Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29. May 2009, 02:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,367
Default Opera 10 pre beta

Opera 10 pre beta is out with a great looking new standard skin.

http://keznews.com/5737_Download_Ope...eta_Build_1535
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. May 2009, 10:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Great, thanks for the link!
I for one appreciate your efforts to keep the forum updated regarding Opera Browser's latest developments.

(Just to point out to any current Opera users - unlike the Opera 10 Alpha, it seems this installer wants to install to the default Opera location rather than create a separate installation folder so you may want to change this manually.)
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Jun 2009, 01:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,367
Default

Yes that's a good point actually because before you could run the existing 964 and the alpha 10 as separate installations.

I did flirt with Seamonkey for a while but now with this excellent new version of Opera I'm back in the fold! With most of todays malware originating from the Internet, PC security should always begin with the bowser backwards and with Opera you can accomplish this without dragging your system down with piles of extensions. That said, there's no denying the increased functionality of Firefox for those who must have bells as well as whistles.
Certainly I could not imagine my life without a fully integrated mail client which is one of the areas where Opera excels.

The only one thing I'm disappointed with now (help!) is that with the 964 and the alpha it was possible to edit the Dr. Web link scanner text into Opera's default menu directory. I've tried this with the pre beta and it's not working!

Any ideas anyone
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Jun 2009, 05:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Midnightcowboy View Post
PC security should always begin with the bowser backwards and with Opera you can accomplish this without dragging your system down with piles of extensions. That said, there's no denying the increased functionality of Firefox for those who must have bells as well as whistles.
Certainly I could not imagine my life without a fully integrated mail client which is one of the areas where Opera excels.
These are precisely my reasons for choosing to use Opera -
it's secure, uncomplicated, and has an excellent integrated email client.

I do find the ability to customise Opera is also a useful feature and that's bad news that your Dr Web link mod doesn't work in the latest version - it's very handy!
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Jun 2009, 06:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,345
Default

For me, Opera is not an option. I have several hundred passwords saved in Roboform and I can't imagine living without it. Until Opera and Roboform "play nice", Opera just isn't an option for me. (Though, it is installed and I do use it occasionally.)
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Jun 2009, 09:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Qld, Australia
Posts: 129
Default

I could not live without Opera and have been using it since about 2001. I have tried others but always go back to Opera for it's speed (I only got off dialup 2 years ago) and for all the things you can change to suit without having to download extensions. I haven't yet found a site it won't work with. The best feature for me is that I am on an expensive satellite connection and very limited data transfer but I can easily get round with images turned off and just with a single click load images when I'm on a page I want to see the images or I can just right click and reload to get a single image.

I don't think I could ever bring myself to do my banking using IE
miskairal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Jun 2009, 12:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,367
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miskairal View Post
I don't think I could ever bring myself to do my banking using IE
Not unless you want to share your account with the rest of us!

Good point too about the images feature.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jun 2009, 01:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Looks like Opera 10 Beta is now officially available at -

http://www.opera.com/browser/next/

Very nice!
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Jun 2009, 04:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Midnightcowboy View Post
The only one thing I'm disappointed with now (help!) is that with the 964 and the alpha it was possible to edit the Dr. Web link scanner text into Opera's default menu directory. I've tried this with the pre beta and it's not working!

Any ideas anyone
MC, do you still have this problem with Opera 10 or have you got it worked out?

It works for me with Opera 10 Beta :-
I just edited the appropriate file (standard_menu.ini which is now located in C:\Program Files\Opera 10 Beta\ui) as indicated on the Dr. Web website. Even though the file contains different code to that shown, I just went for the corresponding similar location in the new ini file and it worked!
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Jun 2009, 08:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Just thought I 'd better add a word of caution to those of you who are using Opera 9.x and want to install Opera 10 Beta alongside it.

DO NOT try to import your email accounts and messages into Opera 10 Beta or you may well lose the ability to view the bodies of all your emails, not only in Opera 10 Beta but also Opera 9.x ! Definately best to wait until this particular bug gets sorted!
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.