Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14. Apr 2017, 07:00 PM   #21 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratzo View Post
Yes indeed it works perfectly for Q4os but not for mx-16
I followed the forum link instructions posted above for MX-16 after enabling the test repo and Compiz/Emerald installed without any glitches and all the effects work as expected. It is necessary to switch off the default MX compositor (if enabled) though first, before switching over to Compiz.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Apr 2017, 08:05 PM   #22 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,175
Default

Out of interest I tried a live session of Q4 OS on my wife's desktop which is a 3Green mini-desktop with Intel dual core 2.41GHZ and 4G. This is a typical Brazilian hybrid built on an Asus motherboard that was originally intended for Windows laptops. This machine is very picky as to what it boots (the motherboard was originally Windows 8 only then adapted to run Linux). I was amazed that Q4 OS runs smooth and faster than the MX-15 she currently has installed on it. I'll try a full install as soon as I get some time.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jun 2018, 09:51 PM   #23 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,175
Default

This is the latest version 2.5 that now has the option to choose KDE Plasma 5 at install instead of the Trinity DE. I can't think why anyone would want to do this considering it's the restricted LTS 5.8 on offer. Devoted Plasma 5 fans (and there must be at least one ) would be better off waiting for the latest 5.13 to come through into a stable distro. There really is no way Q4OS should be down at #40 in the Distorwatch rankings considering the garbage there is above, except perhaps for their continued persistence with Konqueror. Navigating with this is just so time consuming and alien the first thing I do is replace it with Dolphin. Also, the system configurations in general do not follow a familiar pattern so it does take more time to get the system you want especially if you choose the bare bones option at install. These issues apart, Q4OS is lightning fast and more stable that most of the other distros above it, plus if you want bells and whistles it all works (including Superkaramba) without breaking.

https://www.techsupportalert.com/fre...tml#post123747
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Aug 2018, 10:17 PM   #24 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,062
Default

Well, you did it again MC!
You made switch from my latest "love" for Solus to Q4OS Plasma!
It might be "fatal" this time around 'cause it is truly a smooth ride and probably the nicest KDE i have ever driven.
This is one huge compliment since i have never been able to appreciate any KDE up until now.

(now if i can figure out how to unzip a file for Slimjet and its mp4 system ...)
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Aug 2018, 07:16 AM   #25 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielson View Post
Well, you did it again MC!
I hope you enjoy the experience.

Once you get Plasma sorted it really is worth the effort to log in to a TDE session and configure that too. Thereafter you can just swap between the two. The settings for TDE are not that easy to find first off and bear in mind that if you change to a different theme you will end up back with a default desktop and need to configure launchers etc all over again. Also, to see some of the appearance options you'll need to run "sudo kcmodules --unlock" in a terminal first.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Aug 2018, 02:12 PM   #26 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,062
Default

TDE is nice too.
1st impression was that of retro look i don't care for much anymore but the "Debonaire" theme saved the day!

Was curious about the 3.3 beta
Distrowatch has it showing in a drop-down menu for the user review section but i don't see it on Q4OS site.

Do have issue with KDE and TDE accessing GMail messages via Vivaldi snapshot.
They say over there (V. forum) to delete app folder etc. and start from scratch with testing extensions.
Just sayin' but i'm not ready to go through fixin' that browser with over 30 extensions.
Slimjet is doing pretty good so far!

Q4OS KDE is quiet, but i think TDE is even more quiet and snappy.

It's almost like having a new computer!
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Sep 2018, 02:01 PM   #27 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,062
Default

Even if Slimjet is set as default (browser and system applications) Google Chrome still opens when clicking on links in Thunderbird messages.

Would like to remove Google Chrome but where is it?
It's not in Discover.
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Sep 2018, 02:30 PM   #28 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielson View Post
Even if Slimjet is set as default (browser and system applications) Google Chrome still opens when clicking on links in Thunderbird messages.

Would like to remove Google Chrome but where is it?
It's not in Discover.
If you have Synaptic installed for your TDE environment it will show in that as google-chrome-stable. With Synaptic installed for TDE you can also launch this from a KDE Plasma session terminal using synaptic-pkexec.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Sep 2018, 10:41 PM   #29 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,062
Default

Thanks for the tip MC!
Hope the recent update will draw a little more attention to this good Distro.
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Sep 2018, 02:58 AM   #30 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,062
Default

DorianDotSlash is enthused about Q4OS:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JgtMVSOHQ-8

Never knew or viewed any of his videos but he does have a nice way of making 'em.
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.