Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15. Feb 2013, 09:12 AM   #81 (permalink)
Editor
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 707
Default

http://www.brucelawson.co.uk/2013/op...l-perspective/
Panzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Feb 2013, 10:51 AM   #82 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

"I’m both English and a man. That means I have no emotional life at all" .......

Good read though. You can also read what he has to say about the switch on the Opera Developer Relations Team blog, here;

http://my.opera.com/ODIN/blog/300-mi...move-to-webkit
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Feb 2013, 01:46 PM   #83 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Concerned User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: இந்தியா, सिन्धु, India
Posts: 486
Default

Hope that webkit does not end up becoming the new "IE 6"...Opera is fine enough as it is...But there should always be some kind of competition around....Imagine how it would be if the all computers in the world ran on one OS only.

Last edited by Concerned User; 15. Feb 2013 at 01:52 PM.
Concerned User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Feb 2013, 04:05 PM   #84 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

@ Concerned User - yes, it would be a shame if WebKit took over and there was no competition to it. But this move by Opera, I think, is pretty much essential for them to survive in the future. They're not quite a big enough company to keep taking the competition on with Presto, sad though it is to say. It does seem like a case of 'if you can't beat 'em, join 'em' - but business is business, unfortunately. Although I reckon Opera will have a lot to offer in terms of developing the WebKit browser.

Look around. Not all WebKit browsers are Chrome clones. They may use the same rendering engine but interfaces do vary. Maxthon uses WebKit alongside Trident, dual engine, but the browser interface itself doesn't look too much like Chrome, Iron etc. There are lots of good built in features to it, and I'm pretty sure the Opera browser with WebKit, when released, will have it's own individual look and feel to it - its own built in features, same it always has had.

I like competition, it's healthy and keeps everyone on their toes. But sometimes, as a company you just have to look at and crunch the numbers, and if they're not working for you then you have to bite the bullet and change, look to the future. Take a gamble if you like, and then make sure it pays off and works for you. Thing with doing that is you're going to upset people along the way, client base / user base, whatever. It's never easy, but that's the reality of things and I'm sure the people at Opera thought very long and hard before making the decision.

It wouldn't be good for every computer in the world to run on one OS, definitely not. But there are so many different ways that people access the internet now, PC's, tablets, smartphones - on several different Operating Systems, and that's the point Opera are making here. By switching to WebKit they can compete on every platform. Presto won't run on them all, and they don't have their own OS, so to be able to compete on a level playing field they have to change, make the switch to WebKit.

Presto is good, I love it personally, but it doesn't appeal to the masses and has always struggled for market share, especially on desktops. Opera are brilliant at innovation and I'm thinking that by doing this they'll bring a lot to the table where WebKit is concerned in the future. Whether we like it or not, the changes, any changes, it's the future that matters.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Feb 2013, 04:19 PM   #85 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,313
Default

This change might be great for Opera actually. It will be interesting to see how they go from here. Yes, they are brilliant at innovation, we know that... and now with a proven great engine under the hood, I think they can turn this around, and come back more strongly in the game.

I think the coming time will be really interesting, and exciting to see how Opera do with this change. I wish them luck.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Feb 2013, 08:09 PM   #86 (permalink)
Editor
 
George.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,927
Default

Like Anupam and Deya, I also feel that this change is for the good of Opera. It's a great browser.
__________________
If you seek for attention, do common things in life in an uncommon way!
George.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Feb 2013, 08:25 AM   #87 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Concerned User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: இந்தியா, सिन्धु, India
Posts: 486
Default

No doubt that Opera is a great browser...wonder what they will do to presto now that they will be moving to webkit..perhaps they could release the code and Mozilla picks it up and makes firefox more better...guess I'm just dreaming.

Last edited by Concerned User; 17. Feb 2013 at 08:33 AM.
Concerned User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Feb 2013, 02:09 AM   #88 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

OK. Following up on what I reported several posts back about keyboard shortcuts not formatting text while typing in forums like this, I decided to try Firefox,and would you believe it I'm able to use the shortcut keys again, Yay! Whoopee! Hello Mozilla,'bye 'bye Opera.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Feb 2013, 03:10 AM   #89 (permalink)
Editor
 
George.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,927
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe A.TT View Post
OK. Following up on what I reported several posts back about keyboard shortcuts not formatting text while typing in forums like this, I decided to try Firefox,and would you believe it I'm able to use the shortcut keys again, Yay! Whoopee! Hello Mozilla,'bye 'bye Opera.
Keyboard shortcuts not working for you in Opera? Strange...
__________________
If you seek for attention, do common things in life in an uncommon way!
George.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Feb 2013, 06:18 AM   #90 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by George.J View Post
Keyboard shortcuts not working for you in Opera? Strange...
I've known some security programs to interfere with this type of operation, especially HIPS components. Would have thought the interference would have been consistent across all programs though?
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.