Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 31. May 2011, 08:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,332
Default

Great!!!

Thanks 26Dolphins. Just what I wanted to know!! I will give Firefox beta a whirl now with the portable version.

Thanks deya, again. Did not really get what all that talk was about on that page. Too much hoopla there.. lol. All went over my head .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. May 2011, 11:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

To be honest, looks wise, there's no difference with FF4 and 5. But 5 does run better for me so I've kept it and just use it as normal, I haven't had any problems with it. It gets a bit confusing with all these releases, I think, because they're coming out so quickly at the moment.

I'm running FF5 on a spare and switched it to the Aurora channel, now it's updated to 6.0a2 and there are changes with this version. You can read about it here, the about permissions looks interesting. There's also an add on, compatibility reporter, that you can install. Once you've done that it will enable all your add ons, you can test them and send reports if they work ok, or not.

It's interesting to get a look at how FF is developing (FF5) but it's not worth messing up your profiles and stuff if you use FF as your main browser, I don't think it is anyway. I think the big change was from 3 to 4, looks wise. Now the changes seem to be going for better performance and a few more features.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Jun 2011, 04:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,332
Default

Firefox beta 3 is out. So, I guess I will wait for some more time to download the Firefox beta 3 portable.

Main reason of trying out portable beta is to see how Firefox has improved performance wise. The posts here have been encouraging.
I also want to see if the memory management has improved with plugin process, and if the problem of occurring of error while cleaning recent history has been solved.

In how many days does the portable version appear on portableapps?
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Jun 2011, 02:16 AM   #14 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,855
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Firefox beta 3 is out. So, I guess I will wait for some more time to download the Firefox beta 3 portable.
3 or 5
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Jun 2011, 02:18 AM   #15 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

He meant the third beta version of Firefox 5. Firefox 3 isn't in beta anymore.
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Jun 2011, 07:25 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,332
Default

Yes, of course, it was Firefox 5 beta 3. Since the thread is about Firefox 5, and the previous release of Firefox 5 beta was beta 2, it had to be Firefox 5 beta 3, right? .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Jun 2011, 11:02 PM   #17 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Unfortunately for us, it takes a few days too many now that Mozilla decided for the "rapid" updates - by the time PortableApps get out one beta, Mozilla brings out the next.

I couldn't catch up with the betas of Firefox 4 because of this, so I just waited out the final release and stopped trying to keep the betas up to date.
__________________
26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jun 2011, 12:01 AM   #18 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

Updated to Beta 3, no problems and the browser runs fine. I'm using the experimental add on, Prospector - LessChrome HD, it auto hides the toolbar/address bar to give you more screenspace. It works on FF4 as well as 5. You just mouse over the tabs to get the toolbar back, and you can enable/disable the add on without having to restart the browser.

You can read about it here. It's not bad, I quite like the idea of even more screenspace but it might not suit everyone. But it does give a new look to FF.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09. Jun 2011, 08:43 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,332
Default

Firefox 5 beta 5 has been released. I think I will not use the portable version, since the betas are rolling out faster than the portable version can come out. Also, I think the final version is quite close to being released. I will as usual, wait for the final version.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10. Jun 2011, 04:33 AM   #20 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
I will as usual, wait for the final version.
Yup, me too this time. Right now my browser is stable and all my addons work so i'll leave this round of beta testing to others
__________________
Heavy Metal + Lego = . That is all. ^.^
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.