Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26. Nov 2012, 02:50 PM   #51 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

@deya,

Thanks for testing it. Yes, those keyboard combinations produce the same results for me.

And yes, they do work if I access, say, my Gmail account. The only small bug there was that it didn't toggle the highlights in the menu bar. Since it doesn't show the code while you are typing an email message, it would be helpful if you can at least look at the menu bar to see if one of these selections are on.

It's a pity you don't use keyboard shortcuts otherwise you would have noticed this bug immediately. That was the kind of corroborating evidence I was hoping to get from you.

Nevertheless, I am in the process of submitting a bug report to Opera.

Thanks all the same.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Nov 2012, 04:14 PM   #52 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

I've noticed a couple of minor though irritating bugs recently too.

e.g. typing text in an email, when hitting the enter key to start a new paragraph the cursor occasionally gets left behind for some strange reason (doesn't move down to the next line) although not always!
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Nov 2012, 04:48 PM   #53 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sope View Post
e.g. typing text in an email, when hitting the enter key to start a new paragraph the cursor occasionally gets left behind for some strange reason (doesn't move down to the next line) although not always!
I haven't noticed that happening in my Gmail account. I just tested it and the cursor doesn't get left behind.

Testing the Bold, Italics and Underline highlights again, I noticed that the highlights did show up after I started typing a few words. It also toggled the highlights off in the same manner.

As per said, I did submit a bug report to Opera, so we'll see what happens from there. I'll post an update once there is something to report.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Dec 2012, 02:36 PM   #54 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

Opera 12.12 released;

http://www.opera.com/browser/download/

Changelog;

http://www.opera.com/docs/changelogs/unified/1212/

"Opera 12.12 is a recommended upgrade offering security and stability enhancements"
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Dec 2012, 07:28 PM   #55 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,335
Default

Dumb question:

I just went to update my Opera and it said that it was up to date. Then I checked the version number and this is what it shows:

Quote:
Version 12.50 internal Build 1497
Platform x64 System
Windows 7

Browser identification

Opera/9.80 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; U; Edition Next; en) Presto/2.11.310 Version/12.50
If Opera was updated to 12.12, how am I showing 12.50 version?
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Dec 2012, 08:21 PM   #56 (permalink)
Editor
 
George.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,934
Default

Quote:
Opera/9.80 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; U; Edition Next; en) Presto/2.11.310 Version/12.50
Kendall you might be using Opera Next, which is the test version of the next major release. That's why.
__________________
If you seek for attention, do common things in life in an uncommon way!
George.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Dec 2012, 08:37 PM   #57 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

kendall - the latest version shows; Version 12.12 - Build 1707.

Perhaps the build numbers are different for 64bit but, even so, looking at the info you've posted there it's showing an internal build, not a final. I think 12.50 is a Next build so not sure why it's showing that for you.

Best thing might be to go here; http://www.opera.com/browser/download/

Click 'more options' and then select 64 bit from the drop down under 'architecture'

Over the top install it and you should get the latest final build.

An after thought, and George has already picked up on it, but if you're using Opera Next you should be seeing a white desktop icon, as opposed to the standard red one.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Dec 2012, 09:55 PM   #58 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,335
Default

I didn't realize it, but I think I am using Next. Should I not be? It seems to work fine?! Am I to assume that Next is not the "normal" Opera and it is in essence the next testing build?

I don't really desire to be testing Opera...just using it occasionally.

EDIT: Disregard. I found this:

Quote:
Opera Next is an entirely separate product to the official Opera browser product, which is the stable product intended for day-to-day use. There is no connection or interaction between them unless you manually configure this; all preferences and settings are saved for each product individually. For example, a bookmark saved in Opera Next will not display in your primary Opera browser. This ensures that your valuable data and settings remain untouched when you try out our latest changes.
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Dec 2012, 10:08 PM   #59 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

Just checked the latest Next build I've got installed;

Version 12.12

Build 1704

Platform Win32

System Windows XP

Browser identification

Opera/9.80 (Windows NT 5.1; Edition Next) Presto/2.12.388 Version/12.12



When you install Opera, use the options during the upgrade and look at the file path. It will tell you if it's installing Opera or OperaNext. They're totally separate installs in Program Files, and each folder is named as such.

12.50 is an older build of Next. They reverted back to the 12.1 builds for testing some time ago. I have both installed. The standard Opera - red icon. And Opera Next - white icon.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Dec 2012, 10:21 PM   #60 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

Yes, kendall - Opera Next is the browser for testing the latest builds - alphas, betas etc, similar to the Firefox Nightly channel. It's not the standard version.

It doesn't matter if you have them both installed, and, as your quote states, they are completely independent of each other.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.