Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15. Apr 2017, 10:15 PM   #31 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,119
Default

Thanks MC. I should have posted my original question under the MX-16 thread. I'm a tad confused about those instructions: Menu, Control Panel etc. Are you referring to the settings within the Compiz Settings Manager?

I ran $ sudo kcmodules --unlock but got the following response: command not found.
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Apr 2017, 11:14 PM   #32 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torres-no-tan-magnifico View Post
Thanks MC. I should have posted my original question under the MX-16 thread. I'm a tad confused about those instructions: Menu, Control Panel etc. Are you referring to the settings within the Compiz Settings Manager?

I ran $ sudo kcmodules --unlock but got the following response: command not found.
Yep, got me confused with this here too because I was referring to Q4 and not MX16.
I currently don't have the MX-16 machine here because it's out on loan for the holiday and the other three only have Q4 installed.
From memory though somewhere via 'settings', 'settings manager' there is a 'window manager' and 'window specific' something settings and in one of those is the compositor on/off.
Try also running 'compiz --replace' in terminal.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.

Last edited by MidnightCowboy; 15. Apr 2017 at 11:17 PM. Reason: More detail
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Apr 2017, 12:15 AM   #33 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,119
Default

Via Settings, neither Window Manager nor Window Tweaks launches when I click on them. However, I've just noticed that if I move a window towards the edge of the screen the desktop spins to reveal another side. Does this mean the cube is working?

I knew Linux would be a steep learning curve, but I only have so much patience!
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Apr 2017, 07:34 AM   #34 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torres-no-tan-magnifico View Post
Via Settings, neither Window Manager nor Window Tweaks launches when I click on them. However, I've just noticed that if I move a window towards the edge of the screen the desktop spins to reveal another side. Does this mean the cube is working?

I knew Linux would be a steep learning curve, but I only have so much patience!
Yes, you must have Compiz operational for the cube to function. Have you added a 'pager' to the panel and tried switching desktops? Also, have you more than one theme imported into Emerald so you can switch to a different selection? Sometimes Emerald can cause issues if only one theme is installed.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Apr 2017, 01:27 PM   #35 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,119
Default

Unfortunately, things have taken a turn for the worse: since running 'compiz --replace' in the terminal my system has gone awry.

I have 3 browser windows open, but the maximise/minimise and close buttons are no longer visible ie I can't do anything with them. The same problem applies to Skype and the MX terminal. My wallpaper has also reverted back to the default MX sunset image.

I have now managed to close all 3 browser windows by going to File>Quit within the browser. I then tried to relaunch Firefox but I now can't use any of the Menu Bar headings ie File, Edit , View etc and so the browser is stuck.

The other account on the MX OS is working fine.

I recently tried making a snapshot of the system but for some reason it failed to make one on my extrernal HDD so I can't revert back to before I ran the above mentioned command. I have also, tried restarting the PC but the the weird symptoms persist.

Any help in solving this would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)

Last edited by torres-no-tan-magnifico; 16. Apr 2017 at 01:45 PM.
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Apr 2017, 02:05 PM   #36 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,236
Default

Try running `emerald --replace` in terminal. Hopefully the Emerald border decorations will return and hopefully they will stay put when you close the terminal.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Apr 2017, 02:10 PM   #37 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,119
Default

Just tried 'emerald --replace', but nothing happened and the terminal won't close.
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Apr 2017, 02:41 PM   #38 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torres-no-tan-magnifico View Post
Just tried 'emerald --replace', but nothing happened and the terminal won't close.
Looks like you have a different issue especially because the terminal won`t close. I have a cheap mini desktop that runs fine with Compiz and everything else unless I try to use a full HD monitor with it then it exhibits events similar to what you are seeing. Maybe it`s graphics related, especially if you have NVIDIA.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Apr 2017, 04:28 PM   #39 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,119
Default

There are other themes in emerald and I tried a different one, but the problems remain.

I have now, in desperation, uninstalled emerald but unfortunately, it hasn't made any difference.

I don't believe it's to do with a NVIDIA driver as everything was fine until I ran the 'compiz --replace' command and that surely can't be a coincidence, can it?

I am now thinking of uninstalling compiz to see if that helps.
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Apr 2017, 12:33 PM   #40 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torres-no-tan-magnifico View Post

I am now thinking of uninstalling compiz to see if that helps.
Like many things, Compiz was fine on the supposedly `outdated` desktops but everything since then has been a compromise to get it working again. It can also come back to bite you some time after you think you have a stable system with it. Just depends on how badly you want the bells and whistles like Emerald themes and the cube.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.