Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05. May 2011, 07:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 882
Default Firefox 5 beta

Anyone else trying it? I'm liking it as much as firefox 4. It seems a little bit faster and most addons work (with a little tweaking)

If you don't mind not having all the addons, firefox 5 beats firefox 4 in my opinion.

However my full time browser is still firefox 3 because ff5 has same things that I disliked ff4 for.

edit: realized that finding link to ff5 beta might be a hard so here's the link http://releases.mozilla.org/pub/mozi...1/win32/en-US/

Last edited by eyeb; 05. May 2011 at 07:16 AM.
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. May 2011, 09:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,480
Default

Using FF 5 Beta 2 now, installed it over the top of 4 with no problem. Six add ons I have all work - WOT, AdBlock Plus, Fire Gestures, British Dictionary, QuickDrag, Tab Mix Plus.

I agree with eyeb, it runs better than 4 for me. Memory use is a bit lighter, video doesn't use as much CPU, noticeably - uTube etc. For some reason it was high for me with FF4, up to 70/80 percent so it's an improvement here, a difference, now it's hovering around 30/35.

The whole thing is noticeably snappier so I'm keeping it installed. I'm not going back to FF4 and won't miss it either because for whatever reason it just didn't feel right to me, I don't know, it just felt buggy on my machine. GUI is the same as 4 but the performance is improved with FF5, hope it stays that way with the final.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. May 2011, 12:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,118
Default

Hi eyeb,

Unfortunately your link does not work.

PS This hopefully will!:http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/channel/
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)

Last edited by torres-no-tan-magnifico; 21. May 2011 at 12:23 AM.
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. May 2011, 03:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,480
Default

A bit more reading here. It might help explain FF5 Beta, and the channel switcher, in a bit more detail for those who are interested.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. May 2011, 12:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,275
Default

Have a few questions. Please answer if anyone knows.

Is there a portable version of Firefox 5 beta available? I looked at the Mozilla site, but could not locate it.

Also, if there is a portable version available, can I use it on my system alongside Firefox 4 installed? Will it affect the profile of Firefox 4?

Can Firefox 5 beta be installed side by side with Firefox 4, if I cannot get a portable version?
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. May 2011, 04:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,480
Default

There's a portable edition at PortableApps - I haven't used it so read the install notes on the page.

I installed FF5 over the top of 4, I think the only way to try the new builds is to use Aurora, that's a seperate install (like Opera Next) but it will use your existing profile, so it runs the add on compatiblity check each time it loads. I've not had a problem running 5 though, it's been very stable for me and the add ons that I use work.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. May 2011, 05:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 882
Default

i use portableapps verison for portable firefox. The build doesn't matter since you can replace the app folder with beta verison. It doesn't seem to update with built in updater though, at least not for me when I used it a while ago

i would not recommend installing it next to ff4 though. they will use the same profile and the addons wont be compatibile
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. May 2011, 06:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,275
Default

Thanks deya and eyeb. On the portableapps page, in the Install note, it says that

Quote:
This will install alongside a Mozilla Firefox, Portable Edition installation by default in a FirefoxPortableTest directory
I don't know what exactly it means though. It says that if there is Firefox 4 portable, then it will install alongside it? Or, it means the Firefox 4 installed version?

If Firefox 5 beta portable will mess with my profile, then I won't install it.

I was curious about how Firefox 5 operates. Well, I will give a thought about installing it later.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. May 2011, 08:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,480
Default

Anupam, have a look through this thread on the mozillazine forum. It might help answer your question about profiles when trying FF5 portable.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. May 2011, 08:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Hi Anupam,
Go ahead and "install" Firefox 5 beta portable, it'll just extract its files into the "FirefoxPortableTest" directory (when the process starts, you'll be asked where to create/ place this directory).

It won't affect your prime profile from the installed version of Firefox 4, it creates its own profile in "FirefoxPortableTest\Data\profile", where it'll store all settings and add-ons you may install.

Note that in order to have both Firefox 4 and Firefox 5 beta open at the same time you need to change the "AllowMultipleInstances" setting in FirefoxPortable.ini (it should be in the main folder FirefoxPortableTest) from "false" to "true".

After that you're good to run both versions.
This is the way I run Firefox 3.6.17 (installed) and Firefox 4 (portable) on my Win XP machine.

Good luck.
__________________
26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.