Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21. Apr 2009, 12:19 PM   #61 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 3rd largest island, smallest country there.
Posts: 229
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tony View Post
I admire your patients, but wouldn't it have been easier to get a mate to download it for you. I have an excuse as my nearest neighbours or a mile away and they have no idea on downloading etc, plus most still are on dial up. They have been putting broadband access lately in these Welsh hills and mountains.

Keep on trucking

Tony
Asking someone else to do it may make things easier but I don't like asking others to do my bidding. Apart from that, the download is completed. I've check the md5sum and it seems I have the right and complete copy (don't know what I'll do if something goes wrong there). I burned it to a CD and booted it and here comes the good part!

Or shall I say bad part... While booting, there's something that looked like DOS and it keep saying something like "could not allocate resources" and "error reading this" and "could not find that" and "unable to do this" and "error doing that" etc... Not sure what happened but after a while, I pressed Ctrl+Alt+Del (don't know why), Ctrl+Alt+Backspace (that's how you exit JWM in Puppy, thought it might do something here) and Ctrl+Alt+F1 (for trouble shooting in MEPIS) and then after a little while, it restarted and eject the disk out.

Anyone encountered this problem before?
bk_7312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Apr 2009, 02:22 PM   #62 (permalink)
Foundation Editor
 
tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lincolnshire (unfortunately)
Posts: 153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bk_7312 View Post
Asking someone else to do it may make things easier but I don't like asking others to do my bidding. Apart from that, the download is completed. I've check the md5sum and it seems I have the right and complete copy (don't know what I'll do if something goes wrong there). I burned it to a CD and booted it and here comes the good part!

Or shall I say bad part... While booting, there's something that looked like DOS and it keep saying something like "could not allocate resources" and "error reading this" and "could not find that" and "unable to do this" and "error doing that" etc... Not sure what happened but after a while, I pressed Ctrl+Alt+Del (don't know why), Ctrl+Alt+Backspace (that's how you exit JWM in Puppy, thought it might do something here) and Ctrl+Alt+F1 (for trouble shooting in MEPIS) and then after a little while, it restarted and eject the disk out.

Anyone encountered this problem before?
My first reaction is possibly that the disk hasn't burnt properly. When you burn a disk always burn it at the slowest rate. Thats my experience, because every time I have just burnt without looking I have problems. So now I just burn sloooowllllyyyy Then re-load Mepis and see what happens.

I am trying to think what else would help you. But with Linux, you never know what its going to throw up. All I can suggest is ask the Mepis forum. They are helpfull people and would guide you better possible. I have five computers for the photo club (now getting rid of) and each one has different Linux 'cause each one behaved differently to the distro's.

Tony
tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Apr 2009, 12:26 PM   #63 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 3rd largest island, smallest country there.
Posts: 229
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tony View Post
My first reaction is possibly that the disk hasn't burnt properly. When you burn a disk always burn it at the slowest rate. Thats my experience, because every time I have just burnt without looking I have problems. So now I just burn sloooowllllyyyy Then re-load Mepis and see what happens.

I am trying to think what else would help you. But with Linux, you never know what its going to throw up. All I can suggest is ask the Mepis forum. They are helpfull people and would guide you better possible. I have five computers for the photo club (now getting rid of) and each one has different Linux 'cause each one behaved differently to the distro's.

Tony
I always burn my disks at the fastest possible speed and I haven't encounter a problem before. After checking with MEPIS 8 user manual, there was a particular part which reads:

Troubleshooting

If you verified the md5sum of the ISO before you burned, but the CD-ROM you burned is no good:

* Try burning again at a slower speed.
* Try another blank disk.

Maybe that's why... But first thing's first, buy more CDs, just used my last one.
bk_7312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25. Apr 2009, 02:06 PM   #64 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 3rd largest island, smallest country there.
Posts: 229
Default

Good news, bought some CDs (yesterday), burned them at the lowest speed and test everything. There was no sound problem, figured out how to configure internet access, tried most applications and stuff and everything seems to be in working order. The only problem I've faced was with partitioning the hard disk, I can't seem to create an extended partition (don't know why) and I ended up creating only one partition (for root) so, no swap or home. Can't seem to create anymore partitions after creating one for root.

Right now, I'm typing this post using MEPIS and everything works GREAT. It's better that Puppy, more configurable, has more wallpaper and screensaver choices, very flexible and quite fast. There's only one thing I regretted, I installed GRUB in the MBR. I also miss Puppy's 30sec boot time.

One last thing, why does MEPIS shows my hard disks as hda while Puppy shows them as sda? I have also asked that question elsewhere with no luck after reading wdhpr's post about installing MEPIS.
bk_7312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25. Apr 2009, 02:58 PM   #65 (permalink)
Foundation Editor
 
tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lincolnshire (unfortunately)
Posts: 153
Default

Great that you have it running, but you may need to re-load if you don't have a SWAP and a Home partition. With MEPIS you partition before loading and its provided with a partition manager for you to do this. So my statement BK is to re-load and ensure you partition properly. Someone else may tell you how to do this without loading. Try and see (as I can't remember) if there is a partition manager in the menu, but I am sure its a re-load.

But it did work now you have SLOWLY burnt the disk which is great

Tony
tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25. Apr 2009, 06:57 PM   #66 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Thumbs up Now your cooking. Just missed a couple of ingredients

Quote:
One last thing, why does MEPIS shows my hard disks as hda while Puppy shows them as sda? I have also asked that question elsewhere with no luck after reading wdhpr's post about installing MEPIS.
I am not sure why your partions are labelled hda vice sda but is important to get them right as to how they are labelled.

Installing grub to your mbr is not such a great idea. It has made my mbr into a tossed salad more than once.
That is why I downloaded the winxp restore console to restore my mbr. All I have is restore disks for my computer the restore console didn't come with them
If you have winxp disks. Not restore disks that come with most new computers. they can be used to restore your mbr you can even use win98 disks.

My advice is restore your mbr. do a reinstall of mepis. But First try using a disk manager and create yourself a 1 to 1 1/2 gig partition. Make sure its the ext3 file system. This will be your swap drive when you reinstall mepis

Now reinstall mepis. When you install mepis the installer will ask which partion you want to install the root to. That will be the large partition you created when you previously installed mepis . Then pick the smaller partion You should have created for your swap drive.

GRUB Do yourself a favor and install it to your linux root partition. This choice is made during the mepis install.

When installation is completed you will have to boot back into linux using your mepis cd.

use the super console in the system menu the root password is the one you assigned during install. Remember use the partion label to replace the drive label in the below command. leave out the " quotations "

This was tricky for this newbie: in Konsole, type:
"dd if=/dev/hda2 of=/bootsect.lnx bs=512 count=1"

This will create a bootsect.lnx file. I used the file search tool to find the damn thing. Copy the file to a floppy or usb stick. Boot back into windows. This file (bootsect.lnx)will go right into your windows c:/ directory when you boot back into windows.

Now edit your boot.ini its a hidden file so enable "show hidden files" to find it. Do yourself a favor and make a backup of the boot.ini

This is what you boot.ini should look like after editing:

[boot loader]
timeout=15
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S

[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Home Edition" /FASTDETECT
C:\CMDCONS\BOOTSECT.DAT="Microsoft Windows Recovery Console" /cmdcons
C:\bootsect.lnx="mepis linux"


I had to add the line: "timeout=15" so it would load the boot options at start up.

I also had to add: "C:\bootsect.lnx="mepis linux"

I did not have to edit any other part of my boot.ini

That's it.

Restart windows and it should\will give the option to boot to mepis.

Cheers
Wdhpr

Last edited by wdhpr; 25. Apr 2009 at 07:00 PM.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Apr 2009, 03:18 AM   #67 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 3rd largest island, smallest country there.
Posts: 229
Default

Here's the thing, when I ran GParted (the partitioner in MEPIS), I found 2 primary partitions already there. hda1 (primary) is 2GB, contains some files I've never heard of, assumed to be some important files, hda2 (originally 26GB, primary) is now 21GB, contains XP system files and program files, hda4 is an extended partition which contains hda5 (originally 27GB, logical) is now 21GB.

Then I create hda3 (12GB, primary), after that, I cannot create anymore partitions, says I can only have at most, 4 primary partitions. The strangest thing was that I can't make hda3 to be logical or extended, the program won't let me. I was forced to create hda3 as primary and after that, no more.

Regarding GRUB in MBR, I didn't know exactly what the difference is but the installer recommended MBR.

This is how my boot.ini looked like:

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect

The thing I want to highlight is the partition(2). Other computers I've seen have partition(1) like yours. Note that the computer I'm using is a second-hand computer (3 years old) and I have no idea what the previous owner did to it.

One last thing, how do I uninstall MEPIS? I've heard somewhere that you just shrink its partition to zero or delete it but what will happen to GRUB?
bk_7312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Apr 2009, 04:21 AM   #68 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default Lets take a breath and breathe.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bk_7312 View Post
Here's the thing, when I ran GParted (the partitioner in MEPIS), I found 2 primary partitions already there. hda1 (primary) is 2GB, contains some files I've never heard of, assumed to be some important files, hda2 (originally 26GB, primary) is now 21GB, contains XP system files and program files, hda4 is an extended partition which contains hda5 (originally 27GB, logical) is now 21GB.

Then I create hda3 (12GB, primary), after that, I cannot create anymore partitions, says I can only have at most, 4 primary partitions. The strangest thing was that I can't make hda3 to be logical or extended, the program won't let me. I was forced to create hda3 as primary and after that, no more.

Regarding GRUB in MBR, I didn't know exactly what the difference is but the installer recommended MBR.

This is how my boot.ini looked like:

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect

The thing I want to highlight is the partition(2). Other computers I've seen have partition(1) like yours. Note that the computer I'm using is a second-hand computer (3 years old) and I have no idea what the previous owner did to it.

One last thing, how do I uninstall MEPIS? I've heard somewhere that you just shrink its partition to zero or delete it but what will happen to GRUB?
Fist I have to ask
Do you have a original Image of your system?

What is the physical size of your hardrive?

I will need to know this! Any linux people out there looking at this. Feel free to comment.

It looks like the puppy linux install created the primary partition. Your windows should be the primary. Your linux partitions should be extended.
Right click the computer icon and scroll to manage. Then find the drive manager. You should see your partitions The options should allow you to change drive priorities. Change hda2 as primary then hda1, and hda4 as extended.
FYI I am writing this on mepis and instructing this by memory only.

You will need to reboot now.

You will need to answer my questions before going further. Also after your done rebooting tell me what the media manager shows concerning partition priority.

Cheers
Wdhpr

Last edited by wdhpr; 26. Apr 2009 at 04:29 AM.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Apr 2009, 04:39 AM   #69 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

I'm sorry bk_7312

I't appears you are new to partitioning hard drives. Its a serious thing being done to the hardrive! and needs to be done with care. A quality free disc/drive manager would aslo be helpfull. We may be able to save your hard drive. OTHERS Can chip in

cheers
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Apr 2009, 07:02 AM   #70 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 3rd largest island, smallest country there.
Posts: 229
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wdhpr View Post
Fist I have to ask
Do you have a original Image of your system?

What is the physical size of your hardrive?

I will need to know this! Any linux people out there looking at this. Feel free to comment.

It looks like the puppy linux install created the primary partition. Your windows should be the primary. Your linux partitions should be extended.
Right click the computer icon and scroll to manage. Then find the drive manager. You should see your partitions The options should allow you to change drive priorities. Change hda2 as primary then hda1, and hda4 as extended.
FYI I am writing this on mepis and instructing this by memory only.

You will need to reboot now.

You will need to answer my questions before going further. Also after your done rebooting tell me what the media manager shows concerning partition priority.

Cheers
Wdhpr
Um... did I do something wrong?

First, let me clarify that I didn't install Puppy ON the hard disk. Instead, I boot using the liveCD and puppy saves all my files and settings in a 512MB file in my hard disk that is harmless to XP. Secondly, I've downloaded and installed Easeus partition Home edition just now. I can't upload the screenshot due to the forums limit so I'll describe it here.

Disk 1 - 55.88GB

Partition-----type----size------used------unused------status----pri/log
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
*:---------FAT32---1.95GB----1.45GB----516.35MB----none----primary
C:---------FAT32---21.03GB---13.95GB---7.08GB-----system---primary
D:---------Fat32----21.07GB---13.89GB---7.19GB-----none-----logical
*:---------other----11.84GB----11.84GB---0bytes-----none-----primary

Note: the partition with type as "others" is hda3, C: is hda2, D: is hda5, the mysterious 2GB drive is hda1, it's unlikely to be made by puppy because of its content which consist of .sys, .exe, .bat, .bin, .com files which I think puppy can't run.

In windows disk management:

hda1, labeled PQSERVICE, has the status : Healthy (EISA Configuration)
hda2 has the status : Healthy (system)
hda5 has the status : Healthy
hda3 has the status : Healthy (unknown partition)

All type are basic.

Also, I do not have the original image of my system. I don't know what the previous owner did to this computer because the files in hda1 are created in 199x and most of them are last modified in 2003, 2004. Maybe it has something to do with EISA Configuration (don't know what it is) and why is it labeled PQSERVICE? Does it stand for something?
bk_7312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.