Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28. Dec 2016, 06:34 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
EldonW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Posts: 280
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melita-s View Post
I wonder why it might make an appreciable difference with a virtual machine.
When you run a virtual machine the CPU & RAM has to run 2 operating systems - the host and the client.
EldonW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Dec 2016, 06:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EldonW View Post
When you run a virtual machine the CPU & RAM has to run 2 operating systems - the host and the client.
Oops! how did I miss that one
__________________
Melita
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Dec 2016, 05:34 PM   #13 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 555
Default

Even so task manager should handle things reasonably well.
After all, most of the time it is unlikely that you will be thrashing both the real OS and the virtual OS at the same time. If you are doing so then you really shoud be using two machines anyway since a high percentage of the cpu usage would be used in controlling the processes rather than running them.
Virtual Machines are best used for brief testing purposes not long heavy processes when dedicated machines should be used.
Burn-IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Dec 2016, 06:31 PM   #14 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burn-IT View Post
After all, most of the time it is unlikely that you will be thrashing both the real OS and the virtual OS at the same time
No, I certainly wouldn't be thrashing both systems. In any event, what if I reduced the load imposed on the CPU, by the real OS as well as the Virtual OS, by making changes to the "Services" in Windows and to whatever the equivalent of it is in Linux? In Windows I have already disabled Bluetooth, Fax and some others that I never use and changed the start-up type to Manual in those I don't use regularly like Print Spooler. I am sure this can be done with many more items.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burn-IT View Post
.............a high percentage of the cpu usage would be used in controlling the processes rather than running them
Is the CPU similar to any other modern electronic component that is susceptible to premature failure when it often exceeds or, operates at or near the maximum design specifications? I am asking this because I don't know how the CPU works
__________________
Melita

Last edited by Melita-s; 29. Dec 2016 at 06:38 PM. Reason: Correction
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Dec 2016, 06:52 PM   #15 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,120
Default

All electrical devices, that use electronic components, would always work if you never switched them on! All electronic components fail because of the electrical stress that is applied to them; this stress eventually wears out the component.
Regarding a CPU, its life expectancy will be shortened by overclocking eg increasing the operating frequency from 2.5GHz to 3.0GHz. Dust, excessive heat and humidity all play a huge part in determining the lifespan of any electronic component. Hence, the use of fans and, in some cases, cooling fluids which are employed to keep CPUs (and other components) cooler and ensure reliability.
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Dec 2016, 11:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 555
Default

Heat and excessive voltage are the biggest killers of CPUs.

Just running it at its designed specifications or cooler will not do a great deal of harm since the only moving parts are electrons; though it is true that eventually elctrons do get stuck in the holes in the "gates" (chemical decomposition of the transistor components)
Burn-IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. Dec 2016, 02:04 AM   #17 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burn-IT View Post
Heat and excessive voltage are the biggest killers of CPUs.

Just running it at its designed specifications or cooler will not do a great deal of harm since the only moving parts are electrons; though it is true that eventually elctrons do get stuck in the holes in the "gates" (chemical decomposition of the transistor components)
Thank you for clarifying this. If the CPU works at it's maximum capacity (100%) most of the time, how does it affect this "chemical decomposition"? Would it cause it to happen sooner and leave me with a busted CPU?

I want to try out the virtual machine but just want to make sure of what to expect. To run the risk of busting the CPU will defeat the whole purpose. If I am dealing with a home assembled Desktop I can replace the CPU myself, but this being a Laptop I don't have the tools to do that. That's the reason for all these odd questions. Thank you again for helping.
__________________
Melita
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. Dec 2016, 01:45 PM   #18 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melita-s View Post
... If I am dealing with a home assembled Desktop I can replace the CPU myself, but this being a Laptop I don't have the tools to do that. That's the reason for all these odd questions. Thank you again for helping.
I have a LT and a DT and the tools I use are identical. I have replaced the thermal paste in both machines as they had both dried out over time and were causing the respective CPUs to overheat.

Whilst it's true that working on a LT is a tad more fiddly than a DT, you shouldn't have any problem replacing a CPU in a LT.
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Jan 2017, 06:31 PM   #19 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torres-no-tan-magnifico View Post
I have a LT and a DT and the tools I use are identical. I have replaced the thermal paste in both machines as they had both dried out over time and were causing the respective CPUs to overheat.

Whilst it's true that working on a LT is a tad more fiddly than a DT, you shouldn't have any problem replacing a CPU in a LT.
Thank you torres. Sorry for the delayed response. Busy with Christmas and New year doings.

My DT CPU is an Intel Pentium 4, with an LGA775 socket, which is as easy as pie to install or un-install. No tools are necessary, not even a screw driver! Same goes for the heatsink and fan assembly. Just four fasteners and all the tools you need are your fingers. But my LT is a different kettle of fish. The AMD C-50 CPU has a BGA with the CPU soldered to the Main Board using lead free solder I saw this when I opened up the LT to clean the fan.

Regards,
__________________
Melita
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jan 2017, 05:07 PM   #20 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 555
Default

CPUs are designed to run for many thousands of hours and you are unlikely to get anywhere near this.
Also unless you are deliberately overclocking or have fitted the CPU incorrectly, the supplied cooling should be sufficient.
BGA CPUs and graphics chips can be a problem if they get hot since the contacts have a lower surface area and they often "dry" out and need re-souldering. Sometimes cooking them in an oven that is set to the temperature that melts the solder but doesn't burn the components works.
Burn-IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.