Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24. Aug 2013, 02:39 AM   #21 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Cthulhux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 271
Default

Pure FreeBSD? Wow. You must have too much free time on your hands. ;-)

First relevant steps (probably): Grab the ports directory and build X.
__________________
Hi. I'm new here.
Cthulhux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Aug 2013, 02:44 AM   #22 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Well when I run it for the first time and sprockets, gears and springs come flying out of my screen I will rest assured that I can always rely on you for help.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Aug 2013, 02:51 AM   #23 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Cthulhux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 271
Default

Installing FreeBSD from scratch (in a VirtualBox) really hurts. Setting it up until Xfce (or was it LXDE?) worked took me two and a half hours the first time - and this was with working internet (because of the VirtualBox). I decided not to do that ever again ... (and I didn't have to as PC-BSD works for me...)

But yes, I could probably solve most beginner issues here.
(Admittedly, FreeBSD is mostly an RTFM system.)
__________________
Hi. I'm new here.
Cthulhux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Aug 2013, 06:55 AM   #24 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Just tried Ghost BSD but all I was able to do was to run it as a live CD in VirtualBox. I was presented with a Gnom2 desktop with many apps that I was familiar with. Honestly there were no surprises or anything that was outside the scope of anything a normal Linux user would encounter.

Well, as I carefully tread along the path of the unknown I dared to go were no average Linux user has dared to go, I attempted to install it on my Virtual HDD. My brazen act of recklessness was met with doom. (not like anyone seen that coming) It stopped suddenly at the (grep) part and attacked me, crushing any hope of success. Despite this folly I was able to glean some important information and that is BSD is no longer a mystery. In fact the Gnome2 operating system was all too familiar.

Yet I will not accept defeat, I will boldly slay these demons until I have reached the pinnacle of what I desire. Hear me BSD this is only temporary for I shall return.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Aug 2013, 02:15 PM   #25 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Cthulhux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 271
Default

It pretty much sounds like you configured your VM wrongly from the beginning. How do you do that?
__________________
Hi. I'm new here.
Cthulhux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Aug 2013, 08:09 PM   #26 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cthulhux View Post
It pretty much sounds like you configured your VM wrongly from the beginning. How do you do that?
vBulletin already has the option for BSD at the beginning of the process. I chose Ghost BSD 64 bit. From there I went with the default settings except I chose to install the VDI file onto my second HDD. Everything started OK. It booted to the Gnome2 desktop as a live cd. I clicked on the install Icon starting the install process. Everything went well until it got to the grep part of it. I assume this is where it installs the boot loader (just a guess)

I burned the ISO to a dvd to see to see if it didn't like running directly from the ISO. I increased the initial virtual HDD size to 30 GB, I doubled the ram size, I enlisted the help of the local Shaman, still didn't help. I called it a night.

Its a new day and I'm going to fiddle around some of the vBulletin setting when I get some time.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Aug 2013, 08:18 PM   #27 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Cthulhux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 271
Default

Hmm, I didn't know it knew GhostBSD; I always choose FreeBSD for any descending distribution.

I wonder what has happened.
__________________
Hi. I'm new here.
Cthulhux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Aug 2013, 10:55 PM   #28 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cthulhux View Post
Hmm, I didn't know it knew GhostBSD; I always choose FreeBSD for any descending distribution.

I wonder what has happened.
You are correct I got Ghost BSD confused with open BSD. I'm trying to install now if I get an error I'll submit the log.

I have my virtual HDD set as dynamic with a 40 GB size I have memory set to 2GB, I have network set as Bridged, I have VT-x/AMD-V enabled.

The install just failed here is the install log:

Trying DHCP on em0 <Intel(R) PRO/1000 Legacy Network Connection 1.0.4>
kern.geom.debugflags: 0 -> 16
Deleting all gparts
Running: gpart destroy /dev/ada0
gpart: arg0 'ada0': Invalid argument
Clearing gpt backup table location on disk
Running: dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/ada0 bs=1m count=1
1+0 records in
1+0 records out
1048576 bytes transferred in 0.062397 secs (16804910 bytes/sec)
Running: dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/ada0 bs=1m oseek=43326
dd: /dev/ada0: end of device
5+0 records in
4+0 records out
4194304 bytes transferred in 0.038868 secs (107911633 bytes/sec)
Running: dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/ada0 count=3000
3000+0 records in
3000+0 records out
1536000 bytes transferred in 1.675645 secs (916662 bytes/sec)
Running gpart on /dev/ada0
Running: gpart create -s mbr /dev/ada0
ada0 created
Running gpart add on /dev/ada0
Running: gpart add -b 2016 -s 88737264 -t freebsd -i 1 /dev/ada0
ada0s1 added
Cleaning up /dev/ada0s1
Running: dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/ada0s1 count=1024
1024+0 records in
1024+0 records out
524288 bytes transferred in 0.715506 secs (732751 bytes/sec)
Stamping boot0 on /dev/ada0
Running: gpart bootcode -b /boot/boot0 /dev/ada0
bootcode written to ada0
Running: gpart create -s BSD /dev/ada0s1
ada0s1 created
Running: gpart add -s 41464M -t freebsd-ufs -i 1 /dev/ada0s1
ada0s1a added
Running: gpart add -t freebsd-swap -i 2 /dev/ada0s1
ada0s1b added
Running: gpart bootcode -b /boot/boot /dev/ada0s1
bootcode written to ada0s1
NEWFS: /dev/ada0s1a - UFS+SUJ
Running: newfs -U /dev/ada0s1a
/dev/ada0s1a: 41464.0MB (84918272 sectors) block size 32768, fragment size 4096
using 67 cylinder groups of 626.09MB, 20035 blks, 80256 inodes.
with soft updates
super-block backups (for fsck_ffs -b #) at:
192, 1282432, 2564672, 3846912, 5129152, 6411392, 7693632, 8975872, 10258112,
11540352, 12822592, 14104832, 15387072, 16669312, 17951552, 19233792,
20516032, 21798272, 23080512, 24362752, 25644992, 26927232, 28209472,
29491712, 30773952, 32056192, 33338432, 34620672, 35902912, 37185152,
38467392, 39749632, 41031872, 42314112, 43596352, 44878592, 46160832,
47443072, 48725312, 50007552, 51289792, 52572032, 53854272, 55136512,
56418752, 57700992, 58983232, 60265472, 61547712, 62829952, 64112192,
65394432, 66676672, 67958912, 69241152, 70523392, 71805632, 73087872,
74370112, 75652352, 76934592, 78216832, 79499072, 80781312, 82063552,
83345792, 84628032
Running: sync
Running: tunefs -j enable /dev/ada0s1a
tunefs: soft updates journaling set
Using inode 4 in cg 0 for 33554432 byte journal
Running: sync
Running: glabel label rootfs0 /dev/ada0s1a
Running: sync
Running: sync
Running: glabel label swap0 /dev/ada0s1b
Running: sync
mount -o rw /dev/ada0s1a -> /mnt/fsmnt/
Running: mount -o rw /dev/ada0s1a /mnt/fsmnt/
swapon /dev/ada0s1b
Running: swapon /dev/ada0s1b
FOUND DVD: /dev/cd0
pc-sysinstall: Starting Extraction
EXITERROR: ERROR: Failed to copy files
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Aug 2013, 11:08 PM   #29 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Cthulhux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 271
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wdhpr View Post
You are correct I got Ghost BSD confused with open BSD.
How dare thou!

Hmm, head over here: http://forums.ghostbsd.org/viewtopic.php?f=59&t=2
__________________
Hi. I'm new here.
Cthulhux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25. Aug 2013, 12:37 AM   #30 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Actually I finally figured this rascal out. From what I could see from the end of the log file:

Running: swapon /dev/ada0s1b
FOUND DVD: /dev/cd0
pc-sysinstall: Starting Extraction
EXITERROR: ERROR: Failed to copy files

This got me thinking that it may have by default looked for the physical drive. So I tried to install using the DVD I burned earlier. I also also doubled my ram and ticked the enable Nested Paging. Anyway it successfully installed. I slew the wicked dragon and ran off with the kings daughter etc.etc.etc....

Now I'm trying to figure out why in the heck Guest Additions wont install. One crisis at a time I suppose.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.