Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14. Sep 2018, 01:57 PM   #31 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielson View Post

Never knew or viewed any of his videos but he does have a nice way of making 'em.
Fair enough take on this but like a lot of other reviewers he forgets that a lot of the default looks and settings are easily changeable either straight off or after installing additional software.

The point about EFI booting is a definite consideration for multi-boot setups of if installing onto an external drive. Linux Mint also has the same tendency and you can easily lose access to your other systems thanks to Microsoft's introduction of a so called security feature for the most insecure operating system in the world. Tools like Rescatux don't always fix this either but booting a live version of MX-17 and using the MX boot tools usually does.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Sep 2018, 01:33 PM   #32 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,107
Default

The one major reason i'm not wiping the SSD to install only Q4OS KDE is because of an old CanoScan LiDE70 that is incompatible with any Linux distro i know of.

After recent Win 10 updates and subsequent crashes, i'm seriously thinking about giving the boot once and for all.

Q4OS should have the drivers necessary to do this?
If not, maybe LinuxMint 19?
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Sep 2018, 02:12 PM   #33 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielson View Post
The one major reason i'm not wiping the SSD to install only Q4OS KDE is because of an old CanoScan LiDE70 that is incompatible with any Linux distro i know of.

After recent Win 10 updates and subsequent crashes, i'm seriously thinking about giving the boot once and for all.

Q4OS should have the drivers necessary to do this?
If not, maybe LinuxMint 19?
This product is no longer supported for Linux full stop. There are third party sites claiming to have drivers but they will undoubtedly be some sort of scam. Either stick with Windows or update the scanner that are as cheap as chips these days.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Sep 2018, 09:54 PM   #34 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,107
Default

That scanner sold for about 100$ can. at the time...
So, think i'll stick to dual boot for now and keep testing Q4OS KDE which has been quite a pleasant ride so far!

DistroTube does good reviews.
SwitchedToLinux is okay too, especially for the kitty that serves as reminder the need to get away from computers.

Installed Opera 55 on Q4OS KDE and it is pretty spiffy.
Never thought i'd say something like that about this browser for sure!

Maybe Firefox will redeem itself one day too!
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Sep 2018, 02:04 PM   #35 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,107
Default

Impressive response time from Q4OS team with regards to LibreOffice crashing on latest 3.4 RC:

After a short investigation, we have located the issue in the 'libreoffice-gtk3' package. If you don't want to wait for an official fix, a quick workaround would be to remove this package:
$ sudo apt remove libreoffice-gtk3
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25. Sep 2018, 02:08 PM   #36 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,107
Default

Presently working with Q4OS 3.4rc and it still my favorite distro as of yet!
(Lord only knows how many i've tried over the past - whose counting?!)

Support is A1 with regards to fixing any glitch that is reported.

Thumbs up!
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Nov 2018, 03:53 PM   #37 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,107
Default

Is there any way to improve sound quality?
Pulse audio is good but i find lacking compared to Windows 10.
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Nov 2018, 05:07 PM   #38 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielson View Post
Is there any way to improve sound quality?
Pulse audio is good but i find lacking compared to Windows 10.
Have you got pavucontrol?
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Nov 2018, 07:42 PM   #39 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,107
Default

Yessir!
Headset is plugged in stereo.

Wonder why they have another one in their Discover dept.?
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Nov 2018, 10:11 PM   #40 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,107
Default

Correction:

Headset has output analog stereo while input is analog mono without any way i can see to change that.
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.