Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27. Apr 2011, 06:04 AM   #21 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Ritho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 1,379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wdhpr View Post
I'm using vBulletin 4.0 and I cant locate where to enable processor extension to VT
As a matter of fact theres a new version of vBulletin its now 4.6.

Thanks
Wdhpr
What I believe Dedomido is referring to is Intel's Virtual Technology (Intel VT-x) that allows two operating systems to efficiently use the physical cpu simultaneously. This dependant on whether or not you mother-board supports it. AMD also has a similar technology called AMD-V. If your motherboard supports cpu virtualization extension, it must be enabled in the BIOS settings. After enabling it in the bios you can tell VBox to use it in its configuration settings. VBox > Settings > System > Acceleration> Hardware Virtualization

It is worth doing a benchmark of a vm before enabling it, and then after. Some have found certain configurations do not work so well with it and can even cause performance lost. Google the terms "AMD-V or Intel VT-x and VirtualBox" and you will find all kinds of discussions about it.
__________________
The smallest good deed is better than the greatest intention.
Ritho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Apr 2011, 06:41 AM   #22 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Thank you Ritho.
You have been a great help. From reading various posts it seems some of the tweaks to vBulletin can be a bit of a crap shoot. I'm still bouncing around from forum to forum trying to figure out what is IO APIC from settings > system > motherboard or enable PAE/NX from settings > system > processor. When I look at settings > storage SATA controller I see for type AHCI. I downloaded the user manual in PDF form. It looks like the Wdhpr gots some learning to do.

Wdhpr
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Apr 2011, 06:54 AM   #23 (permalink)
Editor
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 90
Default

@Ritho, that's exactly what I meant

One small detail, after enabling the technology is bios, if your chip supports and you are not running a locked-down version of bios, you will have to power off the machine and power it on again. A reboot is not enough.

Regards,
Dedoimedo
__________________
http://www.dedoimedo.com | http://www.thelostwordsbooks.com/
Dedoimedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Apr 2011, 07:43 AM   #24 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Ritho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 1,379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dedoimedo View Post
@Ritho, that's exactly what I meant

One small detail, after enabling the technology is bios, if your chip supports and you are not running a locked-down version of bios, you will have to power off the machine and power it on again. A reboot is not enough.

Regards,
Dedoimedo
I was not aware of that detail, but it certainly makes sense, because until you cold start the cpu remains in use. (Without further investigation, I am assuming that is the reason)
__________________
The smallest good deed is better than the greatest intention.
Ritho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Apr 2011, 09:38 AM   #25 (permalink)
Editor
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 90
Default

Some modern systems will automatically do this for you.
On my hp laptop with i5 processor, it will auto power off/on after vt change in bios.
Dedoimedo
__________________
http://www.dedoimedo.com | http://www.thelostwordsbooks.com/
Dedoimedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Apr 2011, 01:49 AM   #26 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

I experienced a problem with the newest version of VirtualBox 4.0.6 along with the USB extension package.
I upgraded version 4.0.4 to 4.0.6 after which I lost my access to all my USB ports. I thought maybe there was a problem during the upgrade process so I completely uninstalled vBulletin and its folders retaining the VDI file. I then installed vBulletin version 4.0.6 again. The problem persisted. I completely removed 4.0.6 and did a fresh install of 4.0.4 using my old VDI hardisk file. Problem fixed.
I posted the problem on the vBulletin forum and I'll report back any helpful comments.

Wdhpr
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. May 2011, 12:54 PM   #27 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Default VirtualBox lagging

If you are experiencing delays with vBulletin you may have other problems. I can run a whole vBulletin network on my laptop which has only one hard drive and I use dynamic drives with vBulletin. Windows 2003 Server is the server and I have XP, 2000, ME, 98, 95, WFW 3.11, DOS 6.22 running at once with no lagging. Only then if I start up Windows 7 will I get some noticeable lagging, Fedora 12 causes some minor lagging. My OS is OpenSuse 11.4 on a Pentium Dual Core with 2 gigs of RAM.
mikislate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. May 2011, 07:41 PM   #28 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Interesting. It may have something to do with your processor. I have a single core Sempron and when I tried to run a OS from vBulletin on the same drive it was very slow. After I started to run the .vdi file on a separate hardrive it ran much faster and was very smooth.

How do you have your vBulletin settings configured?

Wdhpr
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. May 2011, 02:30 AM   #29 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default OpenSuse inside VirtualBox running on Linux.

Interesting. OpenSuse installed easily and configured my hardware with same efficiency as Ubuntu and Mint. Has a great feel to-it...... More to come.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. May 2011, 02:20 AM   #30 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wdhpr View Post
Interesting. OpenSuse installed easily and configured my hardware with same efficiency as Ubuntu and Mint. Has a great feel to-it...... More to come.
After I completed all the updates OpenSuse became very unstable and I could no longer run in full screen mode even after reinstalling the guest extension. I also found I could no longer access my shared folders. So I'm moving on to PCLinux.


I'm onto PcLinux now. Installed very nicely has a very nice set of applications on its initial install. Firefox and Thunderbird, clementine, VLC and many others that Windows users would feel right at home with. All the window buttons are in the right place. So far I'm very impressed with the look and feel of this distro.

Wdhpr

Last edited by wdhpr; 14. May 2011 at 02:55 AM.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.