Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20. Apr 2011, 06:38 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taurus View Post
Maybe there is a conflict of some kind between FF and other software on your XP machine...
It's interesting that the final version of Firefox 4 does crash, while the betas didn't. Yet, nth changed with my system since then.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taurus View Post
...LOL...guess I need to know what your definition of "crash" is.
Since, a picture's worth a thousand words, 1st pic shows what I'm getting every time I close it and second pic shows that it hogs after the report has been sent.
This happens every single time, even if I don't visit any site.
Probably needs a clean "install" (it's the portable version).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Mozilla_Crash_Reporter_20_04_11.JPG (36.4 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg Mozilla_Crash_Reporter2_20_04_11.JPG (30.4 KB, 6 views)
__________________
26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. Apr 2011, 06:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

I encountered some issues with PaleMoon already after using it for an hour or so. It was fine at first, starts up fast and installed a few addons without any hiccups. For some reason after 45 minutes or so it just stopped working and wouldn't navigate anywhere: i kept getting "timed out". I was running FF4 at the same time and it worked just fine, so i can only assume it is PaleMoon that is the problem and not my connection.
__________________
Heavy Metal + Lego = . That is all. ^.^
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. Apr 2011, 07:19 PM   #13 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northeast US
Posts: 476
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 26Dolphins View Post
It's interesting that the final version of Firefox 4 does crash, while the betas didn't. Yet, nth changed with my system since then.


Since, a picture's worth a thousand words, 1st pic shows what I'm getting every time I close it and second pic shows that it hogs after the report has been sent.
This happens every single time, even if I don't visit any site.
Probably needs a clean "install" (it's the portable version).
I've never seen any thing like this on my machine before while using any version of FF. Yes, I agree. I would do a clean install, too.
__________________
T
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. Apr 2011, 07:24 PM   #14 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garth View Post
I encountered some issues with PaleMoon already after using it for an hour or so. It was fine at first, starts up fast and installed a few addons without any hiccups. For some reason after 45 minutes or so it just stopped working and wouldn't navigate anywhere: i kept getting "timed out". I was running FF4 at the same time and it worked just fine, so i can only assume it is PaleMoon that is the problem and not my connection.
Depending on what security you have set up, try disabling your firewall and using only Windows instead for a while to see if the problem persists.

If you look around the web at the moment you can see all sorts of issues supposedly related to browsers v network setups, firewalls and other net related scanners, especially where W7SP1 is also connected. F-Secure for instance is giving email problems with installs that have gone into a machine previously installed with something else. Just disabling F-Secure and even a system restore is not always correcting the problem. What do I deduce from this?

a) Security suites in particular, but all security programs in general, are becoming ever more complicated and as they do so their relationship with your system is getting the same.

b) In this thread we're making a fine case for IE9 as best choice
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. Apr 2011, 08:35 PM   #15 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

@26Dolphins - lots of people are seeing FF4 crash because their graphics drivers need updating. Maybe you already know about that, see here. Use the links in the article to read more.

May not be what's causing your problem if the Beta's worked ok for you so it's just a thought, but if you're using an older XP machine it could be related?

Edit: Forgot to mention I tried to install the latast version of PaleMoon on my spare XP but it wouldn't let me because it has an old AMD processor, it would only let me use the older PMoon version.

Last edited by deya; 20. Apr 2011 at 08:41 PM.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. Apr 2011, 08:40 PM   #16 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
Depending on what security you have set up, try disabling your firewall and using only Windows instead for a while to see if the problem persists.
I think i'll probably pass on PaleMoon. Using Windows firewall will involve setting rules and restrictions for it, and as i'm pretty happy with FF4 it seems like a task for nothing really. I don't get though why PaleMoon would work for a bit and then just stop....strange one that. I disabled the addons i'd installed and tried it again and it was working again, but it was slower than FF4 and inconsistent: i was still getting timed out here and there while FF worked just fine. My real time security setup is Avast, PrivateFirewall and WinPatrol. I wasn't running PaleMoon sandboxed since i was just installing addons and navigating around some of my bookmarked sites, but it's weird how there could be a conflict since PaleMoon is basically FF4.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
If you look around the web at the moment you can see all sorts of issues supposedly related to browsers v network setups, firewalls and other net related scanners, especially where W7SP1 is also connected.
Not installed SP1. Too many people having too many problems with it and right now my machine is running smooth as silk. Startup is around twenty seconds and it'll run all day without a hiccup.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
b) In this thread we're making a fine case for IE9 as best choice
No comment
__________________
Heavy Metal + Lego = . That is all. ^.^
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Apr 2011, 02:28 AM   #17 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

CCloud blocked the palemoon.org website, I will submit the
detection to CCloud so they can investigate.




Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Apr 2011, 02:47 AM   #18 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garth View Post
I wasn't running PaleMoon sandboxed since i was just installing addons and navigating around some of my bookmarked sites, but it's weird how there could be a conflict since PaleMoon is basically FF4.

Part of the beauty of Sandboxie is that you could have taken the
palemoon installer, and run it sandboxed. Installed addons and
when you finished with it, just deleted the contents of the sandbox
and it would have been like "it was never installed on your PC".
I ll never install a browser that has the same engine as FF unless
is sandboxed and would never open the 2 browsers at the same
time.

Usually I am not superstitious, but for some unexplainable reason,
I am on this matter.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Apr 2011, 03:18 AM   #19 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bo.elam View Post
Part of the beauty of Sandboxie is that you could have taken the
palemoon installer, and run it sandboxed. Installed addons and
when you finished with it, just deleted the contents of the sandbox
and it would have been like "it was never installed on your PC".
Bo
Didn't need to do it that way....i was running a portable version so it never was installed on my pc
__________________
Heavy Metal + Lego = . That is all. ^.^
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Apr 2011, 03:52 AM   #20 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Av_Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 484
Default

Used palemoon for a few hours anc ouldnt find any difference between it and ff4 so unsinstalled palemoon
And i am running ff4 on windows 7 x64 SP1 and have not experienced any problems or crash
its running faster than ever with 15 addons
and ie9 cannot become primary browser for power users because of its lack of addon support
__________________
Vivek
Av_Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.