Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26. Jul 2010, 03:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Ritho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 1,379
Default Peppermint OS

Thought some of you might find this interesting. http://peppermintos.com/ It is another ubuntu based distro with a twist. Kind of a jolicloud / desktop mix. It has a focus on allowing easy installation of both cloud based apps as well as normal desktop apps. Has good boot times and is fairly light weight at 512MB. I am testing it on my netbook currently.
__________________
The smallest good deed is better than the greatest intention.
Ritho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Aug 2011, 08:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,305
Default

Peppermint2 has been out for a couple of months now but I haven't had a chance to run it until now.
There's been a lot of changes and I liked what I saw sufficiently enough to install it. The Ubuntu installer made easy meat of a dual boot with my XP and the Software Manager soon pulled in the extras I needed.

There's obviously been quite a lot of work put into this release and their helpful forum makes this distro well worth a look.
Peppermint2.jpg
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Aug 2011, 02:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 78
Default

Does it have a LiveCD version suitable for running from a usb stick?
syntax_error is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Aug 2011, 07:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,305
Default

Yes it does

Another interesting point is that one of the Peppermint devs has posted on their forum that the Gnome Network Manager (which they use) is the best currently available. This doesn't surprise me after my attempts at wrestling with the mess called KDE Network Manager. Suffice to say that Peppermint configured both my DSL and mobile broadband connections without issue.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Dec 2011, 02:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,340
Default Assistance Needed

All of a sudden, I can't play java games on either Firefox or Chrome on my Peppermint OS! I'm not sure what caused it as I've been able to in the past.

I'm wondering if a recent update to either Peppermint or the browsers have caused this problem?

For example, one of the links that I like to play is:

http://www.xxxxxsdelight.net/fortythieves.html (the word here is i d i o t s d e l i g h t [dot] n e t)

or, you can go to the main site and try any of the online card/solitaire games.

Can someone please walk me through debugging my OS to figure out why the java plug-in is not working?

Thanks.
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Dec 2011, 02:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,340
Default

One more hopefully quick question for Peppermint....

How do you make a desktop shortcut? I have Softmaker 2008 installed but when it installed it did not make a menu shortcut OR a desktop icon. I can navigate to the appropriate folder and find the files and double-click them and all 3 programs open fine. But, I tried copy/pasting the exe files to my desktop and they wouldn't run?
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Dec 2011, 03:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall View Post
One more hopefully quick question for Peppermint....

How do you make a desktop shortcut? I have Softmaker 2008 installed but when it installed it did not make a menu shortcut OR a desktop icon. I can navigate to the appropriate folder and find the files and double-click them and all 3 programs open fine. But, I tried copy/pasting the exe files to my desktop and they wouldn't run?
Its somewhat different to do this in linux.

I have not used Peppermint but its supposed to be based on Ubuntu. To create a desktop shortcut I find it easier to first add the item to my start menu then add that item to the desktop or panel.

Right click menu button select edit menu go to the section that has the programs you want to add to you desktop right click on the application and select add to desktop or to panel.

For another method look HERE

Last edited by wdhpr; 26. Dec 2011 at 03:41 PM.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Dec 2011, 06:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,340
Default

Thanks wdhpr, but neither of your suggestions appear to work in Peppermint. Right clicking on the menu does not appear to give you the option of adding programs to the menu. And, when I right click on the desktop, "create launcher" is not an option.
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Dec 2011, 04:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Probably something to do with Unity.
I'm still using Mint Julia and will continue to do so until I have no choice or until they stop trying to reinvent the wheel (so to speak)
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Dec 2011, 04:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,340
Default

What's odd is that I booted into Mint Julia (dual-boot system with Mint Julia and Peppermint) and the same issue is there. It doesn't matter if I use FF, Chrome, or even Opera; I have the same issue. I can't get this page to display properly:

http://www.i d i o t sdelight.net/fortythieves.html (no spaces)

It worked fine in both OS's a week ago?!

Can you please see if you can access the page and if a card game pops up?

I'm pretty sure that it has something to do with a java plug-in.

P.S. I can get to the site/game fine on my Windows 7 machine.
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.