Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02. May 2011, 02:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bodis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 173
Default #! CrunchBang Linux - my next stop...

Well... After ubuntu went the funny way with the Unity I have been hunting... alot. I have tried 12 different setups of distro's to see what would suit my needs.

I was going for XFCE desktop and accidently came up with #! linux. tried xfce version and was impressed. However everyone in their forums seemed quite hyped up about Openbox version. So I installed it...

Well I know one thing, I am not likely to move back to gnome or kde. Openbox is so customizable... Suits my needs perfectly... It does take some getting used to, but after that its a pleasure...

Hope you boys give it a try one day...


bodis
bodis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. May 2011, 11:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

I have Zenwalk OpenBox on VMware Player. The one thing I dislike about it is how hard it is to change screen resolution and keep it.
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. May 2011, 07:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Are you sure running it inside VMware isn't causing your resolution difficulties.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. May 2011, 07:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

Shouldn't be. Try it yourself.
Changing resolution require command line by default, and remembering it requires editing system files or making startup commands.
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. May 2011, 07:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Sure sounds like too much hassle.
Have only briefly tried VMware. I've been using VirtualBox and it can be fussy when rendering the newer graphic requirements.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. May 2011, 10:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bodis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 173
Default

Well, I am a man of simple needs and all this bling stuff that new DE's are bringing in are just a hassle to me.

Yes Openbox requires some hands on work with file editing, but what you get in return is the ability to customize your desktop as you wish with building your own menus etc.
bodis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. May 2011, 10:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,179
Default

I think Linux distros are like browsers and Windows AV's, each has something to like but most not everything. Important features for someone with extensive Linux knowledge, and a need to use them, might for instance be of no consequence to me.

I'm currently not in a position to use Linux as a daily OS any more but if you like OpenBox then maybe PCLinuxOS is another option to look at? This ships a choice of seven different desktops, including OpenBox. The PCLinuxOS forum also splits help for the minority desktops away from Gnome and KDE so there's not so much stuff to search through.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Sep 2012, 08:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Editor
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 686
Default

I have two questions regarding Openbox:
If a Distro has Openbox and you want to install software for Gnome, do you need to install some special software first? Or will I have to install a tonne of dependencies for each one program I install?
If I have only Synaptic, can I somehow install Software Center (for Debian)?
Panzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Sep 2012, 05:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,179
Default

Unfortunately I don't have enough experience of running Openbox in Linux but whatever distro you have will sort out the dependencies automatically. If what you want is not in their repos however, I'm not sure how to go from there.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Sep 2012, 08:47 AM   #10 (permalink)
Editor
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 686
Default

Would it be better to just install MATE over it? How much space would I need to do this - and how do I do that?

Will try to found on the net.

Thanx ...

Last edited by Panzer; 17. Sep 2012 at 08:55 AM.
Panzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.