Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30. Jul 2011, 01:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default

I am having trouble with the online installer too .. ARGH. It runs OK when started... downloads 100% till the end, but just when it starts to install, it again gives the server error

What the heck is going on

Anyways, I think I will hold up installing Skype till the next version, because GHacks reports a critical vulnerability in this version of Skype.

http://www.ghacks.net/2011/07/29/sky...vulnerability/

Those who have installed the latest version, please read the above article. There is sort of a fix given towards the end. The author himself has not tested it though.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Jul 2011, 04:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 882
Default

you could always switch to google+ for online chat/video Google voice works well for phone calls too

yes I know I've mentioned google a lot in last few of my posts, but a good product is a good product
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Jul 2011, 05:17 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default

Google+ for online chat. Now that's new to me.

How does it work.. does it use the Gmail contact list? Does it have the option to be invisible from contacts?

Google Talk is a good option for audio/video chat, but I do not use it, because it does not have the option to be invisible. The one embedded in Gmail does has this option I think, but I don't like to use it, because its embedded, and I dislike such interface.

If the need arises, I will give Logitech Vid a try. Jim, does it work well?
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Jul 2011, 08:08 PM   #14 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 882
Default

I have google set to be invisible and I can start a hangout too. Then invite people into it. I can invite you to google+ if you need it. It works for voice/video chat, well voice for me since I got no webcam but I can see other people, they just can only hear me
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Jul 2011, 08:22 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default

Thanks eyeb for the info. And thanks for the offer for Google+ invite too, but I have already got it . I only need to chat with my brother for video chat, but not often. So, I will try it out sometime.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Jul 2011, 08:56 PM   #16 (permalink)
jim
Editor
 
jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: near Ashford Kent England
Posts: 466
Default

Sorry Anupam I was mixed up. I used to have a Logitech webcam and software to go with it. I actually have a MS Lifecam and software now so please ignore my remarks. I did, however, try some Logitech software before (as I said) but I still prefer Skype for voice only. The MS cam and software work very well indeed for both together but I don't use it when playing my snooker because with the cam, the voice and the snooker all running together I get a lot of "chopping" with the sound. I expect the Logitech stuff has moved on since I had it.
jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Jul 2011, 08:59 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default

Ah! No problem jim
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Aug 2011, 07:57 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default Skype 5.5.0.113

Skype 5.5.0.113 has been released, and its a bugfix release. However, in the release notes, I did not find that the fix for the vulnerability has been fixed or not.

An MSI version of Skype is also available, which comes without Facebook integration, and without callto links, as per the Skype page. I do not need these features in Skype anyways.

So, I downloaded both versions this time, the general full version, and the MSI version. The general version(full offline installer) still gives me the same error.

I tried the MSI version, and I was able to install Skype without any problem.
Strange thing though, that the version is 5.5.0.113, however, the one I have installed via MSI says 5.5.31.113.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Aug 2011, 01:20 PM   #19 (permalink)
Progradminstrateditor
 
George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Frankfurt, GER
Posts: 2,293
Default

What they didn't eliminate yet in the 113 release is the annoying home window. It still opens up on every Skype start.
__________________
Best regards, George
George is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Aug 2011, 01:41 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by George View Post
What they didn't eliminate yet in the 113 release is the annoying home window. It still opens up on every Skype start.
True. It has been there since before version 5. I find it quite annoying too, and there is no way to turn it off. And more than that, I think it uses IE engine for that.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.