Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02. Apr 2011, 04:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,506
Default Maxthon 3

I've used Maxthon 3 in the past but gave up and uninstalled it because it lacked many of the options and features available in previous versions.

A few days ago I decided to give it another try, so I downloaded and installed Maxthon v3.0.20.5000. It's been developed a lot since the last beta version I used a while back, with many more options and tools added. It's dual engined (WebKit and Trident) mouse gestures, an ad blocker and autofill are standard. There's a very useful multi search feature, a built in feed reader, online notepad, screen capture tool, translator and speed dial.

The browser has a video sniffer feature that allows you to download and save videos and you can also use a pop up player to play videos in a separate window, which I like.

Maxthon 3 is fast, it uses the V8 Javascript engine, it's light on resources and has a nice clean look about it. There are five built in skins but I'm using one called Evolve 2.5 which is available to download at deviant art, it gets rid of the menu buttons, puts the tabs on top and creates lots more screen space.

There doesn't seem to be any support for add ons in M3 at the moment though, and sadly no WOT - I'm trying to find a work around for that but no luck at the moment so if anyone knows a way I'd be grateful for a few pointers. But the WOT safe search engine works perfect so I can live with that. I ran Secunia PSI and it shows M3 as patched and secure.

I think this browser has a lot of potential, it's still being developed and new beta versions become available frequently. But it's only available for Windows - XP Vista and 7.

I just thought I'd post this and see if anyone else is using it, or maybe those who like to try different stuff might like to give it a spin.

The Maxthon 3 Website is here
The skin I'm using, Evolve 2.5, is here

I know there are some really good browsers around now and we all have our favourites, but from what I'm seeing M3 can live with them. It's a nice alternative, if you can live without the add ons.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Apr 2011, 06:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,219
Default

Thanks for this deya, Maxthon 3 really does look quite refined.

I added DuckDuckGo as search engine which solved the WOT issue and presumably the bookmarklet will work as well, but I'll need to look at that later.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Apr 2011, 08:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,506
Default

Can't seem to get the bookmarklet to work, I'll keep trying, but DuckDuckGo set as default search is good enough for now. Never thought of that. I've looked through the M3 forum, no add-on support yet but I used to use a work around in Maxthon 2 to use Site Advisor which worked perfect so I'll try find that and see if it works.

This version of M3 is a massive improvement since I last used it. I'm finding it to be light on CPU and memory, yet the speed is very good and it takes several open tabs in its stride.

The feed reader, even though it's a beta, works really well and is easy to use and set to your liking. The screen snap images are very clear and I'm finding the online notepad to be more useful than I imagined, it saves everything. I like the bookmarks manager, a very simple layout, and I imported all the favourites from my other browsers in HTML files, renamed the folders, perfect. Very neat.

The ability to capture any image by holding down Ctrl and clicking the image is very useful to me, it just downloads them straight to the desktop. Simple. Also, switching engines is faultless.

It's the same as with all these alternative browsers, I think, the more you dig inside them the more you realise how good they are. Most of the things I need extensions for with other browsers are built in as standard - I reckon that improves the performance. It should be interesting to see how M3 develops now.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Apr 2011, 10:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,219
Default

Unfortunately there's no spellcheck so it isn't going to be much use for me
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Apr 2011, 01:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,118
Default

Have installed Maxthon 3 and indeed it looks very impressive. However, I need Keyscrambler, WOT and Lastpass for everyday use, so I will keep it as a spare browser in case FF falls over one day!

@ Deya: I managed to import my bookmarks but cannot see how you can set DuckDuckGo as the default search engine as it is not in the default list.

PS Is it possible to move the tabs to the bottom? I have tried looking but no joy.
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Apr 2011, 01:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,506
Default

Maybe they'll add one in later versions - although spell checking should be standard in any browser. There's one in Maxthon 2 but even that's not ideal. M3 is still a work in progress, early on it was slow going but they seem to be adding things much quicker now so Ill keep trying it.

There's no way I'd use it as default, it's just a nice alternative, something to experiment with. I still think it has potential and it's very popular, especially in it's country of origin and Maxthon is one of the twelve listed in the EU browser choice, though maybe not this version as yet. The way I'm seeing it is that it's something of a cross between Chrome and Opera in feel and looks, just no extensions, and for me it's snappier. But then again, I suppose they're all starting to kind of morph into each other in terms of design and looks.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Apr 2011, 01:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,506
Default

@Torres - To set DuckDuckGo to default search open the 'options' - then click 'search engine'. Above the list of search engines you'll see 'add', click on that and you get a pop up box. Type the name, DuckDuckGo, in the top field and copy the DuckDuckGo URL address into the second field then click 'ok'.

Then at the top of the page you have the 'Default search' which has a drop down. Click the drop down and you'll see the list of engines, select DuckDuckGo from the list and the little blue tab will appear telling you your settings are saved and that's it. Anything you type in the search field or address bar will bring up results on DDGo as default.

I'll have a look at moving the tabs and see if can be done.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Apr 2011, 02:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,118
Default

@Deya: Many thanks for the search engine solution!
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Apr 2011, 02:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,506
Default

You can use the address bar to search - just type your search query into the address bar like you would in a search engine and hit enter. Also, M3 has the super drag and drop feature. This allows you to highlight a word or phrase on a page then drag and realease it, doing this opens a new tab with search results in your default engine.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Apr 2011, 03:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,506
Default

I hope you don't mind me keeping adding to this but I have a few more observations on M3.

In answer to Torres' question about moving tabs to the bottom, it can't be done from within the settings at the moment. I found a link on the Maxthon forum that led to a page called Maxthon Tuning, there you can download some developer ui. files that allow you to try more skins and tweaks for the browser. I tried several of the skins and options but none would allow the tabs to be moved to the bottom, as yet.

The built in feed reader (Beta) is excellent, with a very clean layout that's simple to use. I've transferred all my feeds from Seamonkey now because I much prefer reading them with M3.

Web pages render quicker for me with M3 than they do with other browsers I use and so far I haven't had one problem with sites not loading, maybe this is to do with WebKit being the default engine in M3, not sure. But if you come across a page that's best viewed in Trident then M3 detects it and automatically changes to that engine when loading the page, but you can quickly change back to WebKit if desired

The built in ad blocker, AdHunter, works much in the same way as the one in Opera. Clicking the icon allows you to 'block ads by click', M3 remembers the settings after that but you can edit the blocking rules. Not as effective as AdBlock Plus but it does the job, and I don't mind the odd advert here and there.

I still have both Maxthon 2 and 3 installled and running Secunia PSI once more shows M2 as unsecure - same as IE8 - but M3 as fully patched and secure. I noticed in the write up in the best free browser category on the main site that it says Maxthon suffers from the same vulnerabilities as IE. That definitely applies to version 2 but I'm not sure it applies to M3 now, especially when using WebKit, so I'd appreciate any thoughts on that.

Installed, M3 is almost twice the size of M2 - 53MB compared to 29MB for M2 - so it comes at a price in terms of disc space but considering the difference in performance, the dual engines etc, then I think it's a small price to pay. It's not something I often do but I've had 40 plus tabs open with it, video running, but it just drives on and doesn't hammer CPU - just for the record I'm using it on an XP Pro machine with 2 gigs RAM and a Pentium 4 CPU 3.06GHz processor.

I've tried to break M3 but can't, not one crash, although it has it's drawbacks, no spell checker as MC pointed out and no extensions, as yet. But I can live without them, same as I do with others, and with Opera before they became available. WOT would be nice though.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.