Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17. Apr 2011, 11:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Av_Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 484
Default Firefox Aurora/Nightly

Any1 using the aurora or nightly builds of firefox 5 ?
__________________
Vivek
Av_Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Apr 2011, 08:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Av_Crazy View Post
Any1 using the aurora or nightly builds of firefox 5 ?
Man, we just got the new car, I mean the new browser. I ll try FF5
in a few months.
Let us know how you like it.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Apr 2011, 09:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Av_Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 484
Default

Lol..nice answer
even i havent used it yet
wanted to know if any1 is tryin it
will try tomorrow
__________________
Vivek
Av_Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Apr 2011, 09:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

Nope, usually not into beta software.
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Apr 2011, 10:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Av_Crazy View Post
Lol..nice answer
even i havent used it yet
wanted to know if any1 is tryin it
will try tomorrow
Let us know, who knows maybe you ll get me
pump up and I ll try it, also.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Apr 2011, 11:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,487
Default

I've got Aurora installed, been using it for a while and it seems stable enough. Not many add ons are compatible yet but WOT and AdBlock are working. A quick look through the lists, NoScript and LastPass will work. Personas work.

It installs in a separate folder but uses your settings from FF4, has Aurora on the menu button, but no different to 4 really. It hasn't crashed, pages load ok, some maybe a bit slower. When you open 'about' you can check for updates, you also get an option to switch channels from Aurora to Beta or Release. I've had one small 2MB update so far, which went without a hitch. Everything works fine. It puts the Aurora icon on the desktop, which I think looks better than the Firefox one, never liked that so they could change it forever for me.

I wouldn't be put off from trying it, just depends how much you need the add ons but you can switch back to FF4 and your add ons and stuff are as they were. Aurora is about the same size install as 4, about 30MB.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Apr 2011, 12:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deya View Post
It puts the Aurora icon on the desktop, which I think looks better than the Firefox one, never liked that so they could change it forever for me.
Any idea what changes Mozilla are making with Aurora/FF5 apart from the icon?
__________________
Heavy Metal + Lego = . That is all. ^.^
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Apr 2011, 09:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Av_Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 484
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garth View Post
Any idea what changes Mozilla are making with Aurora/FF5 apart from the icon?
Ya even i wanted to ask that... is there any change ?
have installed aurora in my vm but the only difference i can see is the icon
__________________
Vivek
Av_Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Apr 2011, 01:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default

Aurora is actually something between the nightly builds and the beta builds. Its supposed to be more stable than the nightly builds, but less stable than the beta ones.

More here :

http://blog.mozilla.com/blog/2011/04...apid-releases/
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Apr 2011, 02:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,487
Default

I don't see any real changes with Aurora yet, to be honest, and Bo has pretty much hit the nail on the head with the comment about only just getting FF4. So I don't reckon there'll be any radical changes for a while. I read here about changes to the download manager but that's for FF6.

Since I installed it Aurora has updated, it applied the updates and re started but I don't see a difference. To me it's just FF4 at the moment, with not much add on support. It says on the Future of Firefox page - "Experience the newest innovations in an unstable environment that’s not for the faint of heart" - but I'm not seeing it that way at the moment, Aurora runs fine. Maybe when changes do come that might not be the case though, so I'll just keep trying it and see what happens.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.