Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22. Mar 2011, 09:52 AM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,472
Default

Probably right what MC has mentioned there. There was a feedback add on in the extensions list of the previous ones which is no longer there in the final. But even so, the CPU is definitely lower, and memory, when running video etc, or when you have several tabs open. It's not nearly as light as Opera, for me, but it's an improvement on the FF I used before.

I don't have many extensions, only three, so maybe it will be different for those who use lots of them. I like the look of the new FF, more screen space with the tabs on top and being able to use the orange menu button instead of having the menu bar showing - same as Opera, so it's better for viewing netbook screens.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2011, 10:38 AM   #12 (permalink)
Editor
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 36
Default

Does anybody know what time of the day it will be officially available? And is it a mandatory update for all Firefox users?

Blode.
The_Blode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2011, 10:51 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,271
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Blode View Post
Does anybody know what time of the day it will be officially available? And is it a mandatory update for all Firefox users?
It will be available on 7 AM PST.

It is not a mandatory update as such, but it is a major version change, with exciting new features, and better than the previous version... so it would be good to update to this latest new version.

If you still want to remain with the Firefox 3 version, you can. But, if you want a better Firefox, you should switch over.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2011, 02:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Concerned User View Post
@ bo: did you do an over the top install or do you prefer to wait for the official release?

did an over the top and it seems to be okay..

Can't see any huge differences from RC2..it appears to be the same.
When Firefox stable version comes out (officially), if I get the prompt to
update, that's how I will do it. If no prompt, them I ll do a clean install.
You doing a over the top installation should be fine also. I understand
that nothing is different between the stable version 4 that's going to
be released and the RC2.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2011, 03:00 PM   #15 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,809
Default

FF4 officially available now, 12 MB.

http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/new/
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2011, 03:02 PM   #16 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Now thats out, everybody enjoy it.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2011, 03:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,271
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jojoyee View Post
FF4 officially available now, 12 MB.

http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/new/
Yep, its out now. Its official. And true to their time. 7 AM PST is 7:30 PM IST(India). As I am writing this, Firefox 4 is downloading. Will be doing a clean install. So, I will be back when I am on Firefox 4... woohoo .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2011, 03:56 PM   #18 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,809
Default

Downloaded and started using it.

Wanted to import my bookmarks html file exported from Chrome...

  • Press Alt key, get the menu, click Bookmarks, import bookmarks not there.
  • Press Alt key, click File then Import, Arrggg, only allowed to import bookmarks from Microsoft IE.
  • Press Orange button, mouse over Bookmarks, a bookmark submenu pops up, import bookmarks not there.
  • Press Orange button, Click Bookmarks, a Library window turns up, click Import and Backup, haha, the import Bookmarks html file is there.

My first hair-pulling when started using FF4.

Last edited by Jojoyee; 22. Mar 2011 at 04:01 PM.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2011, 04:09 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,271
Default

Just installed Firefox 4.0, and loving it .

I really like the new look and feel of the browser. Its pleasant .

It will take a little while before I get used to it, because some things which I have been used to, have been changed. The home button, has moved to the far right now, alongside the search. Then, the stop button, and refresh have been merged into one, and placed in the awesome bar itself.

I don't have the orange bar on my browser. Is it available only for non-XP Windows? If no, how can I get it? Am sad not to see it... LOL.

There seems to be maybe a little change in the startup time, I can only tell when I use it for a few days.

Speed definitely seems to be better, but only marginally, as per me. Again, can tell only after using it sometime.

All my extensions work, except FEBE. FEBE is a very important extension for me, as I performed daily backup with it. It also saved my passwords, apart from extensions, bookmarks, and preferences. So, FEBE not being compatible with Firefox 4.0 is somewhat of a disappointment for me. Still, I won't give up on Firefox 4.0 just because of that. At least the rest of the extensions that I use, all work perfect.

I use XMarks, and so, in a jiffy, all my bookmarks were there. Its a good thing, that I manually noted all my usernames and passwords that I had saved on Firefox 3, because if I had not, I would have lost them. I cannot import the username-passwords from the json file that I backup up with FEBE. If anyone knows how to import that, please share.

Restart is still required after extension installation. I wish they had changed this. That would have been quite a welcome and refreshing change to see. In Chrome based browsers, extensions get installed without restarting the browser, and that's so cool.

The installation was also the same, with same icons, and everything. I had hoped for something new. Expecting too much?

Anyways, I am overall quite happy with Firefox 4.0, and it is definitely an improvement over Firefox 3. My favorite browser just got better .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2011, 04:31 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,271
Default

Good news! The developer of FEBE is working on a new version for Firefox 4.0, and it is in beta. So, FEBE will work with Firefox 4 after all.

There is an add-on bar available with Firefox 4.0, which resides at the bottom, like in Firefox 3.0. Although, it can be done away with. I wish they had let the status bar remained with it, and had the option to make it visible, like the add-on bar. They have gone the Chrome way with this. This is one change that I did not like.

Another thing that I have to get used to, would be the right click opening of a link. In Firefox 3, when you right clicked on a link, the first option was to "Open in a new window". But, with Firefox 4, they have made "Open in a new tab" the first option. A good change, but its causing me some troubles .

I really like the new look of Firefox though. Really beautiful and pleasing.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.