Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12. Apr 2012, 07:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,179
Default Zorin OS 6 Lite

Just under a month ago, Zorin OS launched their version 6 “Lite” and I finally took a few moments to try it out.

http://zoringroup.com/blog/2012/03/1...e-is-released/

First impressions were this is not what many will expect a lightweight desktop to look like. Everything is clear, clean and sharp and dare I say more stable than the main version. This is not to say that Zorin main is full of bugs, but there are a few niggles none of which I experienced with Lite. Based off Lubuntu (the included Software Center is still labeled as such) and with the LXDE desktop, this distro is well suited to laptops which is where mine is now installed. I have a Samsung RV415 with AMD E300 processor + 2G, and it's as fast on this as you could possibly want. Pretty much everything you need is pre-installed although I did opt for LibreOffice Writer in preference to the included Abiword. I also downloaded Deluge, GkrellM, a couple of games + Thunderbird and was ready to go. Unlike some distros, the system updates after install are not too heavy either.

The only thing not working for me out of the box was sound, but this was just a question of selecting my card from the drop down list.

As usual, Zorin provides some nice touches over and above the original source and in no way does it look or feel compromised because of it's lightweight aspirations.

I've now replaced Kororaa 16 KDE with Zorin OS 6 Lite on my dual booted laptop as this is definitely a keeper.

Screenshot here:
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Apr 2012, 10:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Editor
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 686
Default

How much memory does it use?
Panzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Apr 2012, 05:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Panzer View Post
How much memory does it use?
I only have 2G on the laptop but currently with a browser open and a torrent running it's at 19%
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Apr 2012, 07:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

I was very impressed with the full version of Zorin. I actually liked it better than PClinuxOS which I replaced with Zorin. I think that its close association with Ubuntu enables it to provide the latest and greatest software as it uses Ubuntu's software manager. What impressed me the most was the way Zorin managed to create a WinXP standard desktop. I'm still not sure exactly how but I don't think they used Mate or Cinnamon like Mint does. As a matter of fact when I tried Mint 12 it did not come close to Zorin with regard to ease of setup. I also think the over 1GB download size puts people off from trying Zorin. The lite version weighs in at 704 MB which tempts me to try installing it on a USB

MC, When I visited the webpage you provided, it linked the download section for the full version of which is over 1GB if you go to the right side of the page Zorin OS 6 Lite release candidate is here
At the end of the description you can click on 'Here' for the download
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Apr 2012, 06:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,179
Default

On the page I linked, I followed this:

"You can download Zorin OS 6 Lite from the “Lite” section on our free downloads page".

The "free downloads page" text is another link and once there you just need to click on the "lite" heading, although the default one shown is that for the full version.

Please let us know what you think to Lite if you are able to get round to trying it.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Apr 2012, 12:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MC
"You can download Zorin OS 6 Lite from the “Lite” section on our free downloads page".
Ahhh.... that's what those tabs are for

I'm going to try installing Zorin Lite on a USB drive, I'll let ya know how it goes.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Apr 2012, 08:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wdhpr View Post

I'm going to try installing Zorin Lite on a USB drive, I'll let ya know how it goes.
This actually prompted me again about the main version of Zorin because I'd not tried 5.2. I got the usual error windows which I ignored as usual and everything works without issue. It uses around 5-6% more memory in use than the Lite version and to be honest I notice no difference in speed. Unless someone has a real low end machine therefore or just likes the LXDE desktop, I can't see much of a need for it. I still may revert back to the Lite version myself, depending on the final direction of Zorin 6 which is still not confirmed and was the main reason why I installed this in the first place.

In the past I've had the odd issue when using the advanced partitioning options to replace one linux with another in a dual boot, unless of course the installer is like Kororra which does this for you. MC's system therefore is to use EasyBCD to remove Grub from the MBR, delete the former Linux partitions, expand W7 to swallow this space and then shrink it back again to make room for the new installation. I've then found that using the default option "install alongside Windows 7" works fine every time.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Apr 2012, 08:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MC
In the past I've had the odd issue when using the advanced partitioning options to replace one linux with another in a dual boot, unless of course the installer is like Kororra which does this for you. MC's system therefore is to use EasyBCD to remove Grub from the MBR, delete the former Linux partitions, expand W7 to swallow this space and then shrink it back again to make room for the new installation. I've then found that using the default option "install alongside Windows 7" works fine every time.
Hmmm... I wonder if this has something to do with the way Win7 handles dual booting as I've heard it doesn't play nice with dual boot set-ups. Since I'm still using the old but steady WinXP, I always opt for the advanced method. What I have found depending on the distro, is that the install routine will identify my partitions differently such as sda2 is now sda3 and sda4 is now my swap disk
I have no explanation why this happens but I get around it by choosing the partitions by its known size. This is further complicated because I have two internal drives which has two partitions each. I have one HDD with my default WinXP and my default Linux OS which is Mint. My second HDD has a pristine copy WinXP and a partition for my Linux flavour of the month. The biggest problem so far has been the occasional corruption of my MBR, that is easily fixed using SuperGrub or the newer version called Rescatux (very handy and fixes Windows MBRs too)
The other problem I have encountered is the new boot menu will get the location wrong for my other OS's normally this can be fixed by using these terminal commands:
sudo -i
grub-mkconfig
grub-install /dev/sda (replace with actual drive and partition)
update-grub
exit
This will create a boot menu with all Linux and Win OS's on all drives but only installs the grub menu on the drive you selected.
To make changes to the Grub2 menu such as the boot order you will need to do so with extreme caution as Grub2 no longer uses a menu list. It just so happens our old friend Dedoimedo has created an in-depth tutorial GRUB 2 bootloader - Full tutorial

These days I don't panic any more with corrupted grub menus or MBRs now that I have allot of experience fixing them
Although rarely, one of the major things that can go wrong is wiping out one of the other operating systems
That is where my very very handy 2TB external HDD saves the day. Backups are a good thing indeed!

Got a little long winded on this one
Cheers

Last edited by wdhpr; 14. Apr 2012 at 08:52 PM. Reason: Just my typical typing errors that I don't spot till later
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Apr 2012, 11:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,179
Default

Just in case anyone is interested, there are a variety of tutorials around about how to install Google Earth in Ubuntu, with some having more success than others. I followed this one for Zorin OS 5.2 main version and it worked flawlessly.

http://www.liberiangeek.net/2011/10/...neiric-ocelot/
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Apr 2012, 02:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,179
Default

Useful video review of Zorin OS 6 Lite here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q9ypBlU78RY
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.