Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02. Jun 2012, 08:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default Mozilla Firefox 13

Firefox 13 will soon be released. Officially, it will be released on Tuesday, 5th June. But, it is now being available on the download sites. I saw it on Kaldata, and soon it should be available on other download sites too. The impatient ones may download it from there .

The patient, but excited ones, like me, will have to wait for Tuesday .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jun 2012, 03:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Concerned User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: இந்தியா, सिन्धु, India
Posts: 486
Default

Over the topped and everything is working fine as usual
Concerned User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jun 2012, 06:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Concerned User View Post
Over the topped and everything is working fine as usual
An impatient one
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jun 2012, 01:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,120
Default

I thought FF 13 was the same old same old until I hit Ctrl+T.

It now displays a grid of the previous 9 webpages you have visited. You can simply click on the top right hand corner icon to hide the new tab page and clicking it again brings it back. I like this feature a lot!

It might not be ground breaking, as other browsers have had similar tabs before, but from my perspective it is a welcome addition to FF...enjoy!!!
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jun 2012, 04:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

The Reset Firefox feature looks useful.

http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/...-most-problems
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jun 2012, 09:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Installed over the top, and it's working fine.

The release notes are here :

http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/13.0/releasenotes/

Yes, other browsers have had this feature since quite some time now.. of showing webpage grid in a new tab. But, well, it's a welcome feature to Firefox. No need of add-ons for this purpose now.

And although the Reset feature is not mentioned in the release notes, it is indeed quite a useful feature.

Firefox keeps getting better, and I just love it .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Jun 2012, 03:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Concerned User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: இந்தியா, सिन्धु, India
Posts: 486
Default

Not exactly a fan of the "new" speed dial page...

I want a blank page as usual when I open a new tab. Went to about:config and changed "browser.newtab.url" value to "about:blank". Voila!
Concerned User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Jun 2012, 05:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

I too like a blank home page, and I do not keep any other home page, but I think speed dial page is good. I will only know how I like it, when I try it out for a few days.

Anyways, you can also hide the speed dials, with a small grid shaped icon that appears on the speed dial page at the top right. Click on it, and the page appears blank, except for that icon. I think that's good enough .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09. Jun 2012, 02:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Well, the speed dial tab is a bit of a hassle for me. I have chosen to hide it, via its icon.

First, I feel that the loading of a new tab is little bit delayed because of speed dials.

Further, there is no way to clear all the speed dials boxes with one click or whatever.

The boxes show the site from the history of the browser, and for one who do not want their history to be seen, for any reason, it can be a bit of problem.

You can pin a site to a box, but when you clear history, the boxes get cleared too. So, I guess it's not as useful, if you have to start all over again.

Also, only the first box gets populated the first time Firefox loads up. For other boxes to get populated, Firefox has to be restarted. Again, does not serve the purpose well.

So, IMO, Firefox was better off without this feature.

It can be made better, if there was a button to clear all the boxes in one go.
It would also be good, if the boxes were configurable to pin a site, which would retain itself, even when browser is closed.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Jun 2012, 07:47 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Firefox has been updated to 13.0.1 .. with some fixes for issues.

Release notes here :

http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox.../releasenotes/

I got the update notification via Firefox updater too.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.