Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Security

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14. Feb 2011, 11:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,334
Default Secunia PSI 2.0

I tried out the new Secunia PSI 2.0. Actually, I had tried it sometime back, but did not had anything to say about it then.

The problem of Windows navigation sound disappearing had been fixed in the final 2.0 version.

At first, I did not like the new interface, and thought it was cluttered. But now, I think its OK.

I just have one issue though. Has anyone else had this? When I first start PSI, it would just show "Verifying internet connection" for a long time. Sometimes, the time would be less, and sometimes too long. Today, and one more time earlier, it just sat there at that screen for too long... 5 minutes or so today. I had to close it, and then run it again. The second time too, it took sometime, before it started to work.

Has anyone noticed this, and knows whats the reason behind this?
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Feb 2011, 02:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Hi Anupam,

I'm using PSI again now that they've fixed the Windows sounds bug, though I don't have it running in the background, and I don't use the new automatic update feature.

I've experienced similar delays with this version and other earlier versions from time to time. I've also seen quite a few reports about this on the Secunia forum.

It mostly seems to be affected by the response of the Secunia servers at the time.
I believe some people with persistent problems have also had success by uninstalling the product completely, along with manual removal of various associated registry entries, and then re-installing afresh.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Feb 2011, 03:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,334
Default

Thanks for the reply Sope. I too do not have PSI running in background, and have turned off the automatic updates feature too.

So, that's the reason for the delay happening. Its a shame really, because this was not there in the previous version. Its quite annoying actually.
I have a feeling that this problem will occur even after fresh install... so I am not going that way unless I find it very necessary. Anyways, I do not use PSI very regularly... just sometimes to see if I am doing OK.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Feb 2011, 03:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Yep, like you I only use PSI occasionally, maybe once a month, but mostly I'm already up to date with things like Flash and Java which I usually hear about first from this forum (thanks!).

I find PSI handy to run on friends and family PC's when they ask me to "sort out" their computer for them.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Feb 2011, 04:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,123
Default

One thing I like about PSI 2.0 is the fact that it shows you the names of the individual files that require updating; very handy when visiting MS updates as sometimes in the past I have updated my system only to find that I still need more updates. Very annoying after you have already done a reboot, I always manually update rather than have XP set to automatic.

I too do not use the auto update feature in PSI as I am too much of a control freak, in case you haven't noticed!!
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Feb 2011, 07:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Concerned User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: இந்தியா, सिन्धु, India
Posts: 486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torres-no-tan-magnifico View Post
One thing I like about PSI 2.0 is the fact that it shows you the names of the individual files that require updating; very handy when visiting MS updates as sometimes in the past I have updated my system only to find that I still need more updates. Very annoying after you have already done a reboot, I always manually update rather than have XP set to automatic.

I too do not use the auto update feature in PSI as I am too much of a control freak, in case you haven't noticed!!
Same here! I don't use the auto update feature. I run the utility once a week along with File Hippo's update checker.
Concerned User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Feb 2011, 08:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,334
Default

Yes, Sope, no doubt PSI is a useful utility that way.

I have noticed that PSI installs two new services with this version 2. One is the Secunia PSI Agent, and the other Secunia Update Agent. Both services have the same description.

PSI Agent was already stopped on my PC, but I noticed that Update Agent kept running right from the moment computer was started. Its sua.exe. Today I have stopped the service and set it to manual. I really do not like when software install such update services, or processes, which keep running in the background.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Feb 2011, 11:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
I have noticed that PSI installs two new services with this version 2. One is the Secunia PSI Agent, and the other Secunia Update Agent. Both services have the same description.

PSI Agent was already stopped on my PC, but I noticed that Update Agent kept running right from the moment computer was started. Its sua.exe. Today I have stopped the service and set it to manual. I really do not like when software install such update services, or processes, which keep running in the background.
Yep, I noticed it too. It always pays to check for this kind of thing.
I did exactly the same as you and set it to manual
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Feb 2011, 12:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,334
Default

Wise minds think alike .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Feb 2011, 04:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
blues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Blue Ridge Mtns
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
I really do not like when software install such update services, or processes, which keep running in the background.
It was this "invasive" quality that caused me to remove the app (despite recognizing its utility after a usage or two).

Same thing I didn't like about "Chrome". I don't like apps doing too much on their own without the user's decision.
__________________
Emsisoft Internet Security / Sandboxie
blues is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.