Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > System

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07. May 2017, 11:40 AM   #61 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,380
Default

Just noticed this related article on Igor's site.

http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/w...k-updates.html
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07. May 2017, 01:00 PM   #62 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,950
Default

Windows 10's default display driver doesn't look fit on this low-end desktop but after downloading the NVIDIA GeForce graphics driver (for Win8) and it looks okay now in Windows 10.

Successfully dual-booted Win10 with Linux Mint 18.1 MATE after changing 4 primary partitions to 3 primary + 1 logical partitions in a basic disk and creating unallocated space for installing the Linux distro alongside Win10. Linux Mint installer happily takes up all the unallocated space in a new ext4 partition plus a swap partition.

Linux Mint's display is in order by default which uses Nouveau display driver (open source), but the Driver Manager in Linux Mint recommends NVIDIA driver, so I selected it and clicked Apply. It looks the same to me after a reboot. Hopefully it won't experience unexpected crashes as with the default driver.

Last edited by Jojo Yee; 07. May 2017 at 02:26 PM. Reason: 8.1 => 18.1
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. May 2017, 01:57 PM   #63 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,380
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jojo Yee View Post
Linux Mint 8.1 MATE
WOT dis?
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07. May 2017, 02:06 PM   #64 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
When you try to find the size of a first folder or first file in a folder, by hovering the mouse over it, it just won't show. You have to hover the mouse over any other folder or file in that particular folder, and then, when you hover the mouse over the first folder or file again, the size and details will be shown.
Anupam, I don't think this problem started with CU. I have noticed this same issue for quite a while now and I am still on W10 1607.

As for W10 CU, I have no interest at all. MS lost me when they tried to force W10 down people's throat. Yes, I do dual-boot Mint and W10 and I still use Windows on the odd occasion, but generally speaking, Windows is very much a secondary operating system for me now. It will never again occupy that number one spot, or at least for me.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. May 2017, 02:27 PM   #65 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,950
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
WOT dis?
Typo. Should be 18.1
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. May 2017, 03:41 PM   #66 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,345
Default

Quote:
Just noticed this related article on Igor's site.

http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/w...k-updates.html
Not to derail the thread, but I noticed that Igor mentioned Autopatcher. Another option would have been Windows Update MiniTool by Mister X. It is a great tool.
http://forum.ru-board.com/topic.cgi?...&topic=48142#2
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07. May 2017, 06:54 PM   #67 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,339
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe A.TT View Post
Anupam, I don't think this problem started with CU. I have noticed this same issue for quite a while now and I am still on W10 1607.
Joe, perhaps you missed in that post that I had said that this problem has existed since Windows 7.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07. May 2017, 10:57 PM   #68 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Joe, perhaps you missed in that post that I had said that this problem has existed since Windows 7.
Oh... Sorry, I didn't make the connection.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. May 2017, 06:47 AM   #69 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Perth, AU
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Joe, perhaps you missed in that post that I had said that this problem has existed since Windows 7.
and I've also notice this issue on both win-7 && win-8x,
but not yet, on win-10, but maybe, I'm just lucky, ATM.

though, on both win-7 && win-8x - - it's a right royal PiTA.

I've have to poke around with some of those "fixes" & see just what works.
- if anything does, that is.

and I'd agree: - -
"Solutions - none of the official stuff works".

Last edited by Pierre2; 08. May 2017 at 07:08 AM.
Pierre2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Jun 2017, 07:32 AM   #70 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,339
Default

Today I noticed this failed update in the Update history:

15063.2.rs2_release_svc_d.170531-1743 (UUP-CTv2)

It is very strange kind of a name. Anyone knows what it is, or anyone else got it too?
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.