Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Multimedia

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05. Dec 2012, 04:24 AM   #11 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Post

Apologies George.J, I updated the K-Lite Codec Pac 955 Mega BEFORE I downloaded the most recent version of Potplayer (mine is a clone copy of your Potplayer) & everything worked well for 5 days. On the 6th day I had NO sound, & upon ur suggestion, I REMOVED the K-Lite Codec Pack, cleaned my system, ran antivrus on my system, tried
Potplayer w/o success, whereas sounds worked well on everything else in my sys.

Par example my media player prior to Potplayer, VLC, worked well in the past & is still doing well today as I downloaded A Korean Hist. Movie with Subtitle options & everything
worked well .. LOUD & CLEAR & in English. It's just that I'd like to completely change to
Potplayer, I like the way it operates with ALL working bells & whistles. Tried the same movie on Potplayer & it has no sound

Thx for the urls re Vista, have had no probs with it until Potplayer.

Pivka
Pivka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Dec 2012, 06:06 AM   #12 (permalink)
Editor
 
George.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,950
Default

Try the workaround I mentioned just above your post. There is a high chance that Number 1 might work for you, by renaming the exe file. If not, try the others. .
__________________
If you seek for attention, do common things in life in an uncommon way!
George.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Dec 2012, 06:14 AM   #13 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Post

Thx, will do
Pivka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Dec 2012, 04:14 AM   #14 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Post Potplayer Probs

Greetings George. J

Tried the workaround #1, it didn't work, thx much 4 ur time & effort to help me, kudos to ur persistence to finding a solution for me, I tried all of ur suggestions w/no success on my behalf, however, as I mentioned earlier VLC is working well thereby I'll stay with VLC suffering no frustration.

Once again I'm grateful for ur assistance & kindness rendered me.
Cheers,

Pivka
Pivka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Dec 2012, 07:05 AM   #15 (permalink)
Editor
 
George.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,950
Default

You could try deleting appdata folders as mentioned in 2 as a last resort and change the audio to waveout as mentioned in 3.

If nothing works, you could post in Doom9 forums. They are a highly knowledgeable community. It's surprising that PotPlayer is gone now over there.
__________________
If you seek for attention, do common things in life in an uncommon way!
George.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Dec 2012, 10:12 AM   #16 (permalink)
Editor
 
George.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,950
Default

And next time make sure not to install any mega codec packs, they might be harmful in some cases.
__________________
If you seek for attention, do common things in life in an uncommon way!
George.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Dec 2012, 06:12 PM   #17 (permalink)
Editor
 
George.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,950
Default

Pivika, I think I understood what your problem might be. You're not getting sound because you've accidentally changed the mixer settings within Vista itself. To get sound again for PotPlayer, click on the "speaker" icon on the bottom right of taskbar in Windows, then click Mixer and then you'll be able to see various applications and find PotPlayer and increase the volume from there.

I wonder why I never thought of this before.
__________________
If you seek for attention, do common things in life in an uncommon way!
George.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Jan 2015, 08:30 PM   #18 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Default

I had no audio for some file formats. I read this topic and I changed the porplayermini64.exe to potplayermini642.exe. and now I have sound.
Do you know what happened that I encountered this problem?

I also have another question:
I installed the latest version of both 32bit and 64bit of potplayer, but the only .exe file is potplayermini.exe
There was a potplayer.exe in installation folder recently, but I can't find it now.
I also reinstalled it, but not found.
How can I have both mini and normal file?
SaidJan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Jan 2015, 10:02 AM   #19 (permalink)
Editor
 
George.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,950
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SaidJan View Post
I had no audio for some file formats. I read this topic and I changed the porplayermini64.exe to potplayermini642.exe. and now I have sound.
Do you know what happened that I encountered this problem?
The reason that you had no sound was because you set the mixer value corresponding to PotPlayer application to 0. You see the speaker icon in the tray, to the bottom rightmost of the screen? Click on it, and then click Mixer. Scroll around to see the applications and look for PotPlayer. It was earlier set to zero. When you rename an application, it will set the Mixer value for that to default.

You can rename potplayermini642.exe back to potplayermini64.exe (else it might conflict with update), and simply set the Mixer value accordingly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SaidJan View Post
I also have another question:
I installed the latest version of both 32bit and 64bit of potplayer, but the only .exe file is potplayermini.exe
There was a potplayer.exe in installation folder recently, but I can't find it now.
I also reinstalled it, but not found.
How can I have both mini and normal file?
There is no PotPlayer.exe, probably it might have been there in very old versions before 1.6 was released. There is only a PotPlayerMini.exe file, although there is a PotPlayer.dll file.
__________________
If you seek for attention, do common things in life in an uncommon way!
George.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25. Jan 2015, 12:27 PM   #20 (permalink)
wwk
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Default

Hi.

I have similar problem - PotPlayer doesn't play audio stream in MKV files. I'm using PotPlayer Portable 1.6.5148 32-bit on Win7 with Realtek onboard sound card. This is PP's codec informations:



[Used Filter List]
(1) Built-in MKV Source
(2) Built-in Video Codec/Transform
(3) Enhanced Video Renderer(Custom Present)
(4) Built-in AVI<->AC3/DTS
(5) Microsoft DTV-DVD Audio Decoder
(6) DirectSound Audio Renderer

[Video Information]
Codec:AVC1 - Built-in FFmpeg Decoder(h264)
Input type:AVC1(24 bits)
Input size:1280 x 720(1.78:1)
Output type:YUY2(16 bits)
Output size:1280 x 720(1.78:1)
Frame rate:23.98
BitRate: Unknown

[Audio Information]
Codec: Dolby AC3(0x2000)
Sample rate:48000 -> 48000 samples/sec
Bits per sample:32 -> 32 bits/sample
Channels:6 -> 6 channels
Bitrate: 9216 kbps

Every other files like AVI, MP4, FLV works good. Also the same PotPlayer Portable installation with the same MKV file works fine on Win8.1 tablet. Can somebody help me, please?
wwk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.