Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24. Jul 2012, 08:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,179
Default openmamba

openmamba is a lightweight KDE distro which on my machine uses about a third of the memory needed to run Kororaa. This could well appeal to those who prefer to build up their own software collection, rather than have someone else's choices installed by default. The package manager is quirky as in different, but works well enough although CPU use during downloads is relatively high.

It always amazes me how many devs seem to concentrate a lot of effort on the initial presentation of the system. Solus for instance gives us a dyslexic worm during boot, and openmamba presents users with a series of bubble encapsulated throbbing green snakes.

Boot logos apart, openmamba is worth checking out.

http://www.openmamba.org/
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Jul 2012, 08:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Editor
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 686
Default

Thanx. I have already downloaded it yesterday.
Panzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Jul 2012, 11:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,179
Default

I attempted a dual boot install and ended up with openmamba OK, but Windows 7 unbootable with "Boot.mgr missing" As I guessed though, re-installing Kororaa using the "replace existing Linux" option restored the Windows boot also. Maybe I missed or misread something during the openmamba install process but the available screenshots on their site do not reflect the current installer or the order in which the sections are presented. Not helpful. I've posted on their forum.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Jul 2012, 07:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Editor
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 686
Default

I wanted to try it out in Virtualbox. There was some error so I abandoned the quest to get a screenshot out of it.
Panzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25. Jul 2012, 06:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,179
Default

They responded helpfully with an up to date screenshot from their install process but the settings shown were not changed by me (the possibility suggested). They are now suggesting another install plus a copy of the installation log, but I doubt I will have the time to do this.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.