Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18. Aug 2015, 10:43 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

In your burning software, there will be an option to burn image. If you cannot locate it on your burning software, please tell us which software you are using, and we will help you.

If you do locate that option, then you just have to point it to the ISO file that you have downloaded, and that's it.

Please note that burning an image is not a regular burning operation, where you burn a data disk from some files or folders... it's different.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Aug 2015, 10:51 AM   #12 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post

Please note that burning an image is not a regular burning operation, where you burn a data disk from some files or folders... it's different.
This is true - see here.

https://sites.google.com/site/easyli...ject/burn-mint

Please heed the note!!

Note: take care not to install an extra load of useless rubbish during installation.... You only need the "bare" ImgBurn itself.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Aug 2015, 10:53 AM   #13 (permalink)
L.M
Senior Member
 
L.M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 168
Default

Anupamji

OK
Download completed and installed the burner you suggested.
I'll start it and click on 'Burn Image' then follow the prompt?
L.M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Aug 2015, 10:57 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

OK, so you downloaded BurnAware free I guess? That's good, since it is a very simple but great software.

Yes, just click on "Burn Image", and then in the window that opens, click on Browse for the Disc Image Path, and point to the Linux Mint ISO that you downloaded, and then just click on Burn. You should then have a bootable DVD of Linux Mint.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Aug 2015, 11:04 AM   #15 (permalink)
L.M
Senior Member
 
L.M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 168
Default

Burning away!
L.M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Aug 2015, 11:32 AM   #16 (permalink)
L.M
Senior Member
 
L.M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 168
Default

Calling from Linux Mint. I feel like a kid in a candy shop, soooo happy
Thanks guys.

Yours truly,

L.M
L.M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Aug 2015, 12:00 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Good to know . Enjoy your Linux Mint.

If you have further queries, please ask.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Aug 2015, 12:15 PM   #18 (permalink)
L.M
Senior Member
 
L.M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Good to know . Enjoy your Linux Mint.

If you have further queries, please ask.
Actually one more question then I'm off to bed.

Do I need to run Linux security software like Antivirus, firewall etc?
L.M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Aug 2015, 12:33 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Linux residents here will most probably tell you that running an antivirus is not required on Linux. However, there are free antivirus for Linux available, which you can run if you want, in order to scan files you download, which you fear may be malware in case you transfer them to Windows. In other words, you can run an antivirus in order to prevent your Windows OS more, rather than your Linux OS.

Running a firewall I think is an individual choice. If you feel you should run, you can. MC or others might elaborate more on this.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Aug 2015, 10:24 PM   #20 (permalink)
L.M
Senior Member
 
L.M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 168
Default

# 19

OK.
For the time being, while learning to use Linux I most probably wont do any downloading. Will be using Firefox browser only, I guess I will have to add and tweak some security/privacy extensions and browser settings. But will I have to do that everytime I reboot?

Last edited by L.M; 18. Aug 2015 at 10:32 PM.
L.M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.