Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > System

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22. Jan 2015, 05:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

Yes, I agree the Ars Technica article is misleading. Articles like this even had me confused. I wish these writers would get their facts straight before the put pen to paper.

Thanks for taking the time to dig up more information Anupam. You have settled the doubts that I had.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Jan 2015, 06:35 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Glad to be of help .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23. Jan 2015, 08:29 AM   #13 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Perth, AU
Posts: 192
Default

from #7

so - there are a few limitations.
- but: to get the offer, some may have to "upgrade" several times.
and that could be a risky process. .. ..
Pierre2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23. Jan 2015, 08:32 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pierre2 View Post
from #7

so - there are a few limitations.
- but: to get the offer, some may have to "upgrade" several times.
and that could be a risky process. .. ..
What limitations?

And upgrade several times? Why?
Risky process?

Please elaborate.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23. Jan 2015, 04:10 PM   #15 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Default Fee windows 10

I am running a 2009 Dell Inspiron 580S, 8 GB hard drive, 64 bit. Windows 7 home premium. I know I have to upgrade to windows 7.1. Will I be able to run this new version on my existing computer
chantel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23. Jan 2015, 04:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chantel View Post
I am running a 2009 Dell Inspiron 580S, 8 GB hard drive, 64 bit. Windows 7 home premium. I know I have to upgrade to windows 7.1. Will I be able to run this new version on my existing computer
Yes, and if you are going to upgrade to W10 this is a requirement ie W7 SP1 is a prerequisite to obtain W10.

HTH
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23. Jan 2015, 04:49 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chantel View Post
I am running a 2009 Dell Inspiron 580S, 8 GB hard drive, 64 bit. Windows 7 home premium. I know I have to upgrade to windows 7.1. Will I be able to run this new version on my existing computer
Did you really mean 8 GB hard drive?
Are you really running Windows 7 on that?

If the answer to that is yes, then unfortunately, you will require a bigger hard drive.

You will also have to look at the CPU and RAM.. you haven't mentioned that.

Windows 10 system requirements will be same as that of Windows 8, as listed here:

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-IN/w...m-requirements

So, if your system meets those requirements, then yes, you can upgrade to Windows 10. But yes, first you will have to upgrade your Windows 7 to Windows 7 SP1.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Feb 2015, 05:38 PM   #18 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 195
Default

Hi guys; Today it came to my mind,why not to try to install Win 10 Preview on my Hp DV-6 1259DX, nothing to loose,
So i removed the original 500BG HDD with Win7 Home Premium installed,and replaced it with an HDD 250GB that i had in my scrap.

First i went to the same site where i downloaded Win Vista ISO for the other laptop HP-DV-5,and downloaded Win 7 Home Premium Iso and burned Image to a DVD-RW and installed it,i had no problems, everything installed and updated OK automatically accepted the activation key,o i went to the site for win 10 upgrade Preview and registered and started to download win 10 preview build 9926,at first it gave me some errors that failed upgrade to Win 10 Preview build 9926,these are the codes i came across.
code;800401fd,802400b,80240055, i checked with Microsoft, what were those errors and how to fix, learned if i had error codes to try Dr Fix it, i did run Dr fix it, and afters a few tries to upgrade,rebooted and tried upgrade one more time, now the Upgrade started and installed and now everything is running smooth so far nothing to point out,installed Google Chrome and now i'm set,

When i boot to desktop it gives me the choice of Win 10 preview and Rollback
i don't know what that means is it I can go back to win7?

Here's a pic attach of the desktop.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.jpg (16.3 KB, 2 views)
Ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Feb 2015, 06:44 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivtec View Post
So i removed the original 500BG HDD with Win7 Home Premium installed,and replaced it with an HDD 250GB that i had in my scrap.

First i went to the same site where i downloaded Win Vista ISO for the other laptop HP-DV-5,and downloaded Win 7 Home Premium Iso and burned Image to a DVD-RW and installed it,i had no problems, everything installed and updated OK automatically accepted the activation key,o i went to the site for win 10 upgrade Preview and registered and started to download win 10 preview build 9926
You did not had to install Windows 7 first, to install Windows 10. An upgrade is not the only way to install Windows 10. You could have installed Windows 10, by simply downloading its ISO from Windows 10 link, and then perform its clean install. There was no need to install Windows 7 first, and then perform an upgrade. Straight away downloading the Windows 10 ISO and then installing it on the drive would have saved you loads of time, and trouble.

To remove the rollback option, read this:

http://www.ghacks.net/2015/02/04/how...tion-on-start/
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Feb 2015, 06:45 PM   #20 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 195
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jojo Yee View Post
Good news, so I don't need to spend extra monies to get Windows 10.

Any further updates or news that new Windows will be free for devices with small screens?
I've goggled about this upgrade to Win 10,and some people say, one has to pay after a year for win 7 users ?hope that's not the case! if so i'm ready to put back my Win 7 that i have in my other HDD.
Ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.