Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24. Oct 2012, 03:42 AM   #11 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,276
Default

One word of caution. Being smart like WOT I am and having decided I really like Cinnamon, I opted to abandon my hacked version of Korora and install the full Gnome version instead which already comes with "experimental" support for Cinnamon. What a disaster, at least on my system, because nothing works, or breaks soon after. Doing it the other way round by installing KDE first and then adding Gnome and Cinnamon however, and it really is flawless. Not only that, having set up Thunderbird with Firetray for KDE and then switching to a Cinnamon session, you still get the number of new mails icon in the panel which you sure can't achieve with a straight Cinnamon setup. Also, the whole thing looks a lot better done this way round, which I have now repeated.

Screenshot here.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.

Last edited by MidnightCowboy; 24. Oct 2012 at 05:12 AM. Reason: Added screenshot
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Oct 2012, 04:03 PM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

This may speak to KDE's stability which in my opinion has made slow but steady progress in that area. I will probably get around to setting up Korora this weekend. I'm interested in checking out a multi-desktop system.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25. Oct 2012, 04:13 AM   #13 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,276
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wdhpr View Post
This may speak to KDE's stability which in my opinion has made slow but steady progress in that area. I will probably get around to setting up Korora this weekend. I'm interested in checking out a multi-desktop system.
Well I'm back now to where I was with mine, minus the Xfce stuff which I didn't bother to reload. Be aware also that there's an 800mb plus update currently for Korora.

Just in case other sad folks like me want to know the full "look" in the screenshot, the main theme is Mictlan, window theme is AdwaitaWolfeV4, GTK Theme is Adwaita Cupertino L, cursor theme is "The Dark Theme", and the extra panel applets are: Better Cinnamon Settings, All-in-one Places, Quit Applet, Screensaver Inhibitor and Simple CPU Monitor. The wallpaper is "Sundown Dunes". The desktop monitor is a custom build of Superkaramba.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25. Oct 2012, 04:56 AM   #14 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Thanks for the heads up
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25. Oct 2012, 05:58 AM   #15 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Hmmm...
Korora is actually Kororaa, I'm assuming a typo. Its also 1.7gb which is not that big of a deal but adding a 8ooMB update its starting to weigh in on the heavy side and couple that with adding Gnome3 Cinnamon I'm rethinking the whole project. I also recall Kororaa was a bit difficult when I last tried it. I admit the whole notion of having a swiss army knife of Linux desktops is intriguing but may end up as a 2 or 3 step project taking more than the weekend.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25. Oct 2012, 10:56 AM   #16 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,276
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wdhpr View Post
Hmmm...
Korora is actually Kororaa, I'm assuming a typo.
He changed the branding logo and spelling with this release. IMO it is worth the effort, despite the size. You can of course still add Gnome+Cinamon without updating first.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25. Oct 2012, 07:45 PM   #17 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
He changed the branding logo and spelling with this release.
Trying to make an odd name less odd
I'm definitely going to give it a try now that my curiosity has a hold on me. It may take a little more than the weekend but I'll let you know how it goes.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Oct 2012, 03:53 AM   #18 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Well I found myself with little to do so I embarked on my great Korora adventure. (your right about the name) Anyway I loaded it on my USB drive and the install went very smoothly. When I rebooted low and behold no boot menu, Are You Kidding! I would think they would fix this seeing as how there are a bazillion Nvidia graphic cards out there. Oh well changing the boot screen resolution from auto to 800x600 16 bit did the trick. More here on editing Grub2: https://kororaa.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=258

I'm updating 890 MB worth of stuff right now I figure anything worth doing is worth doing right. I will probably work on getting the Cinnamon and the XFCE desktops later. I was wondering does Gnome 3 with Cinnamon come in one package or are the separate?
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Oct 2012, 04:14 AM   #19 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,276
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wdhpr View Post

I'm updating 890 MB worth of stuff right now I figure anything worth doing is worth doing right. I will probably work on getting the Cinnamon and the XFCE desktops later. I was wondering does Gnome 3 with Cinnamon come in one package or are the separate?
You will need to install Gnome desktop first and then Cinnamon window management. Both will show via a search in apper.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Oct 2012, 06:39 AM   #20 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Now I remember why I had a hard time with Kororaa now named Korora. The darn version of grub that Korora uses doesn't play nice with my other Linux systems. I can set up Grub2 with Korora but when I try to boot into Linux Mint Mate I get a blinking cursor and thats it. Yes I can use a boot CD to start Mint but what the heck why in the frank do I have to go through that to boot into a bleeping Linux system. I'm going to check out a work around so I don't throw the baby out with the bath water.

More to come.....
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.