Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21. Mar 2011, 10:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,270
Default Mozilla Firefox 4.0 final

Firefox 4.0 final will be released tomorrow officially, but it seems like the setup has already been made available on Mozilla ftp servers, and some download sites.

I personally saw the download available on www.kaldata.net.

The download on the Mozilla Firefox web page will be available after the official announcement tomorrow. But, for the impatient ones, who want to download and install the final version, they can do so by visiting Mozilla ftp servers, or download sites like kaldata, and Softpedia.

More details are available on this Ghacks article page :

http://www.ghacks.net/2011/03/21/fir...ease-tomorrow/

I personally, will wait for the download to be available on the Mozilla official Firefox page. Well, its finally here .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Mar 2011, 10:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,809
Default

Really at the forefront. You must be using some software updater which can predict the upcoming version available.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Mar 2011, 10:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,270
Default

Naah, just some subscription to blogs and download sites .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Mar 2011, 01:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,471
Default

Downloaded the final from Softpedia and installed it over the RC2 I've been using and FF final is working fine. I like FF 4 and it doesn't seem to be using as much memory on here now, not like it was with some of the beta's. It's a good browser - much better than the last time I had it installed, and much faster.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Mar 2011, 02:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

Thanks for the heads up Anupam. FF4 installed over the top of RC2 with no probs.
I'm seeing a definite improvement in startup time from a couple of beta versions ago, and my addons are working as they were with both RC versions. Looking forward to FF5 now
Like deya says, less memory is now being used. My machine is using about 6% less than it was yesterday with RC2 running.
__________________
Heavy Metal + Lego = . That is all. ^.^

Last edited by garth; 21. Mar 2011 at 02:23 PM.
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2011, 03:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

installed 4.0 today on my xp. It looks great and is indeed better with the memory. It also has a good intuitive feel to it. The changes all seem to make it a better browser. The thing is my Roboform add-on is not compatible and That was enough for me to uninstall and go back to the 3.6 version. I will wait until Roboform catches up.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2011, 07:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,270
Default

Wow, I thought not many of the members here will go for it so soon. But, I see now that many of you actually downloaded the setup, and have it installed. Thanks for the feedback... all positive . I will still wait for the release to be officially available, which should be in the evening here. I am excited .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2011, 08:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deya View Post
Downloaded the final from Softpedia and installed it over the RC2 I've been using and FF final is working fine. I like FF 4 and it doesn't seem to be using as much memory on here now, not like it was with some of the beta's. It's a good browser - much better than the last time I had it installed, and much faster.
Is MC right in thinking that some betas include extra memory munching code for development purposes which is then removed once the software goes final?
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2011, 08:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
Is MC right in thinking that some betas include extra memory munching code for development purposes which is then removed once the software goes final?
I think this one has since it has a "test pilot" which is constantly sending
information to Mozilla. I don't see any difference in memory but its got to
be taking resources somehow.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2011, 09:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Concerned User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: இந்தியா, सिन्धु, India
Posts: 486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bo.elam View Post
I think this one has since it has a "test pilot" which is constantly sending
information to Mozilla. I don't see any difference in memory but its got to
be taking resources somehow.

Bo
@ bo: did you do an over the top install or do you prefer to wait for the official release?

did an over the top and it seems to be okay..

Can't see any huge differences from RC2..it appears to be the same.

Last edited by Concerned User; 22. Mar 2011 at 09:36 AM.
Concerned User is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.