Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19. Dec 2013, 12:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,275
Default Xubuntu 13.10

Installed Xubuntu 13.10 on my system yesterday.

Installation went without a problem, and it detected the previously installed SuperX along with its version number, and asked if I wanted to install besides it, or replace it. I chose for replace, and installation was without trouble.

After installation though, it asked for some language files to be downloaded, and also, the display looked seriously choppy with lines all over screen.

While the language support was downloading, which took some time, I opened up display settings, and found the refresh rate was quite low. I set it to 60 Hz, and all was fine.

Overall, I am more pleased with Xubuntu than SuperX, although SuperX is more charming in terms of looks and all. Still, in terms of functionality, and all, I liked Xubuntu more. I liked the placement of taskbar panel on top, and the launcher dock below, set to auto hide.

It took me a bit to find applications shipped with Xubuntu, as there is no launcher on the bottom dock, and I noticed the application list, only when I right-clicked on the desktop. However, I prefer a proper launcher, and so I added the Application Launcher to the bottom dock, and that was taken care of.

I found more choices in terms of software in Xubuntu's software centre than in SuperX. On comparison, I feel software choices in the software centre in SuperX were quite limited, whereas in Xubuntu, there are more.

Xubuntu comes with Pulse Audio Indicator, but the indicator on the top panel is broken. I searched, and it's a known bug with a workaround provided, so I will be doing that.
No setting for sound can be found in the Settings too. I hope this bug for sound is solved soon. I didn't check yet, but from I read of Xubuntu review, the sound should be working fine.

The software centre crashed quite a number of times, while I was trying to install software from there, or opened to look for software. Still, the software were installed properly.

FlareGet Downloader was there in the software centre, and although, it said Free on the LHS, strangely, on the right, it showed the Buy button, instead of an Install one. Ultimately, I had to download and install FlareGet manually from its website.

Default web browser in Xubuntu is Firefox. I found Firefox more pleasant to work in Xubuntu. The scrolling was not choppy, like in SuperX. However, Ubuntu Extension was installed on Firefox, which gave it the old look, without menu on tops, and no such option showing. I disabled that extension, and later on removed it via Software Centre. I got the desired Firefox look back, and I was happy. Also, unlike SuperX, the bookmark tool works like it should, in Xubuntu, in a drop down menu. Still, the overall look of Firefox still looks kinda dated in Linux, something which I am not happy with. Anyways, good thing is that Firefox works great, and strangely, it was quite fast, more so than it was in SuperX.

Flash is not installed by default, and although the option to install MP3 plugin was provided while installing Xubuntu, Flash Player was not offered. So, I have to download it separately.

The default file manager is Thunar, and I liked it better than Dolphin in SuperX.

I will be exploring Xubuntu more. I played around only a little yesterday. There were updates to be download, but since they are a lot, I will download them today.

So far, I like Xubuntu, and my experience has been good. Sound indicator bug, and software centre crashing however were disappointing.

I will post more later.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19. Dec 2013, 03:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
I liked the placement of taskbar panel on top, and the launcher dock below, set to auto hide.


The first thing I do with distos like this is delete the awful bottom dock and move the top panel down.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. Dec 2013, 09:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Editor
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 686
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
The first thing I do with distos like this is delete the awful bottom dock and move the top panel down.
Hear, hear.
Panzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Dec 2013, 01:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
The first thing I do with distos like this is delete the awful bottom dock and move the top panel down.
Me too. I find it a bit odds to be on the top but everyone seems like to take a different position. While Linux Mint still likes it at the bottom, Ubuntu likes it on the left, Windows 8 likes it on the right.

When working in Ubuntu, I often move my mouse to the left to get the Dash Home, but when switching to Windows 8, I often have to move my mouse to the right to get the Start and Search buttons. This is confusing.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Dec 2013, 01:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,275
Default

The placement of panels is not that bad actually. I like it. Yes, it's a bit different from the usual way of working things though, so it can be awkward at times. Still, I don't find it that bad.

I tried playing music today, and didn't get the sound. According to reviews, the sound should be working by default.

The bug report shows that the sound indicator problem has been fixed, but I did system updates, and the problem was still there. Anyways, I performed the manual fix and that got the indicator working, and found out that the sound volume was muted from there. Still, it's strange though, because I had accessed the Pulse Audio Control from Multimedia, and despite setting the levels, I was not getting any sound.
Anyways, got the sound working.

But really, it's a fundamental thing... how can they leave such a bug in the place? That's not too good.

I am not happy with the clock that came by default. I want to get rid of it, and install a new one. Any idea of a good clock?

Firefox 26 behaves quite nicely, almost perfectly in Xubuntu. There is no bug of pinning tabs, the bookmark icon works great, and the scrolling is not choppy. If the icons didn't look so dated, it would be perfect. But, atleast, functionality wise, all's great.

Overall, it has been a good experience so far. Am happy with Thunar File Manager. I am happy with the windows and interfaces.

I will play some more.

I need to install Skype though, so I will have to look for that. It's not available in the Software Center. The Software Center faced another couple of crashes, so that's something I am not happy with.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Dec 2013, 05:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
I am not happy with the clock that came by default. I want to get rid of it, and install a new one. Any idea of a good clock?
There are several options with the default clock including a nice big LCD version. Have you tried 'em all? Otherwise you can install Conky Manager which has several clocks included.

http://www.webupd8.org/2013/07/conky...ons-4-new.html
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Dec 2013, 06:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,275
Default

Well, main problem with the clock is that I want it to be set with an internet serve, but it says NTP is not installed, and when I choose to install, it doesn't. Whereas, I saw in packages that NTP is installed.

That's why I was looking for a different clock.

Thanks, I will try Conky manager, although I don't know what's that yet .

I had another question about canonical sources, but I am not on Linux now, so I will ask that later.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.