Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Security

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28. Feb 2013, 04:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,342
Default Avast 8

Avast 8 has been released.

This major update brings many new changes to Avast. Apart from a new user interface, there are new modules for software health, and browser cleanup tool.

They have also introduced a new edition called aAvast! Premier, which includes additional new features.

Details here:

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=116245.0

Although this version can be installed on top of the old one, but still, it would be better to install it fresh, after uninstalling the old version, and also running its removal tool, for certain cleanup.

Also, it would be better to observe the forums for a while, before installing the new version, to see if there are reports of any major issues.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Feb 2013, 05:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,342
Default

They have also changed the site interface, so things can be a bit hard to find. Downloads can be found here :

http://www.avast.com/download-software

Good thing is that it starts download from Avast site, rather than CNET. Direct links can also be found on the Avast thread shared in the earlier post.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Feb 2013, 07:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

I've updated to 8 on a machine I'm refurbing here. It's not one of ours, belongs to someone else but it's fairly old, XP Pro SP3 and only 256 MB RAM. Tried every free AV known to man on it with varying levels of success and failure. In the end I installed Avast, the last version, and it was running well, bit laggy at times but better then the others I'd tried.

Anyway, I noticed there was a program update this afternoon so I ran it and let it install over the top, which went fine - re-boot required, so did that and the update went well. Thing is, I'm really pleased because this new version, 8, is running even lighter than the previous one.

I'd just got used to the previous interface, but this new version is totally different so I'm messing around with it at the moment. Did a quick scan in ten minutes, the defs are updating no problem - and the machine is responding better than before.

I'm not too familiar with Avast but there's a firewall, which is 'inactive' by default, that I don't recall being there before? ... also, when Avast started after the re-boot it popped up an alert about Flash being out of date, so I clicked for it to update and off it went. The Flash installer popped up on the screen and updated with no problem. I've put FF on the machine, version 19.0 and I know that 19.01 is available but it hasn't alerted to that yet so I'll wait and see what happens - can't get it through the browser either.

I haven't got the Browser Integration plug-ins installed, it slowed the browser down in the last version, and WOT's installed anyway.

The UI is totally different, so takes a bit of navigating at first but it's all very clearly laid out.

As I said, I'm not too familiar with Avast, but this new version is quite impressive on a low powered machine. So far, so good.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Feb 2013, 08:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,342
Default

Thanks for sharing your experience, deya... that's helpful, and pleased to know the positive results .

Avast has always worked fine for me, and I have installed it over different PCs with varying hardware. I had been running it on my old PC with P-III and 512MB RAM, which was later reduced to 256MB RAM, because of one stick going bad. Avast performed quite well on that system, didn't slow down the PC much. It's really commendable that even with all sorts of features, they have managed to keep Avast running light.

I haven't installed Avast 8 on my system yet. I will do it after watching the Avast forum for sometime, to see if there are any issues being reported. There shouldn't be though, because they have been beta testing it since long.

It's good to know that this version runs light on the system too .

I was quite curious about the new interface... that always gets me excited, specially when it happens with one of my favorite programs. I was able to see the new interface in the Avast 8 manual. It looks great!

I think you got the alert about the flash update because of its new software health module, which they added in this version only. I haven't read about it much yet, or even know about it much, but I guess it should be because of that module only.

The browser cleanup tool, which is also a new feature since this version, also sounds like a useful too, specially for inexperienced users. I think it might be available separately too, and its listed on their "other products" page, but when I tried to download it, it showed a big sized file for antivirus setup .. maybe it's a glitch and they will fix it soon. Will keep a watch. Will certainly be a useful tool if it's available separately.

I too don't install the web rep browser plugins, because I already have WOT. I also disable the sandbox feature, because I feel confident about being able to handle unknown programs. I also disable it when I install it on other systems too, because they won't be able to handle it properly. I also disable the behavior shield on their systems for the same reason, and also it shows false positives, which is understandable.

Can't say about the firewall. It has not been there in previous versions, and I don't think it's included in the free version.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Feb 2013, 08:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,342
Default

Forgot to mention that Avast 8 also seems to include an adblocker. They have forgot to mention this in the list on their forum thread, but I saw it mentioned elsewhere.

Can you confirm that deya?
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Feb 2013, 08:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

Already updated with the RTM release. Anyways, I like how Script Shield works with Chrome now and WebRep doesn't seem to crash anymore. The interface, speed, configurability, and protection are all top-notch.

There are 2 things to note though. Avast WebRep isn't compatible with Internet Explorer 10's Enhanced Protected Mode, and the Ad Block extension disables itself if it detects Adblock Plus.
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Feb 2013, 09:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,342
Default

Thanks JL for the additional info.

Browser Cleanup seems to be available as a separate tool. Ghacks covered an article on it recently, and it includes a link to download the tool too.

http://www.ghacks.net/2013/02/23/rem...-cleanup-tool/
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Mar 2013, 12:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

Never got a chance to try the AdBlocker, I did see it when I first opened Avast but didn't enable it. I can't find it now, think it was in Security - Tools? .. can't remember for sure. Now I've read J_L's post I see why that might be. AdBlock Plus is installed in FF so if Avast detects it, the AdBlock in Avast doesn't show up at all - is that correct? I've searched the settings but can't find it now. Maybe I'm wrong. It would be interesting to know if the Avast AdBlock has less impact on the browser than the FF add-on.

Anyway, that aside, the machine is definitely running better with Avast 8. I downloaded the PDF user manual via the program so I'll have a read through it in the morning.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Mar 2013, 07:19 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,342
Default

Yea, that must be the reason. Thanks for checking it out anyways.

I also forgot to mention... Avast have released a Mac version of the antivirus too.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Mar 2013, 10:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deya View Post
Never got a chance to try the AdBlocker, I did see it when I first opened Avast but didn't enable it. I can't find it now, think it was in Security - Tools? .. can't remember for sure. Now I've read J_L's post I see why that might be. AdBlock Plus is installed in FF so if Avast detects it, the AdBlock in Avast doesn't show up at all - is that correct? I've searched the settings but can't find it now. Maybe I'm wrong. It would be interesting to know if the Avast AdBlock has less impact on the browser than the FF add-on.
It's in Settings > Browser Integration. I don't have Firefox on this computer, so I don't know what it's behaviour is on that browser.
You should keep AdBlock Plus, because you can choose which lists to subscribe to IMO. Plus you can easily create your own rules, while Avast only has language, whitelist, and acceptable ads settings.
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.