Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Security

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04. Apr 2015, 12:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 150
Default Win7 UAC Security/Sandboxie Question

All,

Wondering about the wisdom of turning off the Win7 UAC completely. I run Sandboxie and Winpatrol, thinking about EMET as an addition, Bit Locker also turned on.

The UAC becomes a pain on a single user machine running Win7 Ultimate.

What is the downside of not having the UAC turned on besides the obvious security risk (not even sure about that).

Thanks in advance...
windyctyprog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Apr 2015, 11:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 555
Default

The biggest is the possibility of installs sneaking in without you noticing.
That should be reduced if you have a strong software firewall and anti virus.
I have it turned off and have for years, but I do explicitly check install that I am aware of and my software firewall is quite finicky about things.
Burn-IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Apr 2015, 01:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 150
Default

B-IT, Thanks.

I already run both Firefox (UBlock, Flashblock, No Script) and Thunderbird under Sandboxie, EMET locks down Office, Java, Adobe, etc., I use Winpatrol to monitor changes, have Panda A/V currently, use the Win7 firewall.

My question was more about the UAC potentially affecting other Windows functions, processes or applications, like Windows Update.

Where does the UAC have hooks, if any, and what might be affected if I turn it off?

If anything, this site has taught me the wonder that is Sandboxie, always my first line of defense.
windyctyprog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Apr 2015, 02:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 287
Default

Disabling UAC:
1) disables Internet Explorer's Protected Mode.
2) might have a negative affect on software compatibility because of UAC virtualization.
MrBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Apr 2015, 03:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 150
Default

MB...Thanks.

I never run IE, haven't in years.

As for software compatibility, I believe that was the answer I was looking for.

I run a pretty vanilla system; other than Office, I have a few apps that aren't native Windows 64 bit - screen capture and XMind as examples - I do need these for work.

You answered my question MB.
windyctyprog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Apr 2015, 06:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Hi windycty. Curt, the SBIE Lead developer said recently about UAC.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Curt@invincea
1) I like UAC and think it is a good security feature of Windows. I always run with UAC enabled, even with Sandboxie loaded. It is not a big deal for me to click on a dozen or so popups per day. Disabling UAC basically means everything runs at high integrity without letting you know anything is happening.
http://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/v...108126#p108096

Myself, I use UAC in W7. It doesn't bother me, I rarely see any prompts.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Apr 2015, 09:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 150
Default

Bo,

As always thanks...

Just curious, did you keep the default, or change it?
windyctyprog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Apr 2015, 10:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 287
Default

@windyctyprog: You're welcome . There are various methods to avoid UAC prompts. There are posts at Wilders Security detailing some of these methods. If you're interested and can't find these posts, let me know.

P.S. I set UAC in Windows 7 to "Always notify."
MrBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Apr 2015, 11:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by windyctyprog View Post
Just curious, did you keep the default, or change it?
I have mine on default. The only time I see a UAC prompt is when I run CCleaner or sometimes when I install something in a sandbox. I could disable the CCleaner prompt but I rather not. Seeing that prompt tells me UAC is working.

If I was seeing many popups and it got kind of annoying, I ll probably would do the workarounds that Mr Brian talk about to get rid of some of them.

Bo

Last edited by bo.elam; 04. Apr 2015 at 11:20 PM.
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Apr 2015, 08:43 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Concerned User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: இந்தியா, सिन्धु, India
Posts: 486
Default

I'm with bo here. The UAC is very useful and the only time I see prompts would be when I'm installing or uninstalling a program.


Besides, it's built into the system and there is no need to install any third party software program to do the monitoring. But to each his own.


@ bo: I use a portable version of ccleaner and I don't see a UAC popup when I use it. Weird.
Concerned User is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.