Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08. Feb 2011, 07:05 PM   #111 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,335
Default

I had an issue a day ago or two where my monitor kind of freaked out. It was blurry, buzzy, and otherwise almost unreadable. I did what I normally do with Windoze and just rebooted. Everything was fine afterwards.

When in doubt, reboot....
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Feb 2011, 07:51 PM   #112 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall View Post

When in doubt, reboot....
Yes, maybe tomorrow will be another day.

I did have another issue yesterday. The the power inhibit icon went all "ghost" on me. It wouldn't delete, left a trail in the panel and even after running the "killall" command I got a message when trying to shut down that the thing was still running. A couple of reboots fixed this so I'll see how I go.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Feb 2011, 05:44 PM   #113 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,335
Default Mint and Opera

I installed Opera last night via the software manager. Upon running it for the first time, Opera told me that there was a newer version. I downloaded a new Opera file and double-clicked it to install the newer version. However, a message came up that said something about it being better to use software manager to update your Opera, so I quit the installation.

Now, upon trying to update the software manager, I get the following error:



Any suggestions?
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Feb 2011, 06:15 PM   #114 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Jeff91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 58
Default

Crack open a terminal and run:

Code:
wget -O - http://deb.opera.com/archive.key | sudo apt-key add -
Cheers,
~Jeff
__________________
Bodhi Linux - Minimalistic & Enlightened - http://bodhilinux.com/
Jeff91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Feb 2011, 06:48 PM   #115 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,335
Default

Here's what the response was to your suggestion:

Quote:
kendall@kendall-Pavilion-dv8000-ES184AV ~ $ wget -0 - http://deb.opera.com/archive.key | sudo apt-key add -
[sudo] password for kendall: wget: invalid option -- '0'
gpg: no valid OpenPGP data found.
Is that a zero or a capital O?
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Feb 2011, 06:53 PM   #116 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,335
Default

Ok. I thought it was a zero. So, I changed it to a capital O and here's what I got:

Quote:
kendall@kendall-Pavilion-dv8000-ES184AV ~ $ wget -O - http://deb.opera.com/archive.key | sudo apt-key add -
--2011-02-13 10:51:24-- http://deb.opera.com/archive.key
Resolving deb.opera.com... 195.189.143.183
Connecting to deb.opera.com|195.189.143.183|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 2437 (2.4K) [application/pgp-keys]
Saving to: `STDOUT'

100%[======================================>] 2,437 --.-K/s in 0.002s

2011-02-13 10:51:24 (977 KB/s) - written to stdout [2437/2437]

OK
Now, can you explain what that command was and what it actually did?

Thanks.
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Feb 2011, 07:17 PM   #117 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Jeff91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 58
Default

apt uses gpg keys (really a poor form of security IMO, it was added after the fact) to "verify" packages from debian repositories. The fact that every Tom, Dick, and Harry has a GPG key it is kinda pointless.

Basically that command tells your package manager to trust the opera repo.

~Jeff
__________________
Bodhi Linux - Minimalistic & Enlightened - http://bodhilinux.com/
Jeff91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Feb 2011, 05:19 AM   #118 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,335
Default Linux Mint & Opera Question

Ok. I'm trying out Opera to compare it to Firefox on Mint. I have an old laptop so I'm trying to see which is faster. I have version 10.62 (Build 6438). When I check for updates under "Help" it says that there is a newer version of Opera. (In addition, none of the extensions like WOT or LastPass work in this version.)

However, it says it is better to use the software manager to update your Opera. So, I haven't updated. Yet, after having it installed for a couple days, the software manager has not given me an upgrade/update for Opera.

I'd really like to upgrade to the newer version (I think it's 11.0) and be able to use at least WOT and LastPass. Should I use the built in Opera update or wait for software manager to update it?


One other question--I'd like to import my Firefox bookmarks into Opera, but I can't find where Linux saves my Firefox bookmarks. Where are they?
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Feb 2011, 07:29 AM   #119 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,845
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall View Post
I'd really like to upgrade to the newer version (I think it's 11.0) and be able to use at least WOT and LastPass. Should I use the built in Opera update or wait for software manager to update it?
The software manager relies on the repository which still has not had the latest version of Opera. I downloaded the latest version from Opera's website to install it.

Here are the steps I followed: Right click the Opera's debian file downloaded and select "Open with GDebi Package Installer". Click "Close" to clear the message that says "An older version is available...", then click "Install Package" to install the latest version.

Quote:
One other question--I'd like to import my Firefox bookmarks into Opera, but I can't find where Linux saves my Firefox bookmarks. Where are they?
You can export your bookmarks in Firefox to an HTML file in a folder. Then in Opera, go Menu > Bookmarks > Manage Bookmarks > File > Import Firefox Bookmarks, then select the above HTML file to import.

Hope this helps.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Feb 2011, 07:32 AM   #120 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,285
Default

If I'm correct, this advisory is because the versions obtained via Software Manager have all been tested and certified to be working OK. This is not the case with newer versions so these might possibly cause some system conflicts.

You can export your Firefox bookmarks to an HTML file and then import using Opera from that.

Go to bookmarks, show all bookmarks, import & backup, export HTML.

Hope this helps

** Just noticed that Jojo got here fractionally before me!
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.