Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26. Feb 2010, 06:52 PM   #21 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default

I saw this on Linux Mint site under Known Issues. Can someone explain what this means?

Quote:
Because of compatibility issues between wubi/mint4win and grub2, Linux Mint 8 comes without a Windows installer. The development team is working on the issue and new ISOs will be published when it is resolved.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Feb 2010, 02:44 AM   #22 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,810
Default

For Ubuntu, it supports a Windows-based Installer called Wubi as described in this article Easy Way to Install Ubuntu - from within Windows.

Mint probably also has a similar Windows Installer. I'm not sure as I've not tried out Mint.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Feb 2010, 04:48 AM   #23 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default

Ah OK, thanks for the explanation Jojo. I don't need that, so I think I can safely download Linux Mint .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Mar 2010, 03:48 AM   #24 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Ah OK, thanks for the explanation Jojo. I don't need that, so I think I can safely download Linux Mint .

How is Mint working for you. I had a hard time with Mint because of hardware driver issues

Cheers
Wdhpr
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Mar 2010, 07:21 AM   #25 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default

I just downloaded Mint yesterday. Because of my slow internet, it took 14 hours to download. I will try to install it, and then get back .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Mar 2010, 10:15 AM   #26 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default

OK, I just had a live CD session with Linux Mint on my old PC. I had an intention to install it on the hard disk, but I noticed that I do not have a network card on the old PC . So, the installation will have to wait till I buy a network card.

Boot from the CD was painfully slow. The desktop took forever to load. First, there was no boot menu as I was expecting. Maybe because this is a special fluxbox release. Also, the hard disk has nothing on it presently. Anyways, when I put in the CD, and booted, automatic booting started. The Linux Mint logo came up, and it was there on the screen for a long long time, while the CD just rotated inside the drive. The optical drive is also an old one, its a combo, so it makes noise when it works. Maybe things were slow because of the optical drive too. Anyways, after a long time of waiting, the logo went away, and then after some more waiting, the desktop came up.

There was no problem with the display. My hard disk, and optical drive were detected. I plugged in a pen drive, and it was detected, and mounted, and I was able to browse the files without any problem.

I was wondering, how would I be able to install, when there was no boot menu when the CD booted. But, the install option is there, on the desktop. I found it strange though. The install option should have been there on the boot menu.

I hope to buy the network card tomorrow, and then I will try to install. I think installation should be without problems, although I suspect things will be slow with the old hardware. I will give it a try. Things were slower while using live CD. Should be a bit faster once its installed on the hard disk.

I will put Crunchbang Linux on download too, in case I feel Linux Mint is slower on my download. Will give Crunchbang a try then. If I don't like it too, then I might just go with Puppy Linux .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Mar 2010, 08:50 PM   #27 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
1002richards's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sussex, UK.
Posts: 197
Default

Hi,
I installed Mint Fluxbox from the menu option rather than from boot menu & it went OK - so hopefully it'll be OK for you too.

Richard
1002richards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Mar 2010, 09:14 PM   #28 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default

Thanks Richard. Ya, it should be OK to install from the desktop too.

I had found an old network card, and I wanted to test it out. So, I had again booted the system from the CD and this time, when it says to automatically boot, I hit the space bar, and then I got the boot menu, with various options. Install option was there too. Also, from the options I noticed, that the boot was selected to be a quiet one. That's why the logo stayed on the screen, while various process ran in the background. I am sure, that if I remove the quiet option, the logo would go and the process would become verbose. So, some more things I learned this time.

But, I think the boot menu options should be presented on screen by default, and automatic boot message should be there along with it, so a user can choose either. Presently, a newbie to Linux Mint won't know that a boot menu can be seen by hitting a key. Atleast I was not able to figure it out the first time.

Unfortunately, the network card was bad. So, I will have to get a new network card.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Mar 2010, 09:08 PM   #29 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default

I bought a new network card. Works well. The network card is really plug-and-play. Its driverless, and there was no driver CD with it. Great!

Today, I went ahead with Linux Mint install. The installation was successful, without any trouble, but when I booted from the disk, the boot failed with this error : no such disk UUID.

I then read up on Grub2, and found a command list, by which I was able to boot into the hard disk. Now, I am writing this post from Linux Mint . But, the problem at boot still exists. I can only boot by using the command list.

On boot time, at the Grub2 command line menu, when I type "ls", it outputs :
(hd0) (hd0,1)
error : out of disk

I looked up the error : out of disk, and many people have reported this error, and it may be a bug. I have found a solution, and I will try it, and see if it works.

About Linux Mint on my PC, apart from the boot, things seem good.

There is no problem with graphics, or video. Its fine.
The network card was detected, and I managed to set up static IP on it, and I am able to connect to the internet successfully.
The sound does not work though . I don't think it detected the on-board sound. I get two choices of sound mixers, but none of them work. I am able to hear the headphone noise, when its silent, but I cannot hear any sound when I play an MP3. Linux Mint supports MP3 out of the box, so I don't think there is any problem with the codec.
If anyone knows how to get the sound, please do share.

Things are a bit slow, but with an old system like this, you can't expect things to be fast. Its P-III 550 MHz, with 384 MB RAM .

I have downloaded Crunchbang Linux too. I had tried the live CD, and it seems good too. Took just 90 MB of memory. I may try to install it too, after I have played around with Linux Mint for a while, or if I continue to get boot errors.
As Crunchbang is based on Ubuntu like Linux Mint, and must be using Grub2, so I am not very optimistic, that things will go well with Crunchbang. Grub2 is still in beta, so I wonder if they should really use Grub2 at this stage. Using the legacy grub would have been good.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Mar 2010, 02:40 AM   #30 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Quote:
The sound does not work though
I had that problem with Mint.....driver issue I think. I experienced difficulties connecting to the internet as well. I solved the internet problem but not the sound issue. Gave up and tried Debian. Well that didnt work out either. I think thats when I tried mepis (which I stayed with). I had tried Ubuntu and Mandriva prior to Mint.

PS: Have you tried Puppy yet?

Cheers
Wdhpr

Last edited by wdhpr; 04. Mar 2010 at 02:43 AM.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.