Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26. Oct 2012, 09:29 AM   #21 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Ok... The thing about Korora's Grub2 is that it is Grub2 Legacy. In that last 2 hours I have learned more about legacy that I will ever want to know. That said I have managed to get it to play nice with all the Operating Systems on the HDD which is 3, XP and two versions of linux. (yea I know its complicated)

Anyway Korora is updated and I'm ready to download Gnome3 which I will do as I'm cutting some ZZZ's
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Oct 2012, 05:45 PM   #22 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Korora got off to a rough start but I have managed to tame the beast. I just got done downloading and installing Cinnamon and I have been logging on and off as I try the 3 desktops.

Midnight Cowboy has been promoting Korora for some time now and I can understand why. I'm able to change desktops from KDE, Gnome3 and Cinnamon seamlessly. This is no small thing because I have tried to install desktops on top of another and its always ended in disaster.

I'm going to stick with the Cinnamon desktop for now because I only briefly tried Cinnamon in the past and I suffered stability issues. So far it seems rock solid and very responsive and it feels more intuitive than KDE although the KDE desktop very good.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Oct 2012, 09:33 PM   #23 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

I'm on a roll now. I now have KDE,GNOME3,Cinnamon,Mate and XFCE. Truly amazing and I haven't had any problems. Oh yea Korora uses Grub2 and no Legacy once I was able to absorb this through my hard head things became easier. I still can not explain why Korora would not boot after I updated grub from Mint Mate and tried to use its boot menu. Oh well Korora's boot screen is prettier.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Oct 2012, 05:23 AM   #24 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,276
Default

I'm pleased you are enjoying the experience. I can't explain either why installing the Gnome version of Korora and adding Cinnamon is a complete disaster whereas starting with KDE and doing it the longer way round is faultless.

Unfortunately I am now devoid of Korora. Another of my following here turned up yesterday and insisted on seeing a Zorin dual boot demo. I no longer have "the Heap" functional and keep my dual booted laptop purely as backup, so don't use this for testing at all. Consequently I added Zorin to my main machine and am using it now. Result here.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Oct 2012, 06:32 AM   #25 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

I plan on playing around with Korora for a little while longer. I found doesn't play nice with my games although I may not have things set up correctly. I still can't get Korora's boot issues corrected either these are more of annoyance than anything else. I'm thinking I might revisit Cinnamon or something else next.

By the way great wallpaper as well as the others you have come up with. Ever consider sharing?
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Oct 2012, 07:33 AM   #26 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,276
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wdhpr View Post

By the way great wallpaper as well as the others you have come up with. Ever consider sharing?
Having a large wallpaper collection is a combination of two things.
  • A sad life
  • Being addicted to Rhiannon's page

If you PM me with an email address I can use, and describe which ones you like, I'll forward the images.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Oct 2012, 08:54 PM   #27 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Default

I have a question about live cds. I've been running Mint13 mate and cinnamon, and korora KDE on my laptop trying to find one I like best. The only issue I'm having with all the sessions is my webcam is running every time I run a linux live cd, doesn't matter what distro, and I can't find how to turn it off. I'm loving playing around in the different linux distros, just paranoid about the webcam being on.
dkhntr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. Oct 2012, 12:56 AM   #28 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dkhntr View Post
I have a question about live cds. I've been running Mint13 mate and cinnamon, and korora KDE on my laptop trying to find one I like best. The only issue I'm having with all the sessions is my webcam is running every time I run a linux live cd, doesn't matter what distro, and I can't find how to turn it off. I'm loving playing around in the different linux distros, just paranoid about the webcam being on.
Hmmm, that's a new one. I have Linux installed on an older desktop and I use one of those micro camera/microphone that I plug into a USB port. My problem is getting the drivers to load which often requires me to reboot with it plugged in. Try looking in your system's settings and find something that refers to your webcam then try to adjust the settings. It may also be associated with your microphone where as those settings maybe accessed from your sound settings. I recently bought a laptop with a built in camera/microphone but have yet to install linux on it.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. Oct 2012, 01:31 AM   #29 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Yeah, it's a built-in webcam and it comes on as soon as I boot up Linux. The next time I run it I'll check the sound settings to see if there's anything there for a webcam. I've been searching other forums to see if anyone else had this issue but just find others having issues with installing a USB cam.
dkhntr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. Oct 2012, 02:59 AM   #30 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,276
Default

I've never had a webcam with my desktop but there is one in the laptop and I noticed when I installed Zorin into it yesterday it offered to use the cam image as my start logo, and sure enough there was me displayed in full glory.

I did find this, but it doesn't appear to be much of a solution.

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...ubuntu-863576/
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/in...7182612AAfYgGs

Failing finding something better, and assuming you want to use the cam but just not all the time, I suggest sticking some tape over it.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.