsl modem and a cisco linksys router along with online armor firewall.

I tried to port forward with my modem and my router. and added my static ip to online armor. No Joy

any suggestions?

Cheers
Wdhpr
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Sep 2009, 09:32 PM   #26 (permalink)
Foundation Editor
 
chris.p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 1,631
Default

Well, Microtorrent works OK for me with a Linksys router, phone line, OpenDNS IPs, no on-PC OpenDNS stuff.

Are you saying, then, that if you use default IPs then it's OK?
__________________
[URL="http://www.ecigarette-politics.com"]The politics of vaping[/URL][/SIZE]
chris.p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19. Nov 2009, 05:09 PM   #27 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 131
Default

What I do is ping all the different dns servers and use the ones with the best ping. For me this is Open DNS. Also to take into consideration is your location. Some dns will be better for some areas than others.
__________________
[url]http://www.techsupportalert.com/best-free-browser-scrubber.htm[/url]
Brendan Bryson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19. Nov 2009, 08:52 PM   #28 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,325
Default

Brendan, I would be more interested in the details of how you did this. What DNS servers did you ping and how? Please be specific.
__________________
<-------Just jammin to some music....
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. Nov 2009, 04:54 AM   #29 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall View Post
Brendan, I would be more interested in the details of how you did this. What DNS servers did you ping and how? Please be specific.
Hi there I will list all the DNS that I have tried and try give a brief description of how I found them.

These are all level 3 dns, they have been around for a long time and use anycast which makes for a very resilient dns which is distributed evenly across the network.

4.2.2.1
4.2.2.2
4.2.2.3
4.2.2.4
4.2.2.5
4.2.2.6

If you use mobile broadband this is the way to go.

Open DNS which is much safer than other dns and also faster for some people. The only thing with this is that even thought it does use anycast servers are not located near some areas so you would not benifit on using open dns for speed if you stay far from there server.

208.67.220.220
208.67.222.222

Secure DNS (Comodo) basiclly the same as Open DNS. I get a slightly better ping with this so this is what I use.

156.154.70.22
156.154.71.22

My ISP DNS which gets around a 60ms ping average so not as good as Open DNS or secure DNS

62.24.128.191
62.24.128.190

These are dns servers in different areas.

OpenNIC
AU 58.6.115.42
AU 58.6.115.43
AU 119.31.230.42
BR 200.252.98.162
DE 217.79.186.148
FR 82.229.244.191
US 216.87.84.211


Here are some other DNS servers

66.93.87.2
216.231.41.2
216.254.95.2
64.81.45.2
64.81.111.2
64.81.127.2
64.81.79.2
64.81.159.2
66.92.64.2
66.92.224.2
66.92.159.2
64.81.79.2
64.81.159.2
64.81.127.2
64.81.45.2
216.27.175.2
66.92.159.2
66.93.87.2

Sprintlink General DNS

204.117.214.10
199.2.252.10
204.97.212.10

Cisco

128.107.241.185
192.135.250.69

There are loads online to chose from.

What I do is I ping them using the comand promt like this


C:\Documents and Settings\PC>ping 208.67.220.220

Pinging 208.67.220.220 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 208.67.220.220: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=53
Reply from 208.67.220.220: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=53
Reply from 208.67.220.220: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=53
Reply from 208.67.220.220: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=53

Ping statistics for 208.67.220.220:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 32ms, Maximum = 32ms, Average = 32ms

And you get your average ping. I do the ping test 2 times so that the server address is in my cache.

there are a few programs out there that claim to do this for you but beware some are malware.

Do a google search for public dns servers list and you will find loads more. I only recommend Open DNS and Secure DNS for safety and have heard that Secure DNS is the best but it all depends how close you are to the serer for quicker responses.

This is my take on the whole dns situation anyway. If you really want super fast dns then you may want to look into running your own caching server which has benefits but like all thins it has downsides as well. Anything else you want to know I would be happy to share.

Thanks.
__________________
[url]http://www.techsupportalert.com/best-free-browser-scrubber.htm[/url]

Last edited by Brendan Bryson; 20. Nov 2009 at 05:07 AM.
Brendan Bryson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. Nov 2009, 05:49 AM   #30 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,325
Default

Quote:
C:\DOCUME~1\OWNER>ping 208.67.220.220

Pinging 208.67.220.220 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 208.67.220.220: bytes=32 time=107ms TTL=57
Reply from 208.67.220.220: bytes=32 time=87ms TTL=57
Reply from 208.67.220.220: bytes=32 time=82ms TTL=57
Reply from 208.67.220.220: bytes=32 time=62ms TTL=57

Ping statistics for 208.67.220.220:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 62ms, Maximum = 107ms, Average = 84ms

C:\DOCUME~1\OWNER>ping 208.67.220.220

Pinging 208.67.220.220 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 208.67.220.220: bytes=32 time=62ms TTL=57
Reply from 208.67.220.220: bytes=32 time=68ms TTL=57
Reply from 208.67.220.220: bytes=32 time=61ms TTL=57
Reply from 208.67.220.220: bytes=32 time=126ms TTL=57

Ping statistics for 208.67.220.220:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 61ms, Maximum = 126ms, Average = 79ms

C:\DOCUME~1\OWNER>ping 156.154.70.22

Pinging 156.154.70.22 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 156.154.70.22: bytes=32 time=63ms TTL=58
Reply from 156.154.70.22: bytes=32 time=60ms TTL=58
Reply from 156.154.70.22: bytes=32 time=62ms TTL=58
Reply from 156.154.70.22: bytes=32 time=65ms TTL=58

Ping statistics for 156.154.70.22:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 60ms, Maximum = 65ms, Average = 62ms

C:\DOCUME~1\OWNER>ping 156.154.71.22

Pinging 156.154.71.22 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 156.154.71.22: bytes=32 time=58ms TTL=58
Reply from 156.154.71.22: bytes=32 time=73ms TTL=58
Reply from 156.154.71.22: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=58
Reply from 156.154.71.22: bytes=32 time=66ms TTL=58

Ping statistics for 156.154.71.22:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 53ms, Maximum = 73ms, Average = 62ms
Based upon your post above, then, are you saying that I should be using Comodo DNS instead of the current Open DNS that I am using now?
__________________
<-------Just jammin to some music....
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.