Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11. Apr 2011, 06:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,186
Default BitDefender TrafficLight

There's been quite a lot of talk about this over at Wilder already so no point in repeating that.

Basically you can either install the cross browser application on your system or use one of the available extensions instead, although these don't offer the same level of protection.

There was an error today (this is Beta software) which prevented the system utility installing but this is now fixed.

http://trafficlight.bitdefender.com/

MC likes it
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11. Apr 2011, 08:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Thanks for the heads up, looks interesting (bookmarked the page), but the reports on high CPU/ RAM hold me back from trying out the beta.

The first extension released was the one for Chrome - hm, interesting.
__________________
26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11. Apr 2011, 09:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,325
Default

I don't have the time right now to catch up on the discussion at Wilders, so I have a question. I almost hate to ask it, but here goes....

What advantage, if any, does this have over using something like Sandboxie?
__________________
<-------Just jammin to some music....
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11. Apr 2011, 09:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 26Dolphins View Post
Thanks for the heads up, looks interesting (bookmarked the page), but the reports on high CPU/ RAM hold me back from trying out the beta.

The first extension released was the one for Chrome - hm, interesting.
I'm trying to push the boundaries of common sense by using it on IE9 with Trend Micro Browser Guard enabled too. Yes the RAM is a little higher and CPU spikes occasionally but nothing to concern me.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11. Apr 2011, 09:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall View Post
I don't have the time right now to catch up on the discussion at Wilders, so I have a question. I almost hate to ask it, but here goes....

What advantage, if any, does this have over using something like Sandboxie?
In theory no but not everyone is disciplined enough to use something like Sandboxie properly. Plus Sandboxie and BufferZone need varying degrees of configuration, whereas simplicity is what you get with BitDefender TrafficLight. Also, many prefer their protection to be (supposedly) available "on the go" rather than having to sort things out later.

I guess this might pick up something you were otherwise unaware of which you then let out of the sandbox.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11. Apr 2011, 09:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,481
Default

Thanks for this, MC. I've installed the cross browser app - XP Pro SP3 - it installed with no problems. Too early to say how well it performs just yet but here's what I noticed already with the browsers I have installed at the moment.

Opera 11.10 Beta - BD TL works but WOT stops working
FF 4 - BD TL works fine in tandem with WOT
Lunascape 6.5.0 Beta - BD TL doesn't work - with any of the 3 engines
Sleipnir - BD TL doesn't work
ChromePlus - BD TL works fine with WOT
SeamMonkey 2.1b3 (Beta) - BD TL works fine with WOT
Maxthon 2 - No support for WOT but BD TL works perfect
Maxthon 3 - No support for WOT but BD TL works perfect - with both engines
IE 8 - BD TL works fine with WOT

I did notice an initial bit of lag at first with ChromePlus (not the fastest browser anyway) but now it seems to have settled and it's running ok again. Best part for me though, BD TL absolutely flies with Maxthon 3 - the BD icons load in an instant.

The task manager shows bsserv.exe running, the memory usage increases and decreases as you use it - from around 600k up to 29,000k. But it fluctuates all the time so I'll have to use it longer to tell more. CPU does spike when opening pages, or when the search icons load, but I've not seen it go over 20 per cent as yet, and it's only a brief spike. Time will tell so I'll try and keep checking that.

BD TL reminds me of Finjan but with more options and, same as with Finjan, it shows site ratings as green when WOT shows them as red. So, who to believe?

I disabled the search result analyzer and tried it again with Opera but WOT still won't work properly. But as they're both Betas you can't draw too much of a conclusion to that at the moment.

I'll keep it on here and see how it goes, I like the idea of it - especially in the browsers I can't use WOT with.

Thanks for posting this.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Apr 2011, 12:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

@kendall: Sandboxie doesn't protect you from fraud or phishing.

Already using Chrome extension on Ubuntu Chromium, working fine so far. Looking forward to Firefox add-on as well (full version isn't compatible on my system).
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Apr 2011, 07:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

I installed TL virtualized, ran with it for a couple of hours. I guess
that its OK for people not using Sandboxie or NoScript but I found
that in order to see the Traffic light display for each (most) page
I needed to allow scripts globally. That is something that I would
not do. Even if scripts are not allowed globally, Eicar page is block
so it does work even with NS at full power.
For some reason my install ended up in French even though during
the install everything was in English. I don't know what happened.
Memory was very high even though only tried Youtube quickly to
see if videos played well. They did but memory all around was very
high from start up and kept going.
I did not experience any high CPU spikes or slowdown at all, I guess
those were the strong points that I noticed.
Tried it because "MC likes it ", I guess it could become a pretty good
application when it comes out of Beta.


Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Apr 2011, 08:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,186
Default

With thanks to deya - also working fine at my end with IE9 (which also has Trend Micro Browser Guard installed) and SRWareIron.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Apr 2011, 10:22 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,481
Default

I'm going to stick with TL today and see how it goes. There's definitely an issue, for me, when using it with Opera. I installed version 11.10 final and tried it with that, TL works but WOT won't install properly and I keep getting unknown certificate pop ups on some Websites, even the 'Download Opera' page. They show the issuse as 'BitDefender Personal CA, TrafficLight' - so just a word of caution to anyone using Opera who's thinking of trying TL.

I've disabled the TL Ad Filter for now. Also, if I use the URL shortener Norton DNS content filter blocks the site. I get a warning about attempting to access saf.li - it says it's a known pornography site!!?? - so, obviously all is not yet quite perfect with TL.

I have to disable TL for ChromePlus because, after thinking all was well, it pretty near cripples the browser, using very high CPU and memory for long periods of time and pages won't load. No idea why that is but once TL is switched off the browser works fine again, but that's a plus point for TL, you can switch it off. Although when it is switched off bsserve.exe still runs and CPU flickers when browsing.

But with FF4, Maxthon, SeaMonkey and IE8, TL works fine. No lag, the icons load quick in the search results and, where it's installed, WOT works alongside it.

I really hope they get this right, in fact I'm pretty sure they will. So when I get the time later on today I'll try and read up more on it.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.