Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28. Dec 2011, 09:00 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default

GJ, I like QtWeb too, and I see it as a browser with potential, but unfortunately, they have not been able to develop it into a browser which it deserves to be. Development is really really slow, and even with new versions, they do not bring out any significant new features.

Also, QtWeb lacks many features which QupZilla has. So, even if QtWeb is portable, I do not see it as a big advantage. What I want is features, which are required in a browser. QupZilla has these features, and it is being developed at a fast rate, which is quite good.

You are right about Google blocking co.cc sites, because I did not find the QupZilla homepage when I searched for QupZilla. So, I agree that if you include this browser in your review, you should not link to its homepage.

You can use these links though, seems safe.

https://github.com/nowrep/QupZilla

https://github.com/nowrep/QupZilla/downloads

These are the original links that Panzer posted.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Dec 2011, 09:03 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default

We have a thread on QtWeb, where we discussed it earlier.

http://www.techsupportalert.com/free...t-browser.html

Not much change has come in the browser since the discussion.

Other Webkit based browsers we discussed on forum are Dooble, and Arora.

http://www.techsupportalert.com/free...e-browser.html

Dooble is being developed, but has still not matured into a good browser.

http://www.techsupportalert.com/free...b-browser.html

Same is with Arora. I don't know if its being developed actively.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Dec 2011, 11:20 AM   #13 (permalink)
Editor
 
George.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,927
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post

I just found one issue so far. I opened the download manager, and it won't close. I will be reporting this issue to them.
Tools->Preferences->Downloads->Check the option 'Close download manager when download finishes' if this is what you're experiencing. Download manager now closes fine.
__________________
If you seek for attention, do common things in life in an uncommon way!
George.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Dec 2011, 11:33 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by George.J View Post
Tools->Preferences->Downloads->Check the option 'Close download manager when download finishes' if this is what you're experiencing. Download manager now closes fine.
Thanks, but not this. I saw that option.

I just opened the Download Manager from Tools. But, after that, it just won't close. I tried it again. Only way to get rid of it, is to close QupZilla altogether.

I intended to report about this issue, but it requires you to create a login on github for that. So, I haven't done that till now.

One more thing, I find that in webkit based browsers, the Ctrl+Enter to add www and com to the word does not work. Strange thing. Anyone knows workaround for that?
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Dec 2011, 12:40 PM   #15 (permalink)
Editor
 
George.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,927
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Thanks, but not this. I saw that option.

I just opened the Download Manager from Tools. But, after that, it just won't close. I tried it again. Only way to get rid of it, is to close QupZilla altogether.
If the option that I mentioned is checked, the download box will close upon hitting the close button of the manager window. When unchecked, it doesn't. Works fine for me, when checked. Try it.
__________________
If you seek for attention, do common things in life in an uncommon way!
George.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Dec 2011, 12:43 PM   #16 (permalink)
Editor
 
George.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,927
Default

QtWebKit is not entirely webkit based. It's a mix of Nokia's Qt framework and Apple's WebKit rendering engine. Rendering is done by webkit engine.
__________________
If you seek for attention, do common things in life in an uncommon way!

Last edited by George.J; 28. Dec 2011 at 12:49 PM.
George.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Dec 2011, 12:47 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by George.J View Post
QtWebKit is not entirely webkit based. It's a mix of Nokia's Qt framework and Apple's WebKit rendering engine
QupZilla is the same too .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Dec 2011, 12:49 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by George.J View Post
If the option that I mentioned is checked, the download box will close upon hitting the close button of the manager window. When unchecked, it doesn't. Works fine for me, when checked. Try it.
Not working for me. Even on checking that setting, it still does not close.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Dec 2011, 01:20 PM   #19 (permalink)
Editor
 
George.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,927
Default

Just to check your problem, I deleted the program and it's folders and ran CCleaner and Wise Registry Cleaner and extracted the program again. And this time, the download manager wouldn't close even after the option is checked. Probably I was lucky last time and man...you made me to fall into your trap this time, Anupam ....hehe... The worst part is, all my configured settings didn't change after deleting Program Files, running CCleaner, Wise Cleaner.(the settings should have been default this time) Oh, may be it's not portable after all, even after just extracting instead of installing or may be I needed a Restart after these processes...
__________________
If you seek for attention, do common things in life in an uncommon way!
George.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Dec 2011, 01:28 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default

Curiosity killed the cat .

What do you mean by extracting? You mean you extracted the files out of the setup, and were running it like a portable version? Is that possible?

I have installed it the normal way. I am on XP SP3 btw.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.