Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26. Sep 2011, 10:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

Going to install it soon. Doubt there will be extension problems with Add-on Compatibility Reporter.
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Sep 2011, 09:41 AM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Concerned User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: இந்தியா, सिन्धु, India
Posts: 486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J_L View Post
Going to install it soon. Doubt there will be extension problems with Add-on Compatibility Reporter.
+1 for addon compatibility reporter...Update has not yet come through. Will give it one more day's time.
Concerned User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Sep 2011, 04:39 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Firefox 7.0 final is now available on the Mozilla official site. Downloading it now.

But, there seems to be something wrong with the site. Its not properly detecting the Firefox version. Because, I have been checking since two hours on Firefox page, and it showed to me that Firefox is up to date. But, just now, I just moved my mouse over the update available, and to my surprise, 7.0 was available. So, don't know when it became available. Must not have been long though. Because, it generally gets available, by 8 or 9 PM India time. Now its 9:10 PM.

Anyways, downloading it now, and will be installing it later. Going to do a fresh install
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Sep 2011, 11:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,120
Default

Upgraded to FF 7 via About FF with a 6.2 MB download. Extensions working fine, never bother with a clean installation anymore due to the fact that everything does as it should and the frequency of new releases!
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Sep 2011, 03:26 AM   #15 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Upgraded using updater from within. Nicely done, as usual. Only once seen I been using Firefox, updating this way did not work out fine.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Sep 2011, 08:13 AM   #16 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Concerned User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: இந்தியா, सिन्धु, India
Posts: 486
Default

Over the top install done. Everything okay with the addons.
Concerned User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Sep 2011, 09:27 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

I installed fresh. Working good. But, memory wise, I don't see any improvement over the previous version. Maybe someone else will be able to share? With 5 tabs open here, with a flash game played, and closed, Firefox is taking around 303,000 K, and plugin-container is taking around 92,000 K. Not much difference, maybe worse.. LOL. But, need to do this a few more times to see if things change.

All my add-ons working.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Sep 2011, 09:44 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

BTW, did anyone notice that with this release, Firefox has now done away with the http thingy in the address bar?

Well, I went to Google mail, and it still shows when its https, but I think they have done away showing http.

Opera have already done this thing, but what I like about Opera is that when you take the mouse over to the address bar, the http/https is shown, but not so with Firefox.

If anyone wants to change this setting, here is how :

1. In Firefox's URL bar, type in: about:config and agree to the pop-up message.
2. Search for: browser.urlbar.trimURLs.
3. Double-click or right-click and select "toggle" to change the value to false.

via LifeHacker
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Sep 2011, 10:02 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Speed of loading pages has improved, or am I imagining it?
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Sep 2011, 03:58 PM   #20 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northeast US
Posts: 476
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
I installed fresh. Working good. But, memory wise, I don't see any improvement over the previous version. Maybe someone else will be able to share? With 5 tabs open here, with a flash game played, and closed, Firefox is taking around 303,000 K, and plugin-container is taking around 92,000 K. Not much difference, maybe worse.. LOL. But, need to do this a few more times to see if things change.

All my add-ons working.
Updated through the Firefox updater and everything went fine there. But so far, I agree with Anupam as I do not see any improvement with memory management. With 1 tab open and a flash video playing, my CPU was pegged at 99%. Memory usage is very close to Anupam numbers.

I have the same machine configuration as Anupam does....P4 with 1 GB ram. I do have a separate graphics card with 256k of memory on board.

Start up might be a hair faster, but not by much. It might be 3 seconds faster at most. Same with page load times...lol..or it might be my imagination.
__________________
T
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.