Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Security

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29. Jun 2011, 11:21 AM   #11 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Feline View Post
Thanks, bo.elam, that worked to get the umbrella opened and have Avira look like 'normal' again.

Still, I'm thinking of changing to another Antivirus. Avast would be an option, and I've read of someone recommending Kingsoft Antivirus. Can anyone else recommend this?

And, I'm curious how tomorrow's update will go. Maybe Avira notices that there is no Ask toolbar and the whole thing starts all over again...

Feline

Unfortunately Kingsoft doesn't come out too well in tests. It is in fact bottom by a large margin in the test chart link I posted earlier.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jun 2011, 03:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 886
Default

yep avira just lost me to mse lol.

AVG lost me because it used a toolbar too, now mse seems to be one of the few ones left with just an AV and nothing else.
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jun 2011, 04:01 PM   #13 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
blues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Blue Ridge Mtns
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeb View Post
now mse seems to be one of the few ones left with just an AV and nothing else.
That was always one of my favorite things about MSE...not having to have all the "extras" which could conflict with your chosen security apps.

Unfortunately yesterday's program update by MSE made it no longer viable for us. Too bad after being with it for a good long time. But, I suppose everything changes...
__________________
Emsisoft Internet Security / Sandboxie
blues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jun 2011, 04:27 PM   #14 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 886
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blues View Post
That was always one of my favorite things about MSE...not having to have all the "extras" which could conflict with your chosen security apps.

Unfortunately yesterday's program update by MSE made it no longer viable for us. Too bad after being with it for a good long time. But, I suppose everything changes...
what is this update you are talking about? I havent noticed anything different than from when I first tried it months ago. I see nothing that changes how MSE works
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jun 2011, 05:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
blues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Blue Ridge Mtns
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeb View Post
what is this update you are talking about? I havent noticed anything different than from when I first tried it months ago. I see nothing that changes how MSE works
You can check this thread for some additional info.
__________________
Emsisoft Internet Security / Sandboxie
blues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Jun 2011, 06:10 AM   #16 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 17
Default

I always found Avira to be a complete joke!
It was false positive central which made people think it had brilliant detection.
When it did find a genuine threat its secondary action in dealing with it was awful.
When i tested it updates were a shambles and usually didn't work and start up was more like re entry when it could be bothered to start correctly.
I found the free version very heavy for what it did with lots of bugs that were never fixed and was limited compared to other free options.

For me nag screens are a no no, if the product is good enough then people may pay for it and upgrade but they dont need reminding that this version they are using isnt up to the job with a screen thats as tacky as Ballmer selling Windows 1.

Its only good point was its super quick scanning but thats all i can say was good as the rest was over rated and average at best.

A toolbar is the final nail in the coffin, Avast have recently added an option to install Google Chrome that annoyed me but its only a tick to fix it.
If this toolbar is enforced then it goes against the principles of security imo and its a step too far...

Last edited by Hoppy; 30. Jun 2011 at 06:14 AM. Reason: worded original wrong,,.
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Jun 2011, 09:45 AM   #17 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bo.elam View Post
Let us know if you get a new prompt, if you do, just say no,
don't click later, say no NOW.

Bo
The update went normal, instead of the ad screen there was a screen telling folks not to worry about the closed umbrella, offering a link to 'fix it'. I didn't use it, as my umbrella is open. It now seems back to normal.

One word though to the 'just say no' - the trouble yesterday was that there wasn't an option to say 'no'. The only options offered were either 'to install now' or 'to install later'.

I'll have a look at Avast, though. I'm not keen to get Google Chrome as I already have SW Iron as a second brower (next to Firefox), and I'll see to it that if I get Avast, Chrome will stay away.

Feline
Feline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Jul 2011, 12:41 AM   #18 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

Damn, every update the stupid alert appears, along with the tray icon.
I'm not using it in real-time, and the notifier is already at my limit. Going to disable it.

Strange that my umbrella is open when I have no Guard at all .
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Jul 2011, 02:54 AM   #19 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

I can stand "reminder screens" but notifiers during boot time, I can not tolerate.
I read somewhere that the notifier would come up three times and then they
would stop bothering people, I guess in your case that's not so.
I would never use any software that has notifiers at boot time that can not be
disabled.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Jul 2011, 07:30 AM   #20 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

I've already lost patience at the second. So who knows. Blocked the avnotify.exe.
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.