Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13. Feb 2018, 10:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,087
Default CPU fluctuation a sign of what?

Is CPU fluctuation sign of incompatibilities?

System: Host: dan Kernel: 4.13.0-1-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3
Distro: MX-17.b3_x64 Horizon November 29, 2017
Machine: Device: laptop System: Hewlett-Packard product: HP EliteBook 8460p v: A0001D02 serial: N/A
Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 161C v: KBC Version 97.4E serial: N/A
BIOS: Hewlett-Packard v: 68SCF Ver. F.65 date: 04/06/2017
Battery BAT0: charge: 39.1 Wh 98.7% condition: 39.6/39.6 Wh (100%)
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i5-2520M (-MT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
clock speeds: max: 3200 MHz 1: 2494 MHz 2: 2494 MHz 3: 2494 MHz 4: 2494 MHz
Graphics: Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Seymour [Radeon HD 6400M/7400M Series]
Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.2 )
drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
Resolution: 1600x900@60.00hz, 1680x1050@59.95hz
OpenGL: renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD CAICOS (DRM 2.50.0 / 4.13.0-1-amd64, LLVM 3.9.1)
version: 3.3 Mesa 13.0.6
Audio: Card-1 Intel 6 Series/C200 Series Family High Def. Audio Controller
driver: snd_hda_intel
Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Caicos HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 6450 / 7450/8450/8490 OEM / R5 230/235/235X OEM]
driver: snd_hda_intel
Card-3 Logitech Headset H390 driver: USB Audio
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.13.0-1-amd64
Network: Card-1: Intel 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection driver: e1000e
IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: e4:11:5b:26:66:28
Card-2: Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205 [Taylor Peak] driver: iwlwifi
IF: wlan0 state: down mac: da:c4:0a:e4:7d:a7
Drives: HDD Total Size: 240.1GB (2.6% used)
ID-1: /dev/sda model: PNY_CS1311_240GB size: 240.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 55G used: 5.8G (11%) fs: btrfs dev: /dev/sda3
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 55.0C mobo: 52.0C gpu: 55.5
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info: Processes: 237 Uptime: 2:39 Memory: 3030.0/16001.3MB Client: Shell (init) inxi: 2.3.54
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Feb 2018, 01:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,118
Default

How long have you had the current CPU? Have you ever cleaned the CPU fan? Is CPU temperature within the correct operating range? Also, try running Memtest to see if your PC's memory is OK.
My CPU is running at 34 C (Intel 2 core Quad Q8400) after I recently cleared a lot of dust from the fan.
NB If you do clean the dust, use dust-off and not a brush or vacuum cleaner as any static discharge could fry your CPU!
I didn't see any mention of your PSU: this is a really crucial part of any PC setup. This link will help you calculate whether or not you have the right PSU for your system: https://outervision.com/power-supply-calculator

HTH

Torres
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Feb 2018, 02:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,186
Default

My Toshiba i5 laptop also runs around this temperature whereas my LG AIO desktop i5 runs between 34-37 when not under heavy load.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Feb 2018, 04:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,275
Default

He is talking about CPU temperature, or CPU usage?
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Feb 2018, 05:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,118
Default

I think both!
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Feb 2018, 09:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,087
Default

Probably more CPU usage.
Often, when i look at reviews for various Linux distros, many show very low CPU usage.
Lately, MX-Linux was probably the lowest (3-6%) i've seen for my laptop (but it did take a few reboots to get it there). But it did fluctuate quite a bit before settling there.

On Windows, it hangs at about 24% (which i guess isn't that bad).

As of this writing, Solus was settling in at 4-11% (after latest updates).

Just find it odd that fluctuations on Linux can go on for some time before settling down.

p.s. have cleaned the cpu fan recently (but that's not my issue).
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Feb 2018, 02:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,087
Default

Here is a recently sample of what i mean by CPU fluctuation:
https://snag.gy/ritsEY.jpg

It was taken on LinuxMint Cinnamon 64bit
Others graphs were even more accentuated but, this instance is akin to other distros i've tested.

Just wonder why i can't get a distro that hovers at a constant 3-4 like many videos show...
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Feb 2018, 03:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,186
Default

Modern CPU's are designed to run under load and even at a constant 100% the fail rate is only likely to be a year or so less than normal which is still under the period most users junk their systems anyway.

Regarding fluctuation, no matter what the OS, things (processes) will stop and start as they are designed to do such as updates, mail checks etc., so there will never be a steady graph.

IMO the most unproductive time you can spend with computing is worrying about CPU and memory use, plus for Windows, how many registry entries you might have.

Just switch the darn thing on, play with it, install stuff and enjoy it!
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Feb 2018, 03:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,275
Default

Agreed with MC.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25. Feb 2018, 02:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,087
Default

Goccha!

Tried to post a few times, don't know what the censored word was...
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.