Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30. Oct 2014, 09:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 9
Default Connecting to a network in Puppy Linux



When I bring up this menu, the wireless networks don't load, nor do I get the bottom part of the menu.
Pacomartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Oct 2014, 12:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,186
Default

I've never been able to setup either my DSL or mobile broadband connections using Puppy so I can't advise. Your NIC details will be relevant though and you will likely get better support in the dedicated forum.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Oct 2014, 10:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 549
Default

As MC says, better in the Puppy forum.......

But You want to click on the Ath0 button and supply your Wireless details.

I am a Puppy user, but I happen to be using Windows just at this moment.
I can swap and give assistance if you need it.
Burn-IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. Oct 2014, 10:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burn-IT View Post
But You want to click on the Ath0 button and supply your Wireless details.
The Ath0 button does not appear. It's my guess that it is because my wireless antennas are connected via USB ports and not built in (these machines are very old).
Pacomartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Nov 2014, 08:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 549
Default

What button do you see?
Did you try the AutoLoad USB button?

Do you have Linux drivers for the card.?

Do you have Windows drivers for it?
Burn-IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09. Nov 2014, 12:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burn-IT View Post
What button do you see?
Did you try the AutoLoad USB button?

Do you have Linux drivers for the card.?

Do you have Windows drivers for it?
I don't see any of the buttons on the bottom half of the screen (no autoload USB button). I see the etho button, but I have to drill through a wall to connect via ethernet.

I have Windows driver for the device. It isn't a card, but it plugs into USB.
NETGEAR N150 WiFi USB Adapter WNA1100 WNA1100-100ENS

I don't think Linux drivers are on the CD
Pacomartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10. Nov 2014, 10:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 549
Default

What version of Puppy is this?
What DO you see in that windows you showed in your first post.
Is that from the machine you're trying to connect or a different one?

Did you start the machine with that USB Network Adapter plugged in?
Searching the Puppy forums I find this thread:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=550645
and there are other later Puppy versions you could try.
Burn-IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.