Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12. Oct 2010, 09:50 AM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bodis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 173
Default

How did you get Firefox working without a lag? Did you do any tweaking like disabling IPv6 and the rest that are all over the internet or did it just work fine from the box?

Just want to know if this is hardware related or a general linux problem. My firefox was really slow in ubuntu 10.04 and in PCLOS. I tried some of the tricks on the net but it increased the load time but not the browsing speed.

MC, how was your experience switching from pcls to ubuntu? I assume you have dual boot system in place.

regards
bodis
bodis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Oct 2010, 10:50 AM   #12 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,810
Default

It just works fine out from the box after installation on a PC with connection to Internet via a modem router. It also works on another PC with connection via a LAN, but I needed to do some settings such as IP address, etc, which is about the same as I did for Windows.

Once the connection is up, both FF and Chrome run smoothly for me on Ubuntu.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Oct 2010, 11:11 AM   #13 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bodis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 173
Default

Interesting, on my laptop with 10.04 firefox is very slow in rendering pages. I mean VERY slow. Did you experience that on 10.04 as well or has it always been fine for you?

Well if all else fails I will just install opera I guess.
bodis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Oct 2010, 02:51 PM   #14 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bodis View Post
Interesting, on my laptop with 10.04 firefox is very slow in rendering pages. I mean VERY slow. Did you experience that on 10.04 as well or has it always been fine for you?

Well if all else fails I will just install opera I guess.
It has always been fine for FF on Ubuntu to me. You might want to try out Chrome as well.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Oct 2010, 03:19 PM   #15 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,810
Default

Now I'm running on Ubuntu 10.10 and write this post from the default browser Firefox 3.6.10.

The installation process was quicker and smoother than its previous version 10.04, particularly no more longer waiting time when it was about to finish installation, of course, with the default settings.

For this new version, while it asks you to enter location, username and password, it shows you that it continues to copy files from the ISO image to your harddisk.

A quick try to move the top panel to bottom and change the window control buttons from left to right using the Tips and Tricks as a guide and they work well so far.

Run the default Rhythmbox Music Player, it immediately tells you that you've not installed mp3 codec (I followed the default setting without opting for installing it during the installation of Ubuntu 10.10). It thus is smarter than the previous version.

Run the default video player and try to play an mp4, and it prompts me to install h.264 and mpeg4 acc decoders too. Hmmm, this round it says:

"Failed to fetch certain files... from repository ..." for a couple of times.

Looks like this problem is due to the server being busy according to this Ubuntu forum.

Will try it later and report back...
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Oct 2010, 06:12 PM   #16 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bodis View Post

MC, how was your experience switching from pcls to ubuntu? I assume you have dual boot system in place.
Nope, figured if I was going to go for it I might as well live with it as a single installation so I wiped the other completely

Firefox for me was fine but I prefer Chromium which is like lightening. I did also set up Opera and Seamonkey because I fancied the idea of an integrated mail client but didn't really like Opera and after just a day Seamonkey started running CPU at 50% and freezing so now I'm using Thunderbird. Heavens above too, the new mail notification works with Thunderbird which was another nerve racking experience to achieve with previous distros.

My mobile broadband also works without issue alongside the fixed cable connection and I can swap between the two easily. With 9.04 and 9.10 my tech spent ages scripting the mobile broadband to work and even then the Network Manager used to throw out the connection whenever it felt like it.

Now here's a funny thing. Also downloaded the KDE version Kubuntu and ran it from a live CD. The mobile broadband which was always a pain to set up connects out straight away but it doesn't see my wired connection. How daft is that? So, overall Ubuntu has the edge for me over Kubuntu unless you need more fancy graphics with your games.

Conclusion: So far still a winning experience
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Oct 2010, 10:02 PM   #17 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bodis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 173
Default

Well I have just tried MEPIS from live USB and to my disappointment it has failed to find my wireless card so that was that... Back to PCLOS at the moment trying it out and cant decide if to switch back to ubuntu or not. Had a bad experience trying to install opera yesterday but chromium installed without no problem, I think I need extra repositories for opera.

Decisions Decisions...

I just cant understand why my machine is slow on firefox when everyone elses seems to be fine.
bodis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Oct 2010, 11:38 PM   #18 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

My sincere apologies Jojoyee.

I will follow the link you provided with instructions on how to move the top panel to the bottom. Its hard to change old windows habits

Other than that I have not seen any chinks in the armour. Its worrying because I'm expecting the shoe to drop but as of now no problems at all. (Knock on wood).

As I mentioned in the earlier post, the install was flawless tying up all the loose ends during the process. I have been installing software using ubuntu's installer as well as synaptics. Which brings up a question. Have you experienced any problems with software coming from the synapitc installer?

I plan on booting into Ubuntu as much as possible for awhile so I can take it for a thorough test drive. I will be sure to ask for help if I hit the wall.
So far this has been like playing with a new toy

Cheers
Wdhpr
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Oct 2010, 12:53 AM   #19 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Well this didnt take long.

I attempted to enable the windows 7 superbar and I ran into a dependecie error as follows:

Selecting previously deselected package dockbarx.
(Reading database ... 154880 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking dockbarx (from dockbarx_0.30.0-0~ppa0_all.deb) ...
Selecting previously deselected package gnome-dockbarx-applet.
Unpacking gnome-dockbarx-applet (from gnome-dockbarx-applet_0.30.0-0~ppa0_all.deb) ...
dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of dockbarx:
dockbarx depends on python-gnome2-desktop; however:
Package python-gnome2-desktop is not installed.
dpkg: error processing dockbarx (--install):
dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of gnome-dockbarx-applet:
gnome-dockbarx-applet depends on dockbarx; however:
Package dockbarx is not configured yet.
dpkg: error processing gnome-dockbarx-applet (--install):
dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
Errors were encountered while processing:
dockbarx
gnome-dockbarx-applet

From what I'm seeing its depends on the python-gnome2-desktop being installed. What I found and installed was python-gnome2-desktop dev. After which I still recieved the above error.

Cheers
Wdhpr
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Oct 2010, 01:28 AM   #20 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wdhpr View Post
... I have been installing software using ubuntu's installer as well as synaptics. Which brings up a question. Have you experienced any problems with software coming from the synapitc installer?
You're welcome wdhpr.

More often I install software via Ubuntu Software Center as that's more straight forward and user friendly, but I also use Synaptic Package Manager when I need to deal with some package details.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.