Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27. Dec 2010, 06:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Ritho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 1,379
Default

So I look this over more, and we may not need to go to all the trouble of compiling and installing the driver. It appears that your device should in fact be supported already with a driver that is in the repositories.

Let's try this first. Find the Synaptic Package Manager which should be under the menu entry "Administration" Start it, click the reload button on the lefthand side of the menu bar, and then after it is all updated use the search box to search for "bcmwl-kernel-source." If you find that, and if the live cd is recognizing your card then there should be a green check mark next to that entry. Let me know what you find

I verified you can't install a driver when using a live cd. It has to be installed in a persistent environment because you have to restart to get the system to recognize the device. So you will either have to install it on your hard drive, or on a USB stick. If you have a 4gb USB stick that would be the way to go if you are not quite ready to commit to a full install on your system

I also found that Broadcom cards are notorious for not working well with linux. Please tell me exactly what laptop brand and model you have so I can see if there is any info on your exact card.

On another note, my wifes laptop has a broadcom wireless card, and while it did not seem to work with the live cd, it worked find after installing to the hard drive.
__________________
The smallest good deed is better than the greatest intention.
Ritho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Dec 2010, 07:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,118
Default

My LT is a Dell Inspiron 1521 with a Broadcom 440x10/100 Integrated Controller.

Will get back to you when I have installed Mint within XP.

Once again thanks for all your help.
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Dec 2010, 07:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Ritho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 1,379
Default

Are you using Mint4Win to install?
__________________
The smallest good deed is better than the greatest intention.
Ritho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Dec 2010, 07:33 PM   #14 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,118
Default

I have installed Mint 10 within Windows.

I have found bcmwl etc in the Synaptic PM and it also lists 3 others to apply:
dkms, fakeroot and patch.

Should I apply all 4?
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Dec 2010, 07:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Ritho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 1,379
Default

Yes, those are dependencies. I am here for you!
__________________
The smallest good deed is better than the greatest intention.
Ritho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Dec 2010, 07:40 PM   #16 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,118
Default

All 4 failed to apply or rather 'failed to fetch...' and 'could not resolve archive.ubuntu .com'.
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Dec 2010, 07:43 PM   #17 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Ritho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 1,379
Default

Are you connected to the internet using lan?
__________________
The smallest good deed is better than the greatest intention.
Ritho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Dec 2010, 07:47 PM   #18 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,118
Default

My wireless router is a Siemens SE 587 WLAN DSL.
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Dec 2010, 07:51 PM   #19 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Ritho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 1,379
Default

the message "could not resolve archive.ubuntu.com" is occuring because it is trying to connect to the internet. You will have to plug a cable into your laptop and into the router to begin with. Do you use skype or instant messaging or anything?
__________________
The smallest good deed is better than the greatest intention.
Ritho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Dec 2010, 07:56 PM   #20 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,118
Default

I don't have Skype or use any IM.

I will have a try tomorrow morning regarding wiring my LT directly; sorry but cannot stay on anymore today.
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.