Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11. Nov 2011, 07:31 PM   #41 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northeast US
Posts: 476
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
I am guessing the firewall is behind this.
Yes sir, agreed.
__________________
T
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11. Nov 2011, 08:42 PM   #42 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 886
Default

try going to about:config and setting all the dom.ipc values to false, these settings are there to sandbox flash/plugins but i find firefox is stable handling the plugins anyways But the sandbox creates another process which hanged for me in past (not sure if this has been changed, again I've been using ff3 so not up to date on changes)
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Nov 2011, 02:44 AM   #43 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

This Firefox "hanging" thing has never happened to me while sandboxed, never and last time it happened unsandboxed was three years ago. I have a fix for this issue that works.

@Kendall, instead of closing Firefox by clicking X on the right top corner, start "exiting" the browser by going to File>Exit. If you do it like that when you are unsandboxed, Firefox will close properly and not remain running when you exit the browser. Are you experiencing this sandboxed? I ask because it has never happened to me when I delete my sandbox. When unsandboxed, I Exit the browser. OK.

@Anupam, I told you about this workaround before, if you had follow my suggestion of Exiting the browser instead of closing the browser, you would not be experiencing this now.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Nov 2011, 06:20 AM   #44 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,296
Default

I've tried every which way, extensions in/out, even uninstalling AVS, and I still have this problem on W7 x32 with Firefox, PaleMoon and even Dragon.

I also had random freezes with Thunderbird (not run sandboxed) which were annoying because I was unaware until I happened to notice it was "stuck". This was maybe unrelated because the original installation was made using a Thunderbird backup (MozBackup). Uninstalling the program, clearing up the registry and roaming folders manually, and then reinstalling from scratch without using a backup seems to have fixed it.

Unfortunately this is just one more reason why I spend more time using Kororaa than I do Windows, plus I don't have to share my bandwidth allocation with Microsoft
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Nov 2011, 06:40 AM   #45 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bo.elam View Post
@Kendall, instead of closing Firefox by clicking X on the right top corner, start "exiting" the browser by going to File>Exit. If you do it like that when you are unsandboxed, Firefox will close properly and not remain running when you exit the browser. Are you experiencing this sandboxed? I ask because it has never happened to me when I delete my sandbox. When unsandboxed, I Exit the browser. OK.

@Anupam, I told you about this workaround before, if you had follow my suggestion of Exiting the browser instead of closing the browser, you would not be experiencing this now.
Bo, that is what it is... it is a workaround, and not a fix. If a problem is there, I would like to know the reason for it, and a fix for it, not a workaround.

As I said, Firefox generally, does not show strange behavior... and if it shows, this means there is something wrong somewhere, and that has to be found out.

Firefox being "stuck" was happening with me randomly, and most likely, because of the new firewall. When I closed Firefox normally, I did not experience any such issue of Firefox not getting closed. So, its not that I am experiencing the same behavior everytime.

Also, as others have told, at their end Firefox is working normally without problems. So, that means, the problems some of us are facing are local.

I have only experienced this issue with Firefox not closing, very very rarely. Therefore, I am more interested in the reasons and a fix, rather than a workaround.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Nov 2011, 08:28 AM   #46 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Anupam, this is a bug, a known bug that is known to Mozilla for longer than 3 years. When I was experiencing the problem, I searched about and found my workaround, fix in a Mozilla official webpage. The other day that we talk about this, I searched for the webpage for about half an hour but gave up on the search. Mozilla is not fixing this and I mean, if you exit, you ll never see this happen. What else can we want?
Myself, havent seen this happen in three years, that makes the workaround as good as a definite fix for myself.

Anyway, let me ask you what I asked Kendall, Is this also happening sandboxed? when you delete the contents of the sandbox.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Nov 2011, 08:39 AM   #47 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,332
Default

Bo, this is not a bug. If it was a bug, all of us using Firefox here, would have experienced that, and not only some. As I said before, I have rarely experienced such issue with Firefox, and therefore, your statement that this is a bug for the past 3 years, is definitely false. If it was a bug, everyone here would be complaining about it, and it would be happening everytime we closed Firefox. But, for most of us, Firefox has been working great, without this problem, and you can see such posts in this thread.

And I was using Firefox on my other hard disk, where I installed the AVS Firewall. I was using it without Sandboxie there. I am now back to my first hard disk configuration, which does not have any firewall. I will see how it goes.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Nov 2011, 09:33 AM   #48 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Anupam, it is a known issue that has been around much longer than 3 years. Look, the issue has not happened to me for the past 3 years because I found the way to take care of it. If you don't care to use the workaround, I care even less.
This issue happens to everybody that uses Firefox, it does not happen everyday but it happens often enough to everybody that uses Firefox so there is plenty reading if you search for it. I will not do the search for you.

By the way, what I said is not "false". If you don't agree, for whatever reason, maybe you should say....Bo, you are wrong but false sounds bad Anupam. You are hard headed, search as I will not do the search for you just to prove you wrong.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Nov 2011, 10:00 AM   #49 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,332
Default

Bo, I can also say the same about you, that you are hard headed.

What's false is false, and I will say it that way. You are saying its a bug... but a bug is something which will occur everytime, and with everyone. The fact that its not occurring everytime, in fact quite rarely... and its not occurring with everyone, does not make it a bug. Therefore, what you say is false.

Since three years, you have been using the workaround, so how would you know if this issue is still there? Maybe there was an issue three years earlier, but certainly not now. I have repeatedly posted that I have rarely come across this issue... only a few times, and that, I do not consider as a bug.

The recent posts from members have also suggested that this problem is not happening with them. Even then, you are insistent on saying that this is a known bug. Sorry to say, but its not, and stop calling it that.

I don't care for your workaroud, because that's what it is, a workaround, not a fix.

I know you won't listen, even with all the facts in front of you, and all explanations, so, I won't bother anymore explaining it to you.

The fact is it is not occurring with everyone, and not occurring all the time, and therefore, its not a bug... makes it no point for me to search about it, and waste my energy on a non-issue.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Nov 2011, 10:20 AM   #50 (permalink)
jim
Editor
 
jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: near Ashford Kent England
Posts: 467
Default

You two are just arguing semantics. However, this is a known issue with FF and happens (sometimes) with all versions including this latest one. It is a known issue which Mozilla either cannot pin down to fix or do not consider it important enough to waste resources on due to more pressing issues. The fact that it happens over all platforms, even if occasionally, means that it IS a bug. Get over it and use the workaround until Mozilla eventually can find and fix this bug. IT'S A BUG.
jim is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.